SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6383 (Western Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 346 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/09 10:03 AM
Last Updated:10/17/09 10:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riesie said...
I am so impressed with the workmanship you show on this shirt - job VERY well done! Love the bias on the yoke and cuffs, too.
10/17/09 10:15 AM
Christas said...
Excellent review & very nice looking shirt!
10/17/09 10:43 AM
Tiner W said...
What a beautiful shirt! I love the play on the bias and the vintage buttons. And thank you for showing the tiny, tiny bit of raw edge--I was starting to feel like such a slob.
10/17/09 10:44 AM
Gloria W said...
I absolutely love your photo journals on your projects. I look forward to each new one. This shirt is just beautiful. I wish I had the nerve to tackle a french seam in an armscye.
10/17/09 11:15 AM
Gloria W said...
Oops! Duplicate
10/17/09 11:15 AM
mastdenman said...
Nice shirt. I haven't seen a western shirt that was this nice in a long long time.
10/17/09 11:16 AM
Rhoda K said...
What a beautiful job on this shirt! So professional and looks good on you.
10/17/09 11:18 AM
Aixoise said...
Plaid overload - LOL. It's a beautiful shirt. Your topstitching skills ought to win a prize. Surely you can upgrade your sewing level to Very Skilled Intermediate.
10/17/09 1:19 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great review of a fun and impeccably made shirt! I adore your versions of vintage patterns!
10/17/09 1:24 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Gorgeous. Your attention to detail really comes through in the finished shirt. You belong on the Sartorialist!
10/17/09 3:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
An excellent job. Well done. You're right about trimming the french seam. Having threads peeping out after the first stitching is a common problem, so it's always wise to check and trim before turning and stitching again.
10/17/09 4:07 PM
Lynnelle said...
The shirt goes well with the pistachio bench, too. Love the shirt and photo commentary. Well done!
10/17/09 5:21 PM
Sewing Joe said...
Great googly moogly! Your topstitching is perfect. I'm wondering if there are two plackets since it was a unisex shirt--so there'd be a placket on either side you chose to put the buttons.
10/17/09 5:59 PM
RLL said...
You are so amusing. I love your commentary to your photos. # 11 cracked me up, among others. I love the bias pieces too, great way to really draw interest to the plaid. I was wondering when you were going to start sewing for someone else (Michael) but, there is always next time! Excellent shirt.
10/17/09 8:04 PM
Karendee said...
Wonderful shirt, great fabric and excellent workmanship. You are very impressive with your work.
10/17/09 8:42 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Guys, you rock. OMG, I had never even heard of the Sartorialist but now I can see it's going to be a new obsession. I promise the next thing I sew will be for Michael...or the one after that for sure; I'm started to feel the heat!
10/17/09 8:48 PM
carolynw said...
Another terrific review and I just love the shirt - great work with the plaid. Poor Michael - you'll just have to do it again Peter!!
10/17/09 10:53 PM
Michelle L said...
Great work! You put together such fantastic reviews.
10/17/09 11:07 PM
fourkid said...
Love the shirt!
10/18/09 3:11 AM
donna mel said...
is 1978 vintage?! i'm getting OLD. love your shirt.
10/18/09 7:34 AM
Kemish said...
Great review. Your picasa diary is very entertaining as are your reviews (and informative, too). But wait! No way, can you remember, That Girl! You must have seen those shows in re-runs!
10/18/09 11:41 AM
Nancy Anne said...
As always, a very well-written and informative review, as well as extremely well-executed shirt. Cracks me up you call it "busy", with the floral prints you've made recently. :-)
10/18/09 2:57 PM
Woolygal said...
Yea Peter - the shirt is well done.
10/18/09 4:54 PM
SandraB said...
Gorgeous shirt Peter. Each shirt that you make is better than the last one. I love looking at your photos. Quite the comedian aren't you?
10/18/09 7:26 PM
BlossomKyle said...
AMAZING!!
10/19/09 0:37 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your shirt looks great. Very professional.
10/19/09 3:30 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, guys. I must confess here that after taking a closer look at the shirt yesterday on a hanger, I suddenly noticed I had put the buttons and buttonholes on the cuffs backwards! I had to stitch up the buttonholes, remove the buttons, and re-do/re-attach them on the correct side. If you look at the photos you can actually see that they're backwards. Oh well! And sadly, I do believe 1978 is currently considered vintage...but at least it's not antique!
10/20/09 6:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2012-08

photo
by: dolcevita

Review
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-118

photo
by: Sigrid.

Review