SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4074 (Knit dress/top and skirt)

52 more reviews
Viewed 606 times 
Reviewed by:CrescentaLuna
photo

 
 
About CrescentaLunastar
OR USA
Member since: 8/18/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/09 7:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
I am thinking of making view D to go to a wedding this summer. Hadn't thought about using a woven; interesting idea.
5/12/10 6:28 PM
Roary said...
Love that fabric! So glad you tried it out in a woven as it has inspired me.
3/14/10 10:34 PM
tatterbat said...
A woven, you say? Hmm... I have an easier time finding wovens that quality knits where I live... may have to try this! Nice photos, really adds to your review.
1/18/10 11:15 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Thanks for the sizing tips, I'm also 5"1 with the same shoulder type thing. Will be helpful.
10/16/09 12:52 PM
Jane S said...
I love this in a knit but wow, now you have me interested in trying it in a woven. They look terrific. Thanks!
9/3/09 2:08 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
love it! love it! WOULD never have considered using a woven until I saw yours..super cute
8/27/09 2:19 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
Thanks all! Wovens are so much easier to work with, even though they're less forgiving fit-wise. When a knit pattern has really nice structure like this one, with many places to tweak the fit, it seems like a good candidate. Mollyshark, I'm a little tired of the wraps too - and RachelEsq, do not fear the princess seam! They are really not hard, just pin carefully and baste. Iron the seam open and - presto!
8/27/09 1:35 PM
Renren said...
Very pretty dress in a very pretty fabric, and the lining is just perfect!
8/27/09 8:22 AM
donna mel said...
great job converting to a woven. all 3 versions are lovely. too bad the knit top is a poly...looks great, but makes you feel terrible!
8/27/09 6:47 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Just lovely on you! That fabric is gorgeous and fresh looking, and it's great to see a different approach to this popular pattern.
8/27/09 5:37 AM
lamstu said...
This looks great in your fabric! Beautifully well fitted.
8/27/09 4:42 AM
RachelEsq said...
I love the fabric you chose. Great job on the princess seams - still working up the nerve to try them...
8/26/09 11:20 PM
sew2little said...
I love sewing with wovens--so much more than knits AND I have this pattern! Thanks for the inspiration; your dress is great!
8/26/09 9:51 PM
Tiner W said...
So very pretty! I would never have thought of making this in a woven. It looks very nice on you!
8/26/09 9:46 PM
mollyshark said...
Have to admit D is my favorite. I think I'm tired of the wrap styles. Too many of them. The neck on this is incredibly flattering.
8/26/09 9:17 PM
Ingiepops said...
Wow, this looks really pretty in the Amy Butler fabric you chose. Great idea to make it in a woven.
8/26/09 8:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 3180

photo
by: wingamajig

Review
Vogue Patterns 1287

photo
by: mysticotal...

Review
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now