Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: B4919 (Misses Dress Retro '52) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 756 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:anetJay
photo
About anetJaystar
IL USA
Member since: 3/13/08
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/09 7:43 AM
Last Updated:9/22/09 7:53 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sheila457 said...
Pretty dress.
9/22/09 7:54 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very nice! And she has the figure to pull it off. I'm always a little leery of these patterns that don't have a photo, only drawings, because you never know how they're going to look on someone withOUT a wasp waist. But yours turned out lovely!
9/22/09 9:37 AM
heathercampbell29 said...
Fab! I love it, thanks for the review.
9/22/09 10:48 AM
lizagm said...
AH-Mazing! I love the dress and now I want one:) Your fabric is awesome and your little changes totally work. Great job!
9/22/09 11:03 AM
ingysoup said...
Very pretty! I wish my mother had sewed for me!!!!
9/22/09 12:58 PM
DivaQ said...
Cute dress!
9/23/09 0:43 AM
anetJay said...
Thank you kindly for your comments :) Happy sewing !!! Janet
9/23/09 6:47 AM
bindu1 said...
I think this is a fabulous dress - only I can't see it enlarged for some reason - I do not have a google account. I have ordered this pattern and I have a few questions: 1. Does the front centre seam play a role in shaping the front area at all? I ask cos I might modify the bodice so that I cut the front as one piece; 2. Instead of tying the ties together, do you think it the ends can be connected together with poppers for a finish without a bow? 3. Does this dress allow the well endowed of us to continue wearing a bra underneath as it seems to? Your advice would be appreciated, thanks - more photos if you can please!
1/31/11 10:11 PM
SusanAllein said...
From what i can see it looks beautifull. I would love to see a better pict of this dress but your blog is private. Can I get an invite? I would like to make this for my son's wedding.
8/3/12 8:56 AM
anetJay said...
Good Morning :) I put the 3 photos that I have of this lovely dress on my blog: www.JanWilke51.com... I hope this helps :)
8/4/12 5:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 1653
photo
Review by stonecutte... on 7/7/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Emma Top
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 4/15/12
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1355 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 1355 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Belcarra Blouse
Sewaholic Patterns Belcarra Blouse

Details
Price: $15.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us