SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> Wild Things (Newsboy Cap)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1955 times 
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo

 
 
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews: 103 (patterns: 90)
Favored by: 41 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/3/04 5:26 PM
Last Updated:2/3/04 6:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said... (2/4/04 12:13 PM) Reply
Awesome. My DD would love this!
MaryBeth said... (2/4/04 11:43 AM) Reply
On the PMB list a lday suggested that the jockey only delivered papers in the evening after his day job-hehehe. This hat sure has produced some funny comments. Hope my friend will have a sense of humor about it too!
Lisa Laree said... (2/4/04 9:46 AM) Reply
How cute! Frustrating that it didn't turn out like you were expecting, though... Maybe they confused newsboys w/the Pony Express? ;)
Ann C said... (2/4/04 9:01 AM) Reply
Thank you for reminding us of this offering from W.Ginger again. Neat hat.
moushka said... (2/4/04 7:27 AM) Reply
Cute cap, Mary Beth. I printed this pattern off for a DF (an experienced home-ec teacher). She said it made up into a beanie! NOT the look she was after. I think this pattern is more like a baseball cap than a newsboy cap. It certainly doesn't look like the drawing in the program. No one at WildGinger deigned to reply to my questions about the pattern so I have no idea what they had in mind when they drafted it. You definitely made lemonade where I only saw a lemon! Great review.
candyo said... (2/4/04 1:20 AM) Reply
I LOVE your fabric choices! It looks more like a baseball cap than a newsboy, though.
Georgene said... (2/4/04 0:50 AM) Reply
Cool cap MB! You're right, its a bit jockey shaped, but love the laser-cut pleather with the pink underneath. Hmm, where else can you use that trick?Especially love your goose-neck as hat stand.
MaryBeth said... (2/3/04 8:07 PM) Reply
Patti-Jo, I sure would love to see a picture of yours! Did you manage to redo it to get a real newsboy shape? Do a review?
Patti-Jo said... (2/3/04 7:40 PM) Reply
I. too, made this hat, out of a cotton black/white/gray cat print from equilter. I found errors in the instructions, also,and I agree, a little playing around is necessary to get your desired end results. Great job, Marybeth!
AnneM said... (2/3/04 6:34 PM) Reply
Great placement of the laser-cuts; very fashion-forward. Doesn't really like like their little sketch, does it!
Deepika said... (2/3/04 5:51 PM) Reply
What a cool cap MaryBeth!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7607

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Sweet Elizabeth Pleated Dress

photo
by: SpitfireGa...

Review