SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8486 (slip)

1 more reviews
Viewed 350 times 
Reviewed by:room2ndfloor
photo

 
 
About room2ndfloorstar
WA USA
Member since: 8/26/08
Reviews: 36 (patterns: 32)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/15/09 9:35 PM
Last Updated:4/6/10 9:09 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said... (4/7/10 9:26 AM) Reply
"the royal English monobosom" :o !! And this looks like a (finally) lovely plus-sized lingerie pattern, eh...
fuzzygalore said... (10/19/09 5:11 AM) Reply
I'd definitely try the Folkwear intimacies if I were you. Something cut on the bias needs to be cut wider than usual since as it'll 'hang out' it'll get longer and thinner. Mind you, I don't think polyester is going to do much in terms of good bias behavior, so this is something that might only become a problem when you try to switch to silk. Although the polyester might get static and the whole thing might creep up, corkscrewing or not :-). Hey, it's worth trying, there isn't enough vintage silk to go around..
marec said... (10/16/09 7:11 PM) Reply
"...the dreaded corkscrew effect." Interesting and I hope this all works out for you. I have been mulling over bias placement while making hats and your review is really helpful. Good luck.
RMJ said... (10/16/09 4:44 PM) Reply
Folkwear has a pattern for a bias cut slip (# 219, Intimacies) if you want to try a pattern designed for bias.
Nancywin said... (10/16/09 10:14 AM) Reply
very interesting. I think you were wise to try a muslin of this first since working with bias can be so tricky. Your link to "bias cut disaster" is not working.
Nancywin said... (10/16/09 9:56 AM) Reply
very interesting. I think you were wise to try a muslin of this first since working with bias can be so tricky. Your link to "bias cut disaster" is not working.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick SB300

photo
by: susandf

Review
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Pattern Details