SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8503 (MISSES' TUNIC AND PANTS)

11 more reviews
Viewed 801 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/09 11:29 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
You created two chic tops from this pattern! Thanks for providing the details. Very nice work on achieving lovely fitting tops. I like those necklines on you!
9/5/09 11:53 AM
frame said...
Your tops look great. I've made this and also added more and smaller buttons. I didn't know to remove 3/8" off the front edge, though. Why is that? Great review. Thanks.
9/5/09 12:27 PM
Renren said...
This is a great review. I always like how you carefully say how you have altered the patterns and I'm starting to be able to visualize most of these alterations and why you do them. I thought I would buy this pattern and try similar alterations but when I read about the pulling of the cut-on sleeves, I knew that was the deal breaker for me. Not only is something like that annoying, I can't think of anything else but the annoying pulling sensation and how crazy making it is. And then I get really irritated and snappish and everyone asks me if I'm in a bad mood. Arrgh--not for me. Lovely work though and good results.
9/5/09 12:40 PM
Andreahg said...
This is a really nice look for you. Too bad about the sleeves pulling.
9/5/09 12:43 PM
EleanorSews said...
Great adaptation of this top. Your review is so clearly done ~ thanks. With your comment on the pulling, I guess I will stay away from this one though!
9/5/09 2:19 PM
CarolynGM said...
Both tops look very nice. Great job on your alterations.
9/5/09 2:24 PM
idesign said...
Great review of a pretty top, but I will also think twice before trying it with the sleeve problem.
9/5/09 3:59 PM
moushka said...
This style of sleeve seems to be very popular right now but I can't think of one instance where it doesn't pull when you move your arms, unless it's done in a knit. Your tops look very smart and fit beautifully, like all your garments. Thanks for an excellent review.
9/5/09 5:38 PM
Annette1 said...
These both have such a nice fit and are quite flattering. I have to say I REALLY like that long-sleeved one. That's defintely YOUR color. :o)
9/6/09 0:57 AM
Aunt Gail said...
I love the long sleeve version and especially appreciate your discussion of shoulder fit et al!
11/15/09 2:47 AM
Aunt Gail said...

8/1/10 5:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sew Liberated Fleece Hoodie

photo
by: Stacie Thi...

Review
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now