Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
LaFred: Clio Blouse (Clio Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 541 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:lamstu
photo
Friend of PR
About lamstustarstar
CHINA
Member since: 8/17/04
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/09 5:07 AM
Last Updated:9/13/09 10:06 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
As usual, the workmanship looks flawless, and the fabric lovely. The fit looks good, too. But how you feel about clothing is as important as all of those things, so I understand why sometimes things don't work just based on that. Still, a nice looking top.
9/8/09 8:05 AM
carolynw said...
Now this will surprise you but I think it looks quite nice but if you aren't comfortable with it then I second Renren -somethigns are just not meant to be. Real shame cause you fabric looks so nice.
9/8/09 8:33 AM
Patti B said...
I think that it's the combo of fabric with this pattern that is the problem. Hmm, I see that Barbara V's top is also linen but has a closer-to-the-body fit. Perhaps that's it -- you need a smaller size? It does seem a bit large through the shoulder area and hence through the body. So sorry that you're not happy with the results.
9/8/09 9:35 AM
Barbara V said...
lamstu, don't give up on your top yet! The fabric and stripes are beautiful and look really nice in this pattern. Can you take in the side seams any more and still pull it on? I worked with mine in that area to get a closer fit. Also, I didn't notice anything about your prewashing the fabric, but now that the garment is completed, maybe a handwash and gentle tumble in the dryer would soften and allow it to better relax to fit your body. Good luck.
9/8/09 11:00 AM
Elona said...
Oh, this top is really, really cute! However, I see what you mean about the fit. Like Patti, I suspect the size might be a little large for you. Perhaps turning the top inside out and taking in the seams a bit wherever possible might remove enough of the flare to make the top pleasing to you?
9/8/09 11:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Sorry this did not turn out as expected. As others have said the workmanship and fabric are perfect, but the style may not be for you. My only suggestion for taming the fullness is to perhaps undo the side seams, reduce some of the width of the fabric in the lower part of the shirt and resew.
9/9/09 11:32 AM
lamstu said...
Thank you all for taking the time to send your suggestions. This afternoon, I started deconstructing in preparation for trying to save this top. I'll post again when I'm happy or I've given up! (Barbara V: I had prewashed the fabric, as I love the softness that linen takes on after repeated washer/dryer cycles. I washed and dried it again per your comment and wasn't any happier than before. I always prewash my fabrics when I get them so that I can start right up when the sewing mood hits me.)
9/10/09 5:36 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great save! The slimmed down version of the top is much more flattering on you.
9/13/09 10:21 AM
Michelle L said...
Great job in salvaging this pattern. I really like what you have done with the stripes on the fabric, moving from bias to on-grain. it really adds something special!
9/13/09 12:16 PM
carolynw said...
Good for you - great save!!
9/13/09 12:20 PM
marec said...
ohh, I like this very much. What perseverance you showed in this save.
9/13/09 1:16 PM
Barbara V said...
There you go!---it turned out really nice and is a good fit. You put in a lot of time to achieve this, but now you have a lovely comfortable top to wear and enjoy!
9/14/09 11:12 AM
Athene said...
I like your both your versions. Good that you were able to alter it more to your liking.
12/22/09 9:11 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

McCall's 6348
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 7/5/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6421
photo
Review by sewamazin on 4/20/11
Read Review

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2238 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 2238 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 16 )
Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 16 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us