SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 02-2009-12 ("Elegance" trousers)

5 more reviews
Viewed 423 times 
Reviewed by:ejvc
photo

 
 
About ejvcstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/7/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/09 6:09 AM
Last Updated:10/13/09 6:21 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
These are some fantastic pants, Elizabeth! The review is great too. Thanks.
10/13/09 7:06 AM
Tez said...
The pants look terrific. I love those pockets -- I hadn't even noticed them in the magazine.
10/13/09 8:53 AM
said...
Excellent review. The pants look so RTW and those pockets are wonderful despite the construction challenge.
10/13/09 9:35 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Mufffet said...
Very nice. All that work, and it paid off.
10/13/09 9:46 AM
sarahinlafayette said...
Great review, and I agree with your idea of the Ottobre figure, which I also do not share! Your pants look great on you, but thanks to your fair warning, I think I'll steer clear of this pattern.
10/13/09 11:14 AM
Miranda said...
Great job Elizabeth! Well done! They're fantastic.
10/13/09 11:24 PM
Geordie Girl said...
They were well worth the trouble. The pockets look great. Thanks for a great reveiw
10/14/09 10:11 AM
StashPanache said...
Pants look great, Elizabeth. Great review, too. All that effort on the pockets paid off. They look fantastic. Thanks to your review I am thinking I might have an Ottobre behind and might try a pair of pants from them?
10/14/09 9:43 PM
RuthieSews said...
Wonderfully detailed review. Very helpful, and I am sure I can apply lots of your fitting tips to the Ottobre patterns I have. P.S. Did I say how fab they look? No? They look FAB!!!
10/15/09 6:16 PM
PJH said...
Thanks for the great review. Your pants look really good, especially the pockets. Interesting thoughts on the 'Ottobre figure'. Thank you.
10/17/09 3:20 AM
ejvc said...
Thanks everyone for the comments and I'm glad you like the pockets. I am wearing these trousers all the time. Regarding the Ottobre figure -- everything is relative. Tall - I'm 5'6", and I think they design for 5'7" or 5'8" - I take 4cm off the bottom typically. Large-busted - let's say a generous c-cup rather than the big-4 b cup. Tummy - they just have a lot of styles where the waistline is disguised rather than highlighted. I don't know if their actual *block* has "tummy" built in. Flat-bottomed -- this I do think, but I have the opposite, so I think this might fit the ordinary figure rather well. I really like their patterns so I keep using them. Their cutting and construction are very well done.
10/22/09 5:08 AM
ejvc said...

10/22/09 5:08 AM
21wale said...
Thanks for the review - I've been considering these pants for a while. And after all that work, you got a really nice fit.
10/25/09 8:30 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I found your review extremely helpful. One of the best reviews I've read for a while. Thanks!
1/17/10 5:35 AM
o3b said...
You made a great review of this pattern! I am printing it out to store with the magazine.
5/14/10 3:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-122

photo
by: ManiMayor

Review
StyleArc Riva Raglan T-Shirt

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now