Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5816 (Misses' Double-Breasted Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 780 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:washer_woman
photo
About washer_womanstar
USA
Member since: 5/31/06
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/09 10:20 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pharmlyn said...
Very nice!!!!
9/29/09 10:30 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Great review of the pattern and the photos help with assembly. Thanks
9/29/09 10:36 PM
SusiM said...
An excellent review! Your garment is beautiful and nicely fitted. You hit on all the questions I tend to have about a pattern: amount of ease, construction, etc. Just wonderful to read!
9/29/09 10:58 PM
Lori V said...
Amazing jacket, it looks so wonderful on you. Also, thanks for the excellent review and pictures, they are all so helpful.
9/29/09 11:09 PM
loti said...
Great jacket, I have the same issue with sleeve sometimes I think they have too much ease in them. Love the lining.
9/29/09 11:32 PM
lara900 said...
great looking jacket, and very thorough review!
9/30/09 0:12 AM
kiddo said...
Beautiful jacket! Your construction techniques are wonderfully done.
9/30/09 1:06 AM
Terri A said...
I adore the lining!
9/30/09 3:26 AM
calminatrix said...
thanks so much for your fantastic review and your GORGEOUS jacket! orange is my favorite color, and yes, the lining is fab!
9/30/09 5:29 AM
trishapatk said...
This is quite striking in this color. Your attention to detail in getting the fit right is inspiring and your workmanship looks excellent. Great job!
9/30/09 5:45 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Great review and excellent pics -- and I just bought the book you recommended.
9/30/09 7:11 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Sorry -- posted again.
9/30/09 7:12 AM
Peter in NYC said...
And again -- arrrgh!
9/30/09 7:13 AM
Peter in NYC said...
&*^$#@!
9/30/09 7:15 AM
Amanda S. said...
Great little jacket!
9/30/09 8:59 AM
JuneHawk said...
Very nice!
9/30/09 9:33 AM
carolynw said...
Very nicely done - love the color - your efforts sure paid off
9/30/09 9:44 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket turned out great. It looks beautiful on you.
9/30/09 11:27 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very chic and nicely tailored jacket! Lovely color on you!
9/30/09 11:54 AM
CynthiaSue said...
i love it! gorgeous. i have the pattern! going to make!
9/30/09 1:07 PM
Catbird said...
Great job on this jacket and excellent review!
9/30/09 4:04 PM
Kay Y said...
Very very good job on the details on this jacket. It looks fabulous on you!
9/30/09 9:50 PM
becca a said...
Great jacket! Thank you for the thorough and detailed review. It is very helpful!
10/1/09 7:46 AM
Elke said...
Great looking jacket...this color looks fabulous on you!
10/1/09 10:14 AM
Barbara V said...
What a beautiful jacket, lovely color and great fit. Your workmanship is impeccable.
10/1/09 10:33 AM
obsessed with sewing said...
Wow, you did a great job with the fitting and sewing. I wish I had the patience, talent, and knowledge to do garment construction.
10/1/09 11:21 AM
elily00 said...
beautiful jacket and fabulous review! very well done!
10/1/09 2:42 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beutifully sewn jacket! Your topstitching is perfect. I love the colour, style and lining. Perfect match of fabric and pattern. Nice job and good luck in the contest!
10/2/09 1:41 AM
yorkshire lass said...
wonderful jacket, and excellent and informative review. Thank you. I hope that you enjoy your jacket and I am sure you will get many compliments on it.
10/2/09 3:49 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Exquisitely and thoughtfully constructed. The jacket has real charm on you, and your project photo is fabulous. --Lily
10/2/09 5:38 PM
washer_woman said...
Thank you so much, everyone, for the kind comments!
10/2/09 8:33 PM
AnneM said...
Great under-construction pictures. The finished jacket came out great and looks very professional.
10/3/09 10:35 AM
TanyaMT said...
That is a beautiful jacket, and you look just lovely in it.
10/3/09 6:01 PM
mrs quickly said...
Beautiful jacket. The color is wonder with your hair and skin tone. Thank you for the thorough review.
10/3/09 6:06 PM
kjean79 said...
Your jacket is awesome!!! You did a wonderful job and I love the lining you chose.
1/1/10 10:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick 5348
photo
Review by Kristine K... on 8/14/09
Read Review

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4634 year 1958
photo
Review by Kellie R. on 1/31/10
Read Review

Butterick 5883 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5883 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6029 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 6029 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us