Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4221 (Misses Top & Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 411 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:PatCSM
photo
About PatCSMstar
MS USA
Member since: 5/8/07
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/09 4:10 PM
Last Updated:9/11/09 4:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
This looks very nice on you. Good job on your alterations. I made this top once for myself and it turned out really nice..........for someone smaller than me :( Now that I know how to alter better, I may just revisit it.
9/11/09 4:56 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thanks for suggesting helpful tips. Nice blouse.
9/11/09 5:35 PM
Steffie said...
Nice job! I have this pattern and have never made it up. Thanks for the tips.
9/11/09 6:14 PM
Camerio said...
I just bought this pattern this afternoon. You are now inspiring me to try it as soon as possible. I like the look of it on a real person.
9/11/09 7:21 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
You top looks great. It is rewarding to fine tune fit.
9/11/09 8:07 PM
Andreahg said...
Very cute and the fit looks great!
9/11/09 8:59 PM
meesa said...
I considered this pattern once but now I see it on you I really like it and want it! Great review with links! Thanks!
9/11/09 10:58 PM
Kayseri said...
Great looking top and it fits beautifully.
9/12/09 5:16 AM
Rebecca D said...
You got a great fit on this one and now that all the alterations are done, the next one will be that much easier and faster. I think this is a very versatile top that you can use often. Don't worry about the tan line. I have the same one and just had a professional portrait taken for my job and mentioned it to the photographer, hoping he'd even it all out with Photoshop but he poo-poo'd me - 'Don't even see it' he said.
9/12/09 7:39 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You top turned out beautifully. The fit is wonderful and the flounce is really cute. The sleeves look great. If I make this pattern again I'll use the original sleeves. I love the print on you. You really did a fantastic job on the alterations!!!!!
9/12/09 7:57 AM
JudyP said...
the fit on your top is very good. Choosing a smaller size to start with and then doing an FBA makes a big difference! Your flounce hem looks good, but they are always a pain to hem. I find that if I am hemming a flounce on something special, hand sewing is the way to go. It is easier to control.(but I hate hand sewing!)
9/12/09 9:01 AM
sherri2sew said...
Chances are you are the only one who would ever be bothered by your barely visible tan line and the not quite perfect flounce hem (looks better than RTW)! Every else just sees a pretty top!
9/12/09 5:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Butterick 4686 6 sew easy
photo
Review by alimmay on 11/12/12
Read Review

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8655
photo
Review by Blooms on 4/15/10
Read Review

Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4201 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )
Butterick 4201 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us