SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Threads Magazine> 09-1995 (Smoke Ring Scarf)

Viewed 456 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 250 (patterns: 231)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 92 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/09 11:22 PM
Last Updated:10/17/09 11:23 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Boho Banjo art to wear


pdf sewing patterns
Web site

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Doris Stewart said... (5/30/12 11:44 AM) Reply
I am intrigued - love the scarf.
Annika said... (10/23/09 4:48 PM) Reply
Oh yeah! I made a slew of these out of silk charmeuse several years ago. I love this pattern! Great job!
Lisa Laree said... (10/19/09 8:50 AM) Reply
Beth...if it helps, the original pattern (1/2 of what I used) measures 22 inches along the edge that will be on the bias fold, and 12 inches along the edge that is perpendicular to it. That includes a 1/2" seam allowance along the shorter side so that the scarf can be made from two fabrics; that seam will be along the top, under the chin. If you use all one fabric, make a second pattern and overlap them on that edge to eliminate the seam allowance and the need to place that edge on another bias fold. (Hope that makes sense...) Hopefully the photo of the pattern will help!
DoggyGirl said... (10/19/09 0:37 AM) Reply
I love this! I'm going to try and figure out how to make it using your review as a guide. What a great wardrobe accessory!
Kellie R. said... (10/18/09 9:30 PM) Reply
Very pretty - I love the fabric and agree that it's very striking. Nice job.
marec said... (10/18/09 3:13 PM) Reply
Wonderful scarf...it reminds me a little of old time cowboy scarves (this is a compliment!). Nice job and great colors.
moushka said... (10/18/09 9:53 AM) Reply
Very pretty scarf. I will dig out the old issue and give it a try as scarves that stay in place are such a treat. Thanks for the review.
marycyn said... (10/18/09 9:02 AM) Reply
Your scarf looks great . Wonderful fabric choice. I made several of these the yr. the pattern came out and they worked perfectly out of fleece also.
marycyn said... (10/18/09 9:01 AM) Reply
Your scarf looks great . Wonderful fabric choice. I made several of these the yr. the pattern came out and they worked perfectly out of fleece also.
Lisa Laree said... (10/18/09 8:27 AM) Reply
No...the doubled pattern I used is kind of an odd triangle, with of the hypotenuse-corners scooped out a bit. It's cut with the long edge on a bias fold. It's roughly diamond shaped once its cut out, I'll post a photo of the pattern piece later today.
petro said... (10/18/09 4:14 AM) Reply
Looks good, I don't have the threads issue, is the scarf made in a circle with an offset space for slipping over the head?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 5977

photo
by: StephiLuna

Review
Alabama Chanin Alabama Chanin Tee

photo
by: beanchor

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns The Perfect T Shirt Pattern

Pamela's Patterns The Perfect T Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details