Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Pin-up Girls: 1230 thumbsup - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 897 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Robin Denning
photo
Friend of PR
About Robin Denningstar
MD USA
Member since: 6/24/04
Reviews written: 70
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/09 9:07 PM
Last Updated:8/24/09 1:44 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Raye Ann said...
this is beautiful! great job and thanks for the great review. i am in awe of those who make thier own bras.... i am hoping to tackle it one of these days.
8/23/09 9:22 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice job and love the fabric. Do the cup seams show through your tops, especially t-shirts?
8/23/09 9:34 PM
Robin Denning said...
RhodaK, I would not wear this with a clingy knit top. It's not so much that the seams show, but sometimes you look like you are "smuggling peanuts". I got that line from my daughter. :) They DO sell foam cups at Bra-Makers Supply where I bought this pattern. That's always best for wearing under knits.
8/23/09 10:11 PM
BlossomKyle said...
Great job! Really very nicely done!! Looks store bought, not home sewn at all.
8/23/09 10:58 PM
chacha45 said...
Could you be more specific about that "spandex kind of fabric"? I've bought bra kits that had such flimsy fabrics that I din't even bother to try them. And I'm clueless about what to buy.
8/24/09 9:18 AM
JEF said...
This is gorgeous. I'd been looking at the pattern, thank you so much for the review.
8/24/09 9:22 AM
PegL said...
Thanks for the timely and good review! I just got this pattern and am eager to try it. Do you know where your gift fabric was purchased? Edited to add: Thanks for the fabric info! Your review has really inspired me!
8/24/09 9:49 AM
Robin Denning said...
Fabric: I did a burn test. It burns briefly, then melts into an irregular hard black bead. I googled for a burn chart and my best guess is "modacrylic". The fabric came from Sigrid (in The Netherlands) who is on holiday this month). I think she buys a lot of her fabrics from Kantje-boord in Amsterdam.(http://www.kantje-boord.info/). I'll look for some more links and update my review.
8/24/09 1:04 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks, Robin. This was a very helpful review. I need to go ahead with making my own lingerie. I like the fact that I can save a lot of money. And once I nail down the fit, I'll have more options for different fabrics and styles.
8/24/09 1:52 PM
whirrclunk said...
Brilliant fabric! Thank you for the excellent review. Sounds really complicated...
8/24/09 2:43 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Great job and informative review -- this is the bra pattern I'm working on and I think I've almost got it perfected. You are so right about the BraMakers Manual -- amazing resource!
8/25/09 1:10 AM
SewRusty said...
Thanks for the review! I'll have to see about this one after I finish my bra-making class. :-)
8/29/09 9:31 PM
Athene said...
A lovely bra - its so pretty and versatile in the stripe print that it could easily cross over into loungewear.
2/5/10 11:22 PM
bless2bhome said...
I was wondering what sewing machine you used to make this.
12/22/11 2:09 PM
Robin Denning said...
Hi bless2bhome - I used a Pfaff. I like Pfaff because the IDT (like a built-in walking foot) helps sewing fiddly knits. I know people who sew BEAUTIFUL lingerie on other machines, so it is possible!! The Pfaff is just a personal preference for me.
12/23/11 9:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

McCall's 6328 misses shorts
photo
Review by CindysIsla... on 5/21/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0001
photo
Review by Ceidhle on 12/1/12
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6878 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6878 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 8-10 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 8-10 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us