Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Patterns of Fashion (1861-3 Day Dress) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 243 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:vande
photo
About vandestar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/09 10:57 AM
Last Updated:9/4/09 7:25 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
Just amazing! Beautiful!
9/4/09 2:22 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Quite astounding. Congratulations.
9/4/09 2:44 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Beautiful! Congrats to you for attempting anything from PoF. Would also love to see pic of the skirt hem detail.
9/4/09 6:05 PM
carolynw said...
Oh my goodness - this is so incredible and wonderful I don't know what to say except Bravo!!
9/4/09 6:28 PM
vande said...
Thank you for your encouraging comments! For unfinishedprojects - I have edited it to show the inside/outside pleat detail (or how I got it to go together)
9/4/09 7:26 PM
babbling brook said...
Incredible! LOVE the idea of using the selvedge to create ruffle and zouave front! You look absolutely fabulous in it!!!
9/4/09 10:29 PM
Athene said...
Truly a labour of love - very beautiful.
9/4/09 10:56 PM
KiwiWendy said...
you've done a wonderful job of this
9/5/09 4:04 AM
KiwiWendy said...
very aspirational, i meant to finish with. Love your work
9/5/09 4:04 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
This must have been very time-intensive. End product is very professional looking. I'll have to look up that book. I have made period costumes, but nothing authentic, like yours. Great job!
9/5/09 8:42 AM
MCBurbage said...
It's lovely. I haven't quite had the nerve to try making anything from a vintage pattern yet. The idea of having to draft it from the pattern piece drawings! You, however, have done beautifully with this and all the 1910's reviews you've written.
9/6/09 7:09 AM
alviana said...
absolutely stunning. Beautiful!!
9/19/09 1:51 AM
MCBurbage said...
How much material did this require? I know the book doesn't say how much material went into any of these dresses.
2/23/10 12:17 PM
vande said...
Sorry MCBurbage - I don't have the exact measurements any more - I will try to work them out for you and post it here (it just won't be too soon, sorry)
2/24/10 1:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Jalie 2682 Women's Tops
photo
Review by lynne1nor on 2/16/10
Read Review

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8287
photo
Review by leanmeanse... on 10/17/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6812 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
McCalls 6812 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6504 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6504 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us