Online Sewing Class: Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8486 (slip)

1 more reviews
Viewed 352 times 
Reviewed by:room2ndfloor
photo

 
 
About room2ndfloorstar
WA USA
Member since: 8/26/08
Reviews: 36 (patterns: 32)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/15/09 9:35 PM
Last Updated:4/6/10 9:09 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew


Quality Fashion Fabrics
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Rhonda in Montreal said... (4/7/10 9:26 AM) Reply
"the royal English monobosom" :o !! And this looks like a (finally) lovely plus-sized lingerie pattern, eh...
fuzzygalore said... (10/19/09 5:11 AM) Reply
I'd definitely try the Folkwear intimacies if I were you. Something cut on the bias needs to be cut wider than usual since as it'll 'hang out' it'll get longer and thinner. Mind you, I don't think polyester is going to do much in terms of good bias behavior, so this is something that might only become a problem when you try to switch to silk. Although the polyester might get static and the whole thing might creep up, corkscrewing or not :-). Hey, it's worth trying, there isn't enough vintage silk to go around..
marec said... (10/16/09 7:11 PM) Reply
"...the dreaded corkscrew effect." Interesting and I hope this all works out for you. I have been mulling over bias placement while making hats and your review is really helpful. Good luck.
RMJ said... (10/16/09 4:44 PM) Reply
Folkwear has a pattern for a bias cut slip (# 219, Intimacies) if you want to try a pattern designed for bias.
Nancywin said... (10/16/09 10:14 AM) Reply
very interesting. I think you were wise to try a muslin of this first since working with bias can be so tricky. Your link to "bias cut disaster" is not working.
Nancywin said... (10/16/09 9:56 AM) Reply
very interesting. I think you were wise to try a muslin of this first since working with bias can be so tricky. Your link to "bias cut disaster" is not working.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beyond the BoatNeck
Beyond the BoatNeck

Class Details

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Pattern Details