SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5815 

12 more reviews
Viewed 1225 times 
Reviewed by:elainemay
photo

 
 
About elainemaystarstarstar
Member since: 2/4/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/09 6:22 PM
Last Updated:9/8/09 1:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
This is gorgeous!!! It fits you perfectly. Very chic!
9/7/09 6:28 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Cute! Cute!! Cute!!! Especially in size 4, eh!! VERY nice work!!
9/7/09 6:34 PM
semiscot said...
Fantastic, looks great!
9/7/09 6:34 PM
HLT said...
Very nice jacket! I love the finish of your collar. With the fabric, it looks very couture.
9/7/09 6:42 PM
LynnRowe said...
WOW. Elegant, tailored, fitted, fun...you've batted this one right outta the park!!!
9/7/09 6:55 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Beautifully made, and gorgeous on you! Thank you so much for pointing out the problems with the collar pattern pieces, as I have this pattern and will watch for that when I sew it up. Great review and pictures!
9/7/09 7:08 PM
yoshimi said...
Gorgeous jacket. It's very nice on you. Thanks for your great review, I have just put this in my wish list!
9/7/09 7:10 PM
Catbird said...
Wow - so pretty! You've done a beautiful job and have made a classic jacket with flair and style. It looks fantastic on you and I hope you enjoy wearing it for years to come!
9/7/09 7:15 PM
Morisot said...
Lovely!
9/7/09 7:31 PM
Beek said...
I love this style. I made a DKNY jacket pattern very similar to this one for my sister. It is a feminine take on a masculine look (jacket with lapel). Nice review, thanks!
9/7/09 7:32 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very smart and elegant, and suits your trim figure just perfectly. It gives you both stature and shape. And as always, beautifully sewn. Lovely, Lily
9/7/09 7:36 PM
Tiner W said...
Stunning!
9/7/09 7:54 PM
Erica B. said...
I love yours in pinstripe! It looks fabulous!
9/7/09 8:40 PM
Michelle L said...
Great work! I love it in the stripe. I have made this jacket, too, and you are right...the collar pieces do go together just like a puzzle!
9/7/09 8:59 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Fantastic Jacket. It looks wonderful on you. Great job!
9/7/09 9:15 PM
rebija said...
I saw this pattern the other day and wasn't too sure about it. You've definitely changed my mind! Beautiful job!
9/7/09 10:27 PM
erinw83 said...
Great Job! You have such a wonderful sense of style!
9/7/09 10:53 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous, perfect fit and fabric choice for your jacket, I love it!
9/8/09 1:55 AM
lara900 said...
very cute jacket, and great review with lots of detailed information. I am building up strength and courage to sew my first jacket, and your jacket is very inspiring. (even if the pattern is too difficult for a beginner)
9/8/09 2:14 AM
BillieJean said...
Really beautiful. I like this without the pockets too.
9/8/09 6:01 AM
Amanda S. said...
Love it! I must admit, I've not been a huge fan of this jacket worn as a separate. It's always looked a bit gramma-ish to me. But as a suit it's completely chic! Especially in the pinstripe. I guess I should have looked at the Nanette website - that is how they have their's styled. Anyway, superb job on both pieces.
9/8/09 8:24 AM
valerie sews said...
Your jacket looks totally couture. It fits you beautifully and suits you perfectly. Wow.
9/8/09 8:52 AM
Kellie R. said...
Fabulous jacket! I have this pattern and hope that when I get around to making it, it looks as good as yours!
9/8/09 8:54 AM
DorothyK said...
Fabulous! You did a great job and it looks great on you.
9/8/09 10:05 AM
Sheila457 said...
Lovely jacket and great review.
9/8/09 11:21 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Yep, the pinstripes take it from dangerously twee Easter jacket to strikingly chic suit with a fantastic interplay of masculine and feminine. Love it!
9/8/09 11:33 AM
CynthiaSue said...
utterly adorable. work chic to going out fun with jeans!! love it.
9/8/09 1:48 PM
Christas said...
Wonderful jacket and wonderful review! I have this pattern. I sure I will come back to this review and use your helpful information. Thanks!
9/8/09 8:37 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's fabulous and the fabric is delicious (I love brown). Well done. Omitting the pockets was a good idea.
9/9/09 6:27 AM
cdi9c said...
Fabulous with a capital F!
9/9/09 10:58 AM
lynnewill said...
Thank you for the well written review. Appreciate the detailed pattern correction, and the update. The pinstripe was an excellent choice.
10/8/09 10:05 AM
Nana2be said...
Beautiful work, Elaine! It fits you like a glove. I could see where the bow would blow up and maybe cause you an injury, lol.
12/4/09 8:17 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I am about to make this same jacket in a non-drapey fabric and was concerned about the pockets. Read your review and thought "Duh, Nancy! Just don't put them on!" :-) I think yours looks better without them, anyhow. I also appreciate the tip about tacking the bow down. We live in a windy city on the northern plains of Texas and I'm sure I'd get beat to death by the bow the first time out without it.
8/21/12 4:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Peek-a-Boo Pattern Shop Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dres

photo
by: Deepika

Review
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now