SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8486 (slip)

1 more reviews
Viewed 349 times 
Reviewed by:room2ndfloor
photo

 
 
About room2ndfloorstar
WA USA
Member since: 8/26/08
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/15/09 9:35 PM
Last Updated:4/6/10 9:09 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"the royal English monobosom" :o !! And this looks like a (finally) lovely plus-sized lingerie pattern, eh...
4/7/10 9:26 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I'd definitely try the Folkwear intimacies if I were you. Something cut on the bias needs to be cut wider than usual since as it'll 'hang out' it'll get longer and thinner. Mind you, I don't think polyester is going to do much in terms of good bias behavior, so this is something that might only become a problem when you try to switch to silk. Although the polyester might get static and the whole thing might creep up, corkscrewing or not :-). Hey, it's worth trying, there isn't enough vintage silk to go around..
10/19/09 5:11 AM
marec said...
"...the dreaded corkscrew effect." Interesting and I hope this all works out for you. I have been mulling over bias placement while making hats and your review is really helpful. Good luck.
10/16/09 7:11 PM
RMJ said...
Folkwear has a pattern for a bias cut slip (# 219, Intimacies) if you want to try a pattern designed for bias.
10/16/09 4:44 PM
Nancywin said...
very interesting. I think you were wise to try a muslin of this first since working with bias can be so tricky. Your link to "bias cut disaster" is not working.
10/16/09 10:14 AM
Nancywin said...
very interesting. I think you were wise to try a muslin of this first since working with bias can be so tricky. Your link to "bias cut disaster" is not working.
10/16/09 9:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Other Gertie\'s Portrait Blouse

photo
by: ShanniLove...

Review
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now