Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8503 (MISSES' TUNIC AND PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 776 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/09 11:29 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
You created two chic tops from this pattern! Thanks for providing the details. Very nice work on achieving lovely fitting tops. I like those necklines on you!
9/5/09 11:53 AM
frame said...
Your tops look great. I've made this and also added more and smaller buttons. I didn't know to remove 3/8" off the front edge, though. Why is that? Great review. Thanks.
9/5/09 12:27 PM
Renren said...
This is a great review. I always like how you carefully say how you have altered the patterns and I'm starting to be able to visualize most of these alterations and why you do them. I thought I would buy this pattern and try similar alterations but when I read about the pulling of the cut-on sleeves, I knew that was the deal breaker for me. Not only is something like that annoying, I can't think of anything else but the annoying pulling sensation and how crazy making it is. And then I get really irritated and snappish and everyone asks me if I'm in a bad mood. Arrgh--not for me. Lovely work though and good results.
9/5/09 12:40 PM
Andreahg said...
This is a really nice look for you. Too bad about the sleeves pulling.
9/5/09 12:43 PM
EleanorSews said...
Great adaptation of this top. Your review is so clearly done ~ thanks. With your comment on the pulling, I guess I will stay away from this one though!
9/5/09 2:19 PM
CarolynGM said...
Both tops look very nice. Great job on your alterations.
9/5/09 2:24 PM
idesign said...
Great review of a pretty top, but I will also think twice before trying it with the sleeve problem.
9/5/09 3:59 PM
moushka said...
This style of sleeve seems to be very popular right now but I can't think of one instance where it doesn't pull when you move your arms, unless it's done in a knit. Your tops look very smart and fit beautifully, like all your garments. Thanks for an excellent review.
9/5/09 5:38 PM
Annette1 said...
These both have such a nice fit and are quite flattering. I have to say I REALLY like that long-sleeved one. That's defintely YOUR color. :o)
9/6/09 0:57 AM
Aunt Gail said...
I love the long sleeve version and especially appreciate your discussion of shoulder fit et al!
11/15/09 2:47 AM
Aunt Gail said...

8/1/10 5:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Self Drafted Pattern 118956-1000
photo
Review by Apron Stri... on 1/4/12
Read Review

New Look 6793 Pattern
New Look 6793 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2255 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
McCalls 2255 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6515 Misses Tops
photo
Review by NeedleandT... on 3/8/07
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us