SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5970 (Snuggie)

8 more reviews
Viewed 343 times 
Reviewed by:Jacqui315
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jacqui315star
WA United States
Member since: 3/1/06
Reviews: 49 (patterns: 41)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/09 6:33 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    Loungewear    Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Jacqui315 said... (10/7/09 10:34 AM) Reply
JTink, reviews are easy to do. When you bring up the pattern reviews, at the top there will be two red buttons - one for the gallery and one to write reviews. If you get stuck, can request additional help on the message boards. =)
Byrdie said... (10/7/09 9:31 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. I actually went out last weekend and got this pattern along with 6 different fleece prints for Christmas gifts! But I have not started making them up so it's good to read a review before I get going. Under $20 is still a good deal for a gift, not to mention it's home made.
JTink said... (10/7/09 8:02 AM) Reply
Jacqui, I would love to do some reviews, but I can't find info on how to do it. Did you use a heavy fleece in your Snugglie?
JTink said... (10/7/09 7:50 AM) Reply
Irene, it's not closed up in the back, you do slip it on like an apron. Some times the line drawings take on a life of their own;-)
knitlitcamper said... (10/7/09 2:17 AM) Reply
Thanks for this review, I have been kicking around the idea of making these for family xmas gifts.
Irene said... (10/7/09 1:23 AM) Reply
Looks cozy, Jacqui! I looked up the line drawing, and it looks like it's closed in the back. Is that correct--you pull it on over your head, rather than putting it on like an apron?
Jacqui315 said... (10/6/09 10:23 PM) Reply
JTink, you should do a review. People need to know that it can be done in an hour. =) And I'd love to see the one you've sewn up!
Sharon M said... (10/6/09 8:22 PM) Reply
I just picked this pattern up for a non-sewing relative in the hopes of enticing them with an easy project. Glad to know it's simple and the foot pocket sounds great.
JTink said... (10/6/09 7:15 PM) Reply
I've made 6 off this pattern last week, for gifts this Christmas. I made the Medium length. You can get that out of 3 yards if you leave off the pockets. Most of the ready made Snuggies are about 71-72 inches in length, so unless you are working with a really tall person, the medium should be more than long enough. I was lucky to find a $2.99 a yard sale on Glacier Fleece at Hancocks after Christmas last year, so I stocked up(wish now that I had bought more!) I had made one of these for my sister last year with the on line pattern. Everyone who was here that day, just loved it. I like the McCall pattern because it gives size options. It takes me one hour from cutting out to sewing up(and I do hem mine)...super pattern. Thank you for reviewing it.
mhk3boys said... (10/6/09 6:44 PM) Reply
OMG!! I have this on my wish list for Fri. 99 cent sale! It has a foot pocket! Wow! I don't know if the t.v snuggie has that but that is so cool to keep your feet warm! I can't wait to try it :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Simplicity 4076

photo
by: cathydavis...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 326365-1001

photo
by: julibjoy

Review
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Pattern Details
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Pattern Details