SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> Clio Blouse (Clio Blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 559 times 
Reviewed by:lamstu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lamstustarstar
CHINA
Member since: 8/17/04
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/09 5:07 AM
Last Updated:9/13/09 10:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
As usual, the workmanship looks flawless, and the fabric lovely. The fit looks good, too. But how you feel about clothing is as important as all of those things, so I understand why sometimes things don't work just based on that. Still, a nice looking top.
9/8/09 8:05 AM
carolynw said...
Now this will surprise you but I think it looks quite nice but if you aren't comfortable with it then I second Renren -somethigns are just not meant to be. Real shame cause you fabric looks so nice.
9/8/09 8:33 AM
Patti B said...
I think that it's the combo of fabric with this pattern that is the problem. Hmm, I see that Barbara V's top is also linen but has a closer-to-the-body fit. Perhaps that's it -- you need a smaller size? It does seem a bit large through the shoulder area and hence through the body. So sorry that you're not happy with the results.
9/8/09 9:35 AM
Barbara V said...
lamstu, don't give up on your top yet! The fabric and stripes are beautiful and look really nice in this pattern. Can you take in the side seams any more and still pull it on? I worked with mine in that area to get a closer fit. Also, I didn't notice anything about your prewashing the fabric, but now that the garment is completed, maybe a handwash and gentle tumble in the dryer would soften and allow it to better relax to fit your body. Good luck.
9/8/09 11:00 AM
Elona said...
Oh, this top is really, really cute! However, I see what you mean about the fit. Like Patti, I suspect the size might be a little large for you. Perhaps turning the top inside out and taking in the seams a bit wherever possible might remove enough of the flare to make the top pleasing to you?
9/8/09 11:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Sorry this did not turn out as expected. As others have said the workmanship and fabric are perfect, but the style may not be for you. My only suggestion for taming the fullness is to perhaps undo the side seams, reduce some of the width of the fabric in the lower part of the shirt and resew.
9/9/09 11:32 AM
lamstu said...
Thank you all for taking the time to send your suggestions. This afternoon, I started deconstructing in preparation for trying to save this top. I'll post again when I'm happy or I've given up! (Barbara V: I had prewashed the fabric, as I love the softness that linen takes on after repeated washer/dryer cycles. I washed and dried it again per your comment and wasn't any happier than before. I always prewash my fabrics when I get them so that I can start right up when the sewing mood hits me.)
9/10/09 5:36 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great save! The slimmed down version of the top is much more flattering on you.
9/13/09 10:21 AM
Michelle L said...
Great job in salvaging this pattern. I really like what you have done with the stripes on the fabric, moving from bias to on-grain. it really adds something special!
9/13/09 12:16 PM
carolynw said...
Good for you - great save!!
9/13/09 12:20 PM
marec said...
ohh, I like this very much. What perseverance you showed in this save.
9/13/09 1:16 PM
Barbara V said...
There you go!---it turned out really nice and is a good fit. You put in a lot of time to achieve this, but now you have a lovely comfortable top to wear and enjoy!
9/14/09 11:12 AM
Athene said...
I like your both your versions. Good that you were able to alter it more to your liking.
12/22/09 9:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 4985

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2011-111

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now