SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2938 (Misses top)

33 more reviews
Viewed 733 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/09 11:55 AM
Last Updated:10/4/09 2:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Very pretty. It goes with your spring suit very well, and it has just the right amount of ease.
10/4/09 1:07 PM
Annette1 said...
This is perfect, Kay, and even though it's sleeveless you can still wear it under your winter jackets. :o) Plus, it will GO with so many different things. REALLY a CUTE style on you.
10/4/09 2:23 PM
Christas said...
What a pretty top! It will be fun to have such a nice new top waiting in your closet when the weather turns warm again. I love the fabric.
10/4/09 2:24 PM
KarmenG said...
Love this top - looks terrific under a suit jacket. Armscye looks fine to me, but I know what you mean about wanting just a smidge more coverage when worn to the office.
10/4/09 2:34 PM
Rhoda K said...
I love your top and your fabric is gorgeous.
10/4/09 3:21 PM
EleanorSews said...
Your top is lovely. You never know when you need a little shell, even in the winter.
10/4/09 4:29 PM
marec said...
Beautiful fabric and perfect for this stylish shell. Thank you for such a great review...I always learn something when reading your reviews.
10/4/09 5:27 PM
AnitaJ said...
Lovely top! Thanks for explaining how you finished the armscye.
10/4/09 7:14 PM
Kellie R. said...
When I saw the pic of your pretty top, I had a feeling it was this pattern.. as I love it! Just lovely!
10/4/09 7:41 PM
carolynw said...
Hi Kay - love this top - love the fabric!!
10/4/09 8:04 PM
Catbird said...
This is such a pretty shell, with just enough subtle styling to set it apart from a plain shell. I like the lines - the scoop of the neckline and the armholes are very flattering on you. You've done a beautiful job, as I've come to expect!
10/4/09 8:13 PM
lmg said...
The pattern and fabric combo is lovely. Is there enough ease to wear on top of a blouse or t shirt for winter?
10/4/09 10:48 PM
Jane S said...
Great blouse in beautiful colors on you. The lines on this are so flattering. Thanks for reminding me to move it up on my to do list.
10/5/09 7:28 AM
Fran G said...
Lovely top, Kay..beautiful fit. Always excited to see "A new review by Kay Y" in my email!!
10/5/09 7:57 AM
barbcl said...
Love the print and this style. I have this pattern and plan to make all the pieces (soon>;). To me, "side zipper" means "lots of sewing guesswork." In the olden days, people used hooks and eyes on the side (a lot less guesswork and refitting?). There are lots of great tips about older sewing methods at http://www.vintagesewing.info/index.html, including a lapped opening that uses hooks and eyes. This "seams' to me to be a much more flexible way to shape a side opening for a better fit. Other than that, I JUST LOVE THE SITE --IT's FANTASTIC!!
10/5/09 12:08 PM
fryman said...
great great great
10/5/09 6:48 PM
loohoo44 said...
Love it!
10/5/09 7:45 PM
Mahler said...
What a great simple and versatile top! This poly charmeuse does the job wonderfully. I looks like silk on you. I really like it !!
10/6/09 12:46 PM
BMoyer said...
I love the looks of this top, You can never have enough shell tops, no matter what season!! Great job. I may pick this up at the next 99c joannes sale lol.
10/7/09 8:49 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty top and thanks for the helpful review. Especially the bit about the zipper.
9/1/10 0:03 AM
Gail Lyle said...
This fits you perfectly and looks great.
6/25/14 8:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Butterick 5785

photo
by: Andreahg

Review
McCall's 6519

photo
by: ajhewing

Review
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now