Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1476 (Miyake coat pattern) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2561 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/04 12:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
This looks wonderful in both fabrics. This style is good for CA where we don't often need to bundle up for blizzards. Brown is such a good color on you.
2/6/04 12:55 PM
Mai S said...
I made this coat and yes, surprisingly it is easy to sew. Made mine out of polartec 100microfleece. Someday I will make a seond one but while the sleeves fit perfectly I think I would prefer a longer coat. I am 5'7" and the pattern came out a bit shorter than I thought it would; obviously the model on the pattern cover is short. Now that I have sewn it it will be easy to alter.
2/6/04 1:15 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Fabulous job, as always Ann!
2/6/04 1:15 PM
Linda E. said...
Ann Thanks for you review the coats are beautiful. I have made this coat once been thinking about making a couple for my daughters. I was thinking ablr fringing the edges instead of turing the edges over or maybe a blanket stitch on the edges. Thanks again for a great review and I love your coat both of them
2/6/04 2:35 PM
MaryBeth said...
This materials has been made into a silk purse! using your Miyaki pattern. I love the long scarf and didn't realize that the pattern has had such a long history. Lovely review. Thanks for taking the time you did to write it and photograph all the different looks. Very rich looking.
2/6/04 3:33 PM
Cattgirl said...
Is this a pattern you'd recommend for someone with less sewing experience to try? If so, are there any special challenges a beginner should be aware of? I'd love to take a run at this.
2/6/04 3:47 PM
Claudia Resch said...
Gorgeous as always. I'd never have recognized it as the Miyake. Great idea with the wrong side.
2/6/04 5:34 PM
Ann Smith said...
Cattgirl, I think the pattern is doable for someone with less experience. The main challenge, as with any Miyake pattern, is that the pattern pieces are unfamiliar shapes and it is a little puzzling to figure out how it works. This one only has 2 main pieces, the main body with collar, and the sleeve/yoke. The body is cut on the fold so you have one long piece of fabric to deal with. The other main thing to do is turning and topstitching the edges with mitered corners. Not hard.
2/6/04 7:35 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks great on you. You can definitely pull this off well. Thanks for the review. You are very inspiring.
2/6/04 7:49 PM
Skye said...
Ann your coat looks really great I have looked at this pattern recently but thought I was too short to cary it off I am 5'3" so a smigeon taller than you so I will give thhis a go . Is it a bit like jacket vogue 7649?
2/7/04 0:22 AM
Ann Smith said...
Skye, I'm not familiar with Vogue 7649 and it doesn't seem to be current. Can you describe it? It is probably not similar as the Miyake patterns are quite unique.
2/7/04 1:58 AM
drsue said...
What a fun coat! Great use of stash fabric, I must say.
2/7/04 10:16 AM
Skye said...
sorry Anne wrong number vogue 7640 and I see that we have both made it :) I am off to buy this pattern today half price sale on in our local spotlight
2/7/04 5:46 PM
Ann Smith said...
Skye, the Vogue 7640 that we have both made (love that one, too) is much more fitted across the back and has normal set in sleeves. The drape falls just down the front. The Miyake has lots more fabric in it (be careful your fabric isn't heavy or the coat is overwhelming to wear), is full all around with the drape front continuing into the collar and deep sleeves. Quite different really.
2/8/04 2:44 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Ann, this looks so great on you! I tried this once and it became a wadder. I called it my Mama Cass coat and DH said it looked like I belonged on the streets of NY selling hot watches and such. Glad it worked for you. Maybe my fabric was too stiff. I think it needs something very drapey.
2/8/04 12:51 PM
Ann Smith said...
Rennie, definitely very drapey fabric. Also, be sure the fabric isn't heavy because you will be wearing the entire 5 yards!
2/8/04 12:58 PM
Skymom said...
This more than makes up for the Koos dress! Hooray for this Miyake classic. I'm still looking for the ideal lightweight fabric that drapes and has a nice right and wrong side. And for my kids to be able to get in and out of the car independently...can't see wearing this will installing babes into car seats.
2/9/04 11:56 AM
marigold said...
Beautiful, Ann!
2/9/04 4:09 PM
Elisabetha said...
Ann, Thank you so much for this review; I've had this pattern for about 15 years but I've become bigger than the largest size in the pattern and have no idea where to make it bigger; and ideas please?
8/19/04 6:00 AM
Ann Smith said...
This coat is very oversized. I believe the different pattern sizes are all the same as in One Size Fits All. I think it wil fit anyone with no alterations. If your arms are very long the sleeves may be 3/4 length but that will look ok.
8/20/04 9:46 AM
Elisabetha said...
Thanks Ann; at last this pattern will be used; all I need to do is find the appropriate fabric; going to Paris soon so hope I'll find it there. Once again thanks
8/23/04 9:33 AM
sew-wannabe said...
Ann, Thanks for the very helpful review. I just purchased this pattern on e-bay, and can't wait to get going. I'm still looking for fabric-thinking about a black wool crepe or knit. I have read all your reviews, and enjoyed them very much. We seem to have similar tastes in patterns. Your coat looks great on you! Thanks again.
7/20/05 8:56 PM
mmemagpie said...
Ann, you used the fabric to great effect here, and seeing how it worked gives me some more ideas about what type of weave to look for. Just a follow up to my comment about V7746, you may want to know that I can only see your first photo--the overall front view that appears above. None of the details came up when I clicked on them. Maybe this is a problem with my computer. Thanks. Susan
1/18/09 1:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-23 Rousku
photo
Review by jorth on 7/30/13
Read Review

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light Black
PerfectFuse Light Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3775
photo
Review by Ripple Dan... on 12/20/09
Read Review

Burda 9471 Pattern
Burda 9471 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6842 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6842 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us