SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4074 (Knit dress/top and skirt)

52 more reviews
Viewed 604 times 
Reviewed by:CrescentaLuna
photo

 
 
About CrescentaLunastar
OR USA
Member since: 8/18/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/09 7:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ingiepops said...
Wow, this looks really pretty in the Amy Butler fabric you chose. Great idea to make it in a woven.
8/26/09 8:58 PM
mollyshark said...
Have to admit D is my favorite. I think I'm tired of the wrap styles. Too many of them. The neck on this is incredibly flattering.
8/26/09 9:17 PM
Tiner W said...
So very pretty! I would never have thought of making this in a woven. It looks very nice on you!
8/26/09 9:46 PM
sew2little said...
I love sewing with wovens--so much more than knits AND I have this pattern! Thanks for the inspiration; your dress is great!
8/26/09 9:51 PM
RachelEsq said...
I love the fabric you chose. Great job on the princess seams - still working up the nerve to try them...
8/26/09 11:20 PM
lamstu said...
This looks great in your fabric! Beautifully well fitted.
8/27/09 4:42 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Just lovely on you! That fabric is gorgeous and fresh looking, and it's great to see a different approach to this popular pattern.
8/27/09 5:37 AM
donna mel said...
great job converting to a woven. all 3 versions are lovely. too bad the knit top is a poly...looks great, but makes you feel terrible!
8/27/09 6:47 AM
Renren said...
Very pretty dress in a very pretty fabric, and the lining is just perfect!
8/27/09 8:22 AM
CrescentaLuna said...
Thanks all! Wovens are so much easier to work with, even though they're less forgiving fit-wise. When a knit pattern has really nice structure like this one, with many places to tweak the fit, it seems like a good candidate. Mollyshark, I'm a little tired of the wraps too - and RachelEsq, do not fear the princess seam! They are really not hard, just pin carefully and baste. Iron the seam open and - presto!
8/27/09 1:35 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
love it! love it! WOULD never have considered using a woven until I saw yours..super cute
8/27/09 2:19 PM
Jane S said...
I love this in a knit but wow, now you have me interested in trying it in a woven. They look terrific. Thanks!
9/3/09 2:08 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Thanks for the sizing tips, I'm also 5"1 with the same shoulder type thing. Will be helpful.
10/16/09 12:52 PM
tatterbat said...
A woven, you say? Hmm... I have an easier time finding wovens that quality knits where I live... may have to try this! Nice photos, really adds to your review.
1/18/10 11:15 AM
Roary said...
Love that fabric! So glad you tried it out in a woven as it has inspired me.
3/14/10 10:34 PM
AnneM said...
I am thinking of making view D to go to a wedding this summer. Hadn't thought about using a woven; interesting idea.
5/12/10 6:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now