SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5525 (Lined Jacket Contest 2009)

62 more reviews
Viewed 1864 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:9/29/09 5:09 PM
Last Updated:9/30/09 7:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
quixoticpixels said...
Wow! Your daughter is lucky! I wish someone would sew such a fantastic coat for me :)
9/17/09 12:51 PM
waltzqueen said...
I can't wait to see the final coat! Thank you for all the hints and recommendations.
9/17/09 2:54 PM
nancy2001 said...
This is a great looking pattern, and you've made a wonderful start. I can't wait to see it when it's done.
9/18/09 9:55 AM
sew obsessed said...
Looks beautiful! I can't wait to see the finished coat.
9/23/09 6:58 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket is coming along nicely.
9/24/09 7:13 PM
sew obsessed said...
Cool new picture:-) Coat is coming along well.
9/26/09 10:02 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks haha - I really need to get it DONE! What 4 days left now or something? Goodness!
9/26/09 11:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
So far, wow, Terri! Keep us posted!
9/27/09 10:14 AM
nancy2001 said...
This looks great.
9/29/09 6:10 AM
laranoelle said...
Wow! Great job. I love this coat!!!
9/29/09 6:05 PM
Athene said...
This is such a great coat and I love the backdrop for all the outdoor pictures. Your daughter is very lucky.
9/29/09 6:06 PM
Lili123 said...
very nice coat, it looks great on your daughter.
9/29/09 9:07 PM
ladylola said...
Love the coat! And the pictures!
9/29/09 9:59 PM
Nancy K said...
Great coat! Love your photos too.
9/29/09 10:22 PM
loti said...
Great coat, there's a lot of work in that topstitching and lining. And DD wears it well!
9/29/09 11:27 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic coat and what fun pictures.
9/29/09 11:31 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks I appreciate the supportive comments and - yeah- I just had to do the photo shoot:-) heehee it was fun:-) I think she will always remember it. Maybe someday she will sew and remember these times and about me making her stuff. I sure hope so.
9/30/09 2:16 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Beautiful coat and wonderful workmanship. Your daughter is so lucky to have this fantastic coat. Love the photo shoot, I bet it was loads of fun to do.
9/30/09 3:41 AM
Clareew said...
Absolutely wonderful. What a lucky girl.
9/30/09 3:42 AM
Heatherrique said...
Amazingly beautiful coat! I adore the action pics and thank you so much for your construction details. You are truly an inspiration!
9/30/09 3:51 AM
Sic said...
Wow! Gorgeous coat! All of your detail work really shows through in the final product. Also, your photos kind of look like they are from a BWOF magazine - nice work!
9/30/09 8:34 AM
Kellie R. said...
Fabulous coat! I have this pattern and appreciate your informative review and heads up about the yoke piece error.
9/30/09 10:09 AM
Terri A said...
Thank you. I am so surprised about all the comments! Thanks so much. Just as a side note, the error on the yoke was first mentioned by Erica B in her review of this pattern (I think) I added a link to her review above. That is what's so great about PR is I can find out what other people have noticed about the pattern before I even begin. Love it!
9/30/09 10:35 AM
MaryDB said...
Really wonderful job on the coat - looks great! Nice setting for photos at the Museum of Glass, too.
9/30/09 10:48 AM
Terri A said...
Yes, it is the museum of glass. In one of the pictures the fountain sprayed water on my daughter suddenly:-) She really did jump! Haha!
9/30/09 11:13 AM
senaSews said...
Awesome coat and what a fun pictures!
9/30/09 11:15 AM
TanyaMT said...
What a gorgeous coat, and wonderful review! She looks fabulous in it, and very happy with it.
9/30/09 11:30 AM
stretch queen said...
Wow not only is this a fantastically detailed review, the photos rock!!!! The coat is beautiful and you should be really proud. Time to give yourself the advance designation :)
9/30/09 2:33 PM
bitofagypsy said...
The coat look fantastic. I would love to see it on a dress form close up, it looks like there are a lot of details that don't show up in the photo's
9/30/09 6:59 PM
Terri A said...
I thought I had a close-up posted.. I will add one thanks:-)
9/30/09 7:05 PM
quathy said...
Great coat! I adore this photo - it reminds me of the burda models!
9/30/09 7:05 PM
Byrdie said...
OMG- she looks fabulous! You did a great job at the construction!
9/30/09 7:41 PM
Raye Ann said...
how fantastic! i love this coat! and trust me- your daughter will remember everything that you have sewn for her. i remember all of the times when my mom and i designed stuff together and she sewed for me.... many formal dresses and lots of other stuff, too. now i sew, too, and we share the passion even though she no longer sews clothing. trust me... she will remember and appreciate. they are sweet mommy/daughter memories.
9/30/09 11:26 PM
sew obsessed said...
Just great! Love the end results you did a wonderful job. Thanks for all the constuction details.
9/30/09 11:58 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely lovely - lucky daughter!! Beautiful photos and a very helpful review
10/1/09 10:01 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Wow! Great coat and I know your daughter will enjoy it for many years to come.
10/1/09 1:36 PM
Sheila457 said...
Annnnd the award goes to you... you did a phenomenal job... loooove the coat and the pictures a great.
10/1/09 7:40 PM
AnneM said...
Your review is worth reading just for your pictures!!! Very cute. Congrats on the coat; looks great. (Hate to break it to you, but some buttons are even more expensive than those.)
10/3/09 10:44 AM
Deepika said...
wow, how did I miss this before? Gorgeous coat and I love your photo shoot!!!!!
10/13/09 12:21 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks Deepika!!! It was fun.
10/13/09 10:01 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Outstanding detailed review. And the main pix was a show stopper. Hugs from a new transplant to the Pacific NW
10/20/09 5:53 PM
BMH said...
I'm just getting around to making this, and your review is worthy it's weight in gold. The coat turned out beautifully, and the photos are such fun. I hope your daughter is still enjoying her beautiful coat.
4/8/11 9:20 PM
MrsCharisma said...
WOW! Amazing. Absolutely amazing coat!
1/20/14 11:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

KnipMode Magazine 01-2011-6

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now