Online Sewing Class: Fit the Tee to a T
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8503 (MISSES' TUNIC AND PANTS)

11 more reviews
Viewed 886 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews: 127 (patterns: 113)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 95 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/09 11:29 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Aunt Gail said... (8/1/10 5:46 AM) Reply

Aunt Gail said... (11/15/09 2:47 AM) Reply
I love the long sleeve version and especially appreciate your discussion of shoulder fit et al!
Annette1 said... (9/6/09 0:57 AM) Reply
These both have such a nice fit and are quite flattering. I have to say I REALLY like that long-sleeved one. That's defintely YOUR color. :o)
moushka said... (9/5/09 5:38 PM) Reply
This style of sleeve seems to be very popular right now but I can't think of one instance where it doesn't pull when you move your arms, unless it's done in a knit. Your tops look very smart and fit beautifully, like all your garments. Thanks for an excellent review.
idesign said... (9/5/09 3:59 PM) Reply
Great review of a pretty top, but I will also think twice before trying it with the sleeve problem.
CarolynGM said... (9/5/09 2:24 PM) Reply
Both tops look very nice. Great job on your alterations.
EleanorSews said... (9/5/09 2:19 PM) Reply
Great adaptation of this top. Your review is so clearly done ~ thanks. With your comment on the pulling, I guess I will stay away from this one though!
Andreahg said... (9/5/09 12:43 PM) Reply
This is a really nice look for you. Too bad about the sleeves pulling.
renren said... (9/5/09 12:40 PM) Reply
This is a great review. I always like how you carefully say how you have altered the patterns and I'm starting to be able to visualize most of these alterations and why you do them. I thought I would buy this pattern and try similar alterations but when I read about the pulling of the cut-on sleeves, I knew that was the deal breaker for me. Not only is something like that annoying, I can't think of anything else but the annoying pulling sensation and how crazy making it is. And then I get really irritated and snappish and everyone asks me if I'm in a bad mood. Arrgh--not for me. Lovely work though and good results.
frame said... (9/5/09 12:27 PM) Reply
Your tops look great. I've made this and also added more and smaller buttons. I didn't know to remove 3/8" off the front edge, though. Why is that? Great review. Thanks.
Heatherrique said... (9/5/09 11:53 AM) Reply
You created two chic tops from this pattern! Thanks for providing the details. Very nice work on achieving lovely fitting tops. I like those necklines on you!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Made with Moxie Prefontaine shorts for wo

photo
by: Muggiesew

Review
Alter Years Pay-014

photo
by: Mordork

Review
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns T-Shirt Makeover Pattern

Pamela's Patterns T-Shirt Makeover Pattern

Pattern Details