Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8548 (MISSES' COAT) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 789 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo
About Kellie R.starstar
TX USA
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/09 2:34 PM
Last Updated:10/12/09 6:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
smoody said...
You've done a beautiful job! Color, style and construction! It looks great on you!
10/12/09 3:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Kellie, consider this an invigorating and sensational jacket with flawless style! I adore this color and design on you. You are definitely going to get a lot of admiration WHENEVER you wear it. Thanks for a VERY helpful review!
10/12/09 3:15 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty! I love the color and fit on you.
10/12/09 3:29 PM
nglalala said...
WOW!!! I love your coat!! It's so beautiful!
10/12/09 4:25 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I love it. "i'm not sewing a vintage pattern so I WILL use vintage fabric!!" you look like a little red siren in your coat. marvelous.
10/12/09 4:54 PM
harmony758 said...
You are absolutely right about the ease of the sleeves! I haven't posted a review of this pattern yet, but I had the same issue. I ended up just leaving it bunchy.
10/12/09 5:11 PM
katharin said...
Your coat looks fabulous, very chic. I love it!
10/12/09 7:40 PM
Lori V said...
Very chic coat, I really like the style and the color combination, great job.
10/12/09 8:16 PM
Aunt Gail said...
wow -- This is SO Retro Vogue. And your added touch of the longer gloves -- you ROCK! Great details in the Review as well!
10/12/09 8:25 PM
ladybegood said...
Beautiful! Despite the difficulties, you were so right to use this fabric for this pattern... the result is very stricking. I love that you can rock the 60's just as well as the 40's and 50's!
10/12/09 8:47 PM
neverenoughtime said...
Kelly, I always enjoy seeing your projects. You keep me motivated. Your work is nice and you enthusiasm is fun. Thanks, Cindy
10/12/09 9:05 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow!! That is one beautiful jacket! The color and fabric are so perfect for this style and you have truly done a magnificent job!
10/12/09 10:40 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Great review. This pattern is definitely coming out of it's hiding place. You will be turning heads and if you don't everybody must be blind. Great ensemble.
10/12/09 10:46 PM
Jali said...
A stunning coat!
10/13/09 0:57 AM
jilly cooper said...
comprehensive review, I like all the details and the coat looks great
10/13/09 1:47 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW-WEE, you look SO PRETTY in this RED COAT! I LOVE it! And your HAIR is so pretty, too. :o) GREAT review, and the coat is JUST PERFECT.
10/13/09 2:54 AM
yorkshire lass said...
This looks stunning on you and was well worth the effort made with it. Red is such a cheerful colour for an autumn/winter jacket.
10/13/09 3:40 AM
ryan's mom said...
Love it! So chic and classy.
10/13/09 6:42 AM
Karine said...
Love the coat. The color you chose looks wonderful on you. The pattern is fun - something a bit different. Your topstitching looks flawless. In fact, the whole coat looks to be beautifully constructed. Nice job!
10/13/09 7:56 AM
carolynw said...
Uber classy - the color is so right for you. Great work
10/13/09 8:23 AM
Michelle L said...
Wonderful coat! I love the color, and fantastic workmanship!
10/13/09 9:19 AM
DorothyK said...
Kellie, this coat is fabulous. It has style, attitude, and pizazz. You look wonderful in it - perfect color, too. All your meticulous work paid off and, if there are imperfections, they're not noticeable to anyone but you. Congratulations on a job well done.
10/13/09 10:14 AM
frame said...
Gorgeous!
10/13/09 10:30 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you so much for all of your very kind comments! I shall wear this the next time I'm out, this evening. It's only to the boys' swimming lesson but it's a picture perfect autumn day today! Thanks so much!
10/13/09 10:38 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
How fun! I bet someone already has stopped you to ask "where did you get that coat?".
10/15/09 1:40 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
How fun! I bet someone already has stopped you to ask "where did you get that coat?".
10/15/09 1:40 AM
carolinablue said...
Great coat - i've never been brave enough to tackle a coat
10/15/09 7:42 AM
bettysparkles said...
I found the same thing with the ease on the sleeve, it took me 3 attempts and I'm not still happy with them at all. I am fairly sure it is a fault with the pattern not the choice of fabric. Also I thought the shoulder does not sit in place very well, probably because the shoulder seam is so short. I am going to use cut-down shoulder pads to try and fix this.
7/25/10 7:55 AM
bettysparkles said...
I found the same thing with the ease on the sleeve, it took me 3 attempts and I'm not still happy with them at all. I am fairly sure it is a fault with the pattern not the choice of fabric. Also I thought the shoulder does not sit in place very well, probably because the shoulder seam is so short. I am going to use cut-down shoulder pads to try and fix this.
7/25/10 7:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Dos de Tejas 5023
photo
Review by petra on 8/9/04
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 00015
photo
Review by cloudyhn on 11/10/10
Read Review

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us