SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Threads Magazine> 09-1995 (Smoke Ring Scarf)

Viewed 442 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/09 11:22 PM
Last Updated:10/17/09 11:23 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Looks good, I don't have the threads issue, is the scarf made in a circle with an offset space for slipping over the head?
10/18/09 4:14 AM
Lisa Laree said...
No...the doubled pattern I used is kind of an odd triangle, with of the hypotenuse-corners scooped out a bit. It's cut with the long edge on a bias fold. It's roughly diamond shaped once its cut out, I'll post a photo of the pattern piece later today.
10/18/09 8:27 AM
marycyn said...
Your scarf looks great . Wonderful fabric choice. I made several of these the yr. the pattern came out and they worked perfectly out of fleece also.
10/18/09 9:01 AM
marycyn said...
Your scarf looks great . Wonderful fabric choice. I made several of these the yr. the pattern came out and they worked perfectly out of fleece also.
10/18/09 9:02 AM
moushka said...
Very pretty scarf. I will dig out the old issue and give it a try as scarves that stay in place are such a treat. Thanks for the review.
10/18/09 9:53 AM
marec said...
Wonderful scarf...it reminds me a little of old time cowboy scarves (this is a compliment!). Nice job and great colors.
10/18/09 3:13 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very pretty - I love the fabric and agree that it's very striking. Nice job.
10/18/09 9:30 PM
DoggyGirl said...
I love this! I'm going to try and figure out how to make it using your review as a guide. What a great wardrobe accessory!
10/19/09 0:37 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Beth...if it helps, the original pattern (1/2 of what I used) measures 22 inches along the edge that will be on the bias fold, and 12 inches along the edge that is perpendicular to it. That includes a 1/2" seam allowance along the shorter side so that the scarf can be made from two fabrics; that seam will be along the top, under the chin. If you use all one fabric, make a second pattern and overlap them on that edge to eliminate the seam allowance and the need to place that edge on another bias fold. (Hope that makes sense...) Hopefully the photo of the pattern will help!
10/19/09 8:50 AM
Annika said...
Oh yeah! I made a slew of these out of silk charmeuse several years ago. I love this pattern! Great job!
10/23/09 4:48 PM
Doris Stewart said...
I am intrigued - love the scarf.
5/30/12 11:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now