Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Downloadable: 8020 (Hikaru Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 685 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:elainemay
photo
About elainemaystarstarstar
Member since: 2/4/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/09 1:12 AM
Last Updated:8/17/09 10:20 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous jacket! No wonder it's your favourite. I like how you left off the buttons and your fabric choice.
8/17/09 1:59 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart! Well done.
8/17/09 5:45 AM
Elke said...
Great looking jacket!
8/17/09 6:37 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic jacket, I can see why you like it so much.
8/17/09 7:32 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I love your take on this pattern, very sophisticated grown-up style, I couldn't guess it from original model photos of Burdastyle, thanks for the review.
8/17/09 7:59 AM
meli88a said...
This fits you so well and looks great with your revisions. Nicely done.
8/17/09 9:26 AM
Beek said...
Wonderful jacket. Thanks for the review. Is this pattern still in print?
8/17/09 9:52 AM
Peacock Chic said...
you adaptation of this pattern is gorgeous!!! I saw yours and just knew there was a new pattern I hadn't seen on burdastyle. Instead I just like yours way better...LOL!! Love it!
8/17/09 10:11 AM
Karen6790 said...
Absolutely lovely. I love all the details on this jacket, and I could definitely see it made up in a variety of materials. This one is going on the must-sew list. Thanks for the heads up about the sleeve cap issue.
8/17/09 11:47 AM
elainemay said...
Thanks for all the kind comments! @Beek: I think this pattern (Burda 8020) is no longer for sale on the Burda website. Don't know if it's still in stores though. You can download it on BurdaStyle for $4, I think. Search for "Hikaru" on their website. Good luck!
8/17/09 12:12 PM
nellc said...
Great Jacket, I love the military styling.
8/17/09 5:25 PM
Mel.J said...
Beautiful fit, beautiful style, your review is very helpful & inspiring.
8/17/09 8:35 PM
Nancywin said...
Great looking jacket. It does look sharp and urban and is totally cool. Nice job on all the details.
8/17/09 10:58 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice jacket.
8/18/09 6:48 AM
Catbird said...
You've done a GREAT job on this. I love the details and the overall sleek style. 'Sharp and urban' is exactly right!
8/18/09 7:29 PM
barbcl said...
Snazzy!
8/19/09 8:17 PM
jaeng said...
Awesome jacket, look very charp and well made.
8/20/09 10:52 AM
Christas said...
You are a very talented seamstress. This jacket looks wonderful!
10/18/09 5:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's M5813 Easy Pants
photo
Review by moonchild6... on 4/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Self Drafted
photo
Review by CharityAK on 11/16/07
Read Review

Simplicity 4070 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 4070 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1183 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1183 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us