Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-116 (Sporty yoked jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 929 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/09 8:56 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Alse said...
What a lovely version of this jacket! Nice job!
8/22/09 9:37 PM
Dee2 said...
Really beautiful jacket, tailored in your usual impecable style. Love the top stitching & the buttons. Thanks for the info on the vegetable ivory (this is new to me) & the tutorial.
8/22/09 9:45 PM
Christas said...
Wonderful jacket! Your buttons are so perfect with the fabric. The button holes may have given you fits, but the end result looks quite worth the trouble. I love it!
8/22/09 9:46 PM
Christas said...
Hhhhmmmmmm..... so, how many machines DO you have? LOL!
8/22/09 9:48 PM
Lyudmila said...
Simply Stunning!
8/22/09 9:50 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Impressive!
8/22/09 9:50 PM
Karla Kizer said...
It's wonderful. Perfect fit, perfect combination of pattern and fabric. And the buttonholes look perfect from here....
8/22/09 9:57 PM
Peacock Chic said...
super cute!
8/22/09 10:03 PM
bananaoil said...
Looks great.
8/22/09 10:12 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful Jacket!!! I LOVE it!!!
8/22/09 10:34 PM
Terri A said...
Fantastic! You always do such meticulous work. I love your tutorials.
8/22/09 10:42 PM
monkeylala said...
Very nicely done!
8/22/09 11:13 PM
Karen6790 said...
1. Love the jacket. 2. Wonder why I haven't made it yet? 3. Yes, I've ripped out that many buttonholes. 4. You can't have too many machines. 5. My vintage Singer buttonholer is coming in the mail on Tuesday.
8/22/09 11:15 PM
Gold said...
Great looking jacket!
8/22/09 11:15 PM
Mary Nanna said...
wow - that is one seriously stylish jacket.... sigh, and perfectly constructed too. My Bernina is too smart to do proper buttonholes - I hear your pain - it's got this electronic eye that gets stuck on bulky fabrics and can't move. My cheap bottom of the range Janome does a better job ...
8/22/09 11:54 PM
khunter said...
Love the jacket! This on is on my to-do list. Great job!
8/23/09 0:08 AM
marec said...
That is a beautiful jacket! I love the color, the fabric, the details, and the workmanship. Thanks so much for the info on vegetable ivory---interesting info.
8/23/09 0:11 AM
Liana said...
Gorgeous! It's as beautifully made as all of your things. Lovely work, and I like your fabric choices very much.
8/23/09 0:30 AM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely a very sharp and sleek jacket. As always , very nicely constructed!
8/23/09 1:04 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful jacket! Thank you for the very thorough and helpful tutorial.
8/23/09 1:46 AM
mochimo said...
Wonderful jacket!
8/23/09 5:41 AM
Athene said...
Very stylish jacket - love the buttons. Always love your reviews. Thank you for the tips on top stitching and doing buttons on a featherweight and lining pocket flaps. Your top stitching looks impeccable.
8/23/09 6:13 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket looks impeccable.
8/23/09 7:12 AM
CarolynGM said...
Perfection.
8/23/09 7:44 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Your jacket looks great.
8/23/09 7:55 AM
Fran G said...
Lovely as always!
8/23/09 8:16 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Gorgeous shade of brown, and wonderful buttons. A beautifully finished jacket that looks terrific on you! Thanks for the helpful tutorial.
8/23/09 8:22 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"would I dare some long shorts?" SURE!! You're nice and trim, Kay!! ;)
8/23/09 8:27 AM
halleyscomet said...
Very stylish! Love it!
8/23/09 9:31 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Gorgeous! This is a stunner and looks fabulous on you. I love the fabric choice and color; perfect for the design. Thanks for reviewing it. I have it on my list so I'll be referencing your review once I start.
8/23/09 10:36 AM
ITAdmin said...
Beautiful as always, but I especially love the buttons. They're the perfect finishing touch.
8/23/09 10:57 AM
LollyVee said...
What a beautifully tailored jacket. I love those vintage buttons. Excellent.
8/23/09 12:38 PM
Aixoise said...
Splendid jacket. Thanks for the pocket flap tutorial. I'm with all who are constantly dismayed in Pfaff's buttonholes. Janome's my go-to buttonhole machine, with the Singer/Greist type as backup. Ripping out buttonholes isn't exactly a hobby, but I've had plenty of practice. I always enjoy your reviews.
8/23/09 1:08 PM
moushka said...
Can't add anything to the well-deserved praise. Your projects are always an inspiration. Thanks for another great one!
8/23/09 1:59 PM
Beek said...
Great review as always! I love this littly boxy style. So flattering.
8/23/09 3:43 PM
marjenann said...
Absolutely GORGEOUS!!!!!
8/23/09 4:34 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Ditto to all the comments above. Very nice jacket and your pocket tutorial was great!
8/23/09 7:51 PM
LindsayT said...
Hah. I've cleared out my house too over things that gave me fits. This jacket is lovely.
8/23/09 8:16 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible jacket
8/23/09 9:12 PM
amy in mpls said...
Hello beautiful jacket! This looks absolutely flawless...even the buttonholes!
8/23/09 10:52 PM
Mahler said...
I want one like that with the silk lining. I love your buttons so much. The guy we visit on St-Hubert had so nut buttons I think. Geniously done as usual. Thank you for the tutorial. Super young looking and fashionable jacket. Very new lawyer type of look. Where is the bracelet ? ;-)
8/24/09 1:44 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding! Perfect fit and great style.
8/24/09 2:23 PM
Karendee said...
Gorgeous Jacket!! Your garments always look so well pressed, as well as well constructed. Do you have a special iron or just use a regular household iron? Thanks.
8/24/09 7:26 PM
Lili123 said...
your jacket is amazing!!!thanks for sharing your techniques.
8/25/09 9:44 AM
MBPaz said...
Looks fabulous - buttoned up to the top would be too severe. So, as is often the case, your solution to a 'mistake' improved the garment.
8/26/09 8:18 AM
MAD14kt said...
I love your jacket. Brown is a hard color for me to find where I live. It's one of my colors in the fall/winter ;D
8/26/09 2:08 PM
Catbird said...
Sorry to be so late in leaving a comment on this wonderful jacket. Your style sense and fabric/notions choices, not to mention your exquisite workmanship, are such an inspiration to me. I love those buttons! And thank you for the great tutorial. This is a crisp, classic, urban jacket. Looking forward to the skirt!
8/29/09 11:02 AM
PhyllisC said...
Kay how did I miss this?? Can I borrow it? Really beautiful jacket and I think it would look good with jeans even into cooler weather.
10/12/09 7:25 AM
ShelaghL said...
Very cool.
12/30/09 1:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

StyleArc Jacqui Coat Jacqui Coat
photo
Review by sfshaza on 9/7/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Runaround Bag
Runaround Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9025 Dress
photo
Review by lauramae on 6/18/13
Read Review

Butterick 3351 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3351 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Cordova Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us