Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5981 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 804 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:quixoticpixels
photo
About quixoticpixelsstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/2/08
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/09 9:31 PM
Last Updated:11/1/09 9:59 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew obsessed said...
When I saw this picture in the review window I thought it was really cute! Even after you point out the Barnum and Bailey features I still think it's cute! Honestly....On the other hand now, the facing issue, boy I remember that from a fleece jacket I made hubby. Here is what I finally did: I trimmed the facing down to only what was absolutely necessary to hold the zipper. I used Collins wonder tape to hold the facing flat to the garment while I topstitched it down. I also found that using a fusible tricot interfacing (I use Palmer/Pletsch Perfect Fuse Sheer on all my fleece) on the facing pieces made them a little more responsive. I hope you post a finished picture because I think this one is a keeper...............
10/21/09 4:26 PM
digs57 said...
I'm with you on the topstitching of the front edges & hem down, just as you did the collar. Also, tack the facings' side edges to the inside of the jacket, catching just a small amount of the inner fleece, so it'll be invisible from the outside. I'm sure that'll sew it into submission!
10/21/09 4:34 PM
marec said...
That is NOT a clown suit...it's cute! Of course, it would look funny using fleece with big BIG dots. Fleece is great to sew with...I only use facings where absolutely necessary. I can't wait to see this when it is done.
10/21/09 5:07 PM
moonchild61 said...
Your jacket is such a pretty fall color; I just love it! I'll be watching for the finished product.
10/21/09 8:46 PM
Nata said...
It does not look like clown suit at all. It's cute. I would scale down th sleeve width a lot. I think it will look nice if you make them narrower and leave ungathered at the bottom. Make sure to keep the flared shape though. I also think they will look good gathered if you take out some fullness. I think it needs a couple of inches off. Your collar does not look like the picture. It looks like the SAs at the neck. I think once you finish it it'll look good because you will not have that extra ruffle on the jacket. I am not sure what facing you are talking about. It looks like raw edges. Perhaps it's not the most recent picture. If you are not happy with facing I suggest to rip it loose (sorry), make 2 rows of topstitching as narrow as the style allows, and trim it off. To hold the collar down, trim the SA very close to neckline, topstich facing 3/8" from neck seam, and trim it off. Fleece does not ravel and you can trim it off very close to stitch line.
10/21/09 8:54 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Yes, Nata, that is the seam allowance that's peeking out there. I should have updated the photo before uploading it here :) I have already chopped off some of the extra width in the sleeve. I didn't keep the flared shape, but probably should have, just to keep the style balanced. Oh well, live and learn! Thanks for the suggestions, everyone!
10/21/09 10:15 PM
Em's Summer said...
Not a clown outfit at all!!! It's a great anorak and I love it!!!
10/22/09 0:35 AM
Athene said...
I love your jacket. This is a pattern I liked so much I purchased it as soon as it came out.
10/22/09 0:57 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
I like it a lot. But that said I agree that it has TOO much going on. I think you are right that straightening out the sleeves is the way to go. I think a bell sleeve would be nice with no elastic.
10/22/09 9:49 AM
LollyVee said...
OOOH I had this one in my wishlist. Now you've got me running scared!
10/22/09 3:01 PM
cindyann said...
Ok, I just bought this today so I'm thankful for your review. I think your jacket looks very cute but I'm not sure I selected appropriate fabric for my coat. It's a little stiff so I might save it for another pattern. Thanks for the informative review.
10/22/09 3:10 PM
CCQ said...
I think it looks quite cute! I just bought the pattern and some green fabric to try it out.
10/24/09 8:46 PM
nglalala said...
I think the jacket is cute, too. The picture is gorgeous! I love the color of the leaves.
11/1/09 10:01 PM
sew obsessed said...
What a great save! I love it! You did a great job redesigning the jacket to suit you.
11/1/09 10:17 PM
MaryDB said...
Well good for you - it's turned into a really darling jacket. Nice work.
11/2/09 0:27 AM
Jali said...
This is definitely an eye-catcher in a good way. The colour is gorgeous and you wear it nicely with the turtle-neck. I can't imagine my sewing to be half as good as yours in fleece.
11/2/09 0:44 AM
marec said...
Oh, it turned out perfectly, with all the changes you made. Awesome jacket and great colors on you.
11/2/09 1:32 AM
Gold said...
Cute jacket! Somehow I miss this pattern. I will be adding it to my list. Very cute on you.
11/2/09 7:58 AM
cindyann said...
Your coat looks adorable. Thanks for the review. I have this one in the stash!
11/2/09 8:07 AM
Christas said...
Very cute jacket! Your sleeve alterations are perfect to make this a nice, stylish jacket.
11/2/09 8:24 AM
Barbara V said...
You look great in it and happy too, as you should be with such a cute jacket! Your changes and alterations made it a great success.
11/2/09 11:11 AM
Sandi S said...
looks cute! I made this pattern in a lightweight reversible printed quilted fabric and have worn in a bit already. It is definitely generous on the sizing, but the choice of fabric will certainly impact the amount of sophistication vs. circus-tification that it has. That being said - I like your fabric choice a lot!
11/2/09 6:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
This is really a gorgeous jacket!
11/2/09 8:45 PM
jnamcd said...
Saw this on your blog --really cute jacket!!
11/3/09 2:03 PM
Batik said...
Amazing color on you - would love to see a jacket or coat in a beautiful orange wool - the pattern is so-so but you make it look fantastic!
11/16/09 10:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-119
photo
Review by rabitgrl on 2/20/13
Read Review

Butterick 5322 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5322 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3146 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3146 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1426
photo
Review by KWNightwin... on 4/21/14
Read Review

Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Katy Bags
Katy Bags

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us