SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5255 (Misses' Tops)

8 more reviews
Viewed 2643 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 387 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/04 1:46 AM
Last Updated:2/22/04 11:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Ann, your top turned out great! Beautiful marriage of pattern and fabric.
2/6/04 7:14 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
That looks lovey! I'll be picking this one up the next time it goes on sale.
2/6/04 7:23 AM
Mollykat said...
Gotta say, this top is really much more flattering on you and Gigi than on the pre-teen model in the photo. Goes to show that mature female curves are hot! It does, of course look cute on the model - but what doesn't look cute on the ones they use in their photos....
2/6/04 7:48 AM
Teri said...
Ann, what a darling top. Good job!
2/6/04 7:57 AM
Jackie M said...
Ahhhh, Ann, I have this same fabric from EOS and I had planned to use it for this pattern! I guess great minds think alike. :) Now I'll need to stretch a little creatively and come up with something different for that fabric and pattern -- shouldn't be too hard, as I'm expecting a shipment from EOS next week ;) Great job with this pattern, by the way!
2/6/04 8:07 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Oooooo! Pretty! Must add this pattern to my wish list. I have a similar print RTW top (w/out the twist) and it always gets raves when I wear it. I know yours will, too!
2/6/04 9:16 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I always look forward to your reviews! This looks great as usual.
2/6/04 10:27 AM
PattiK said...
Great job! I considered this top but with the preteen model on the envelope put it back. Thanks to your review I'll pick it up next sales.
2/6/04 9:42 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Darling top! It does look ravishing on you & Gigi. :) Would inserting elastic into the neckline make the it "modest" to bend over in? I'd want to do that in a fabric with more body, so the elastic doesn't look too thick.
2/8/04 6:19 AM
Ann Smith said...
Katharine, I had to insert elastic in the back neckline as it had stretched out during construction. The front v doesn't hang loose but stays close to the body so I don't think elastic there will make it more modest. It is just a very low cut vee.
2/8/04 1:01 PM
Joyfullife said...
What a flattering top. I love it!
2/23/04 0:18 AM
jlg said...
Very becoming, Ann.
2/23/04 5:14 AM
Rebecca D said...
Ann, both views of this top look stunning on you. All your lovely fabric/pattern choices make me want a tour of your closet!
2/23/04 7:52 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I love this version, too! I appreciate the tip on adjusting the center front for extra length. I picked this pattern up last week and will have to try it now. Both of your versions look fabulous!
2/23/04 8:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful job matching the stripes in the sleeves with the bodice. Must agree with Mollykat that you look better in this top than the young model. I have a similar onionskin print in bluish hues. Thanks for re-posting your photo.
9/22/04 6:35 PM
kremmer said...
I have just ordered the pattern after having spotted the top on a fellow sewer. Just wanted to find out more while I'm waiting for it to arrive. Like the fabric that you have chosen! Updated 13 Dec. Guess what? Pattern is officially OOP but you can still get this from Simplicity in the US! SO happy.
12/10/04 1:42 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, three years later and this top still looks great! Nice job, Ann!
9/16/07 12:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 2312

photo
by: CaitlinH

Review
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: Sandi S

Review