Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: Wild Things (Newsboy Cap) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1955 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/3/04 5:26 PM
Last Updated:2/3/04 6:08 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
What a cool cap MaryBeth!
2/3/04 5:51 PM
AnneM said...
Great placement of the laser-cuts; very fashion-forward. Doesn't really like like their little sketch, does it!
2/3/04 6:34 PM
Patti-Jo said...
I. too, made this hat, out of a cotton black/white/gray cat print from equilter. I found errors in the instructions, also,and I agree, a little playing around is necessary to get your desired end results. Great job, Marybeth!
2/3/04 7:40 PM
MaryBeth said...
Patti-Jo, I sure would love to see a picture of yours! Did you manage to redo it to get a real newsboy shape? Do a review?
2/3/04 8:07 PM
Georgene said...
Cool cap MB! You're right, its a bit jockey shaped, but love the laser-cut pleather with the pink underneath. Hmm, where else can you use that trick?Especially love your goose-neck as hat stand.
2/4/04 0:50 AM
candyo said...
I LOVE your fabric choices! It looks more like a baseball cap than a newsboy, though.
2/4/04 1:20 AM
moushka said...
Cute cap, Mary Beth. I printed this pattern off for a DF (an experienced home-ec teacher). She said it made up into a beanie! NOT the look she was after. I think this pattern is more like a baseball cap than a newsboy cap. It certainly doesn't look like the drawing in the program. No one at WildGinger deigned to reply to my questions about the pattern so I have no idea what they had in mind when they drafted it. You definitely made lemonade where I only saw a lemon! Great review.
2/4/04 7:27 AM
Ann C said...
Thank you for reminding us of this offering from W.Ginger again. Neat hat.
2/4/04 9:01 AM
Lisa Laree said...
How cute! Frustrating that it didn't turn out like you were expecting, though... Maybe they confused newsboys w/the Pony Express? ;)
2/4/04 9:46 AM
MaryBeth said...
On the PMB list a lday suggested that the jockey only delivered papers in the evening after his day job-hehehe. This hat sure has produced some funny comments. Hope my friend will have a sense of humor about it too!
2/4/04 11:43 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Awesome. My DD would love this!
2/4/04 12:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2007-3 3/4 sleeve tee
photo
Review by emailtk on 9/30/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1235 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by redsilvia on 7/8/11
Read Review

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3561 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3561 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us