SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V7903 (Today's Fit--Sandra Betzina)

Viewed 822 times 
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo

 
 
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/09 3:53 PM
Last Updated:10/12/09 9:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Wow!!! Your blouse turned out pretty!! And you stuck to it, and finished it! You should be very proud of yourself!!
10/8/09 3:57 PM
Samina said...
Thanks for the review! I have this pattern and your experience will come in handy. I'm sure the shirt looks great on you. Regarding the clapper/ham issue, they're two different things. A clapper is a wooden thing you use to beat the garment edges into a crisp edge. You don't have to purchase a clapper -- a 2x4 lying around the house woud work just as well.
10/8/09 4:29 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thanks for the 2x4 tip, Samina. The directions did call for a clapper, and I thought it was silly; why would I want to beat a seam that sat down anyway?
10/8/09 4:47 PM
marec said...
This blouse is really nice-I love the fabric and style together.
10/8/09 6:35 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for a very good review. I had a hard time with my Betzina books myself, although I sure like her! I have seen a couple of her videos though and they seem very good. I am not good on directions of this sort anyway, so would have made the collar my own way. Your blouse is very pretty, and the fabric is really beautiful.
10/8/09 8:21 PM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks for the thorough, detailed review!
10/9/09 6:44 AM
fryman said...
your review brings to mind that there were many assumptions in the directions. We all know that's a mistake, but SB did it anyway.However, your blouse surfaced as a winner and I hope you enjoy wearing it. Lovely!
10/10/09 11:04 AM
Woolygal said...
I hope this pattern didn't cost too much.
10/10/09 4:13 PM
bluelamb said...
Thank you for sharing. I am having a time with this pattern myself right now. Will not make it again. Glad I got it on sale for only $3.99 at JoAnn's
9/24/10 12:08 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Blue lamb, you can PM me if you have problems, and I suppose you're having the same ones as I did. My pattern was a little more, as. I bought it from a private party and the pattern is autographed.
9/25/10 7:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Park Bench patterns 7

photo
by: Miss Fairc...

Review
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5357

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review

Pattern