SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5981 

3 more reviews
Viewed 804 times 
Reviewed by:quixoticpixels
photo

 
 
About quixoticpixelsstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/2/08
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/09 9:31 PM
Last Updated:11/1/09 9:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew obsessed said...
When I saw this picture in the review window I thought it was really cute! Even after you point out the Barnum and Bailey features I still think it's cute! Honestly....On the other hand now, the facing issue, boy I remember that from a fleece jacket I made hubby. Here is what I finally did: I trimmed the facing down to only what was absolutely necessary to hold the zipper. I used Collins wonder tape to hold the facing flat to the garment while I topstitched it down. I also found that using a fusible tricot interfacing (I use Palmer/Pletsch Perfect Fuse Sheer on all my fleece) on the facing pieces made them a little more responsive. I hope you post a finished picture because I think this one is a keeper...............
10/21/09 4:26 PM
digs57 said...
I'm with you on the topstitching of the front edges & hem down, just as you did the collar. Also, tack the facings' side edges to the inside of the jacket, catching just a small amount of the inner fleece, so it'll be invisible from the outside. I'm sure that'll sew it into submission!
10/21/09 4:34 PM
marec said...
That is NOT a clown suit...it's cute! Of course, it would look funny using fleece with big BIG dots. Fleece is great to sew with...I only use facings where absolutely necessary. I can't wait to see this when it is done.
10/21/09 5:07 PM
moonchild61 said...
Your jacket is such a pretty fall color; I just love it! I'll be watching for the finished product.
10/21/09 8:46 PM
Nata said...
It does not look like clown suit at all. It's cute. I would scale down th sleeve width a lot. I think it will look nice if you make them narrower and leave ungathered at the bottom. Make sure to keep the flared shape though. I also think they will look good gathered if you take out some fullness. I think it needs a couple of inches off. Your collar does not look like the picture. It looks like the SAs at the neck. I think once you finish it it'll look good because you will not have that extra ruffle on the jacket. I am not sure what facing you are talking about. It looks like raw edges. Perhaps it's not the most recent picture. If you are not happy with facing I suggest to rip it loose (sorry), make 2 rows of topstitching as narrow as the style allows, and trim it off. To hold the collar down, trim the SA very close to neckline, topstich facing 3/8" from neck seam, and trim it off. Fleece does not ravel and you can trim it off very close to stitch line.
10/21/09 8:54 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Yes, Nata, that is the seam allowance that's peeking out there. I should have updated the photo before uploading it here :) I have already chopped off some of the extra width in the sleeve. I didn't keep the flared shape, but probably should have, just to keep the style balanced. Oh well, live and learn! Thanks for the suggestions, everyone!
10/21/09 10:15 PM
Em's Summer said...
Not a clown outfit at all!!! It's a great anorak and I love it!!!
10/22/09 0:35 AM
Athene said...
I love your jacket. This is a pattern I liked so much I purchased it as soon as it came out.
10/22/09 0:57 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
I like it a lot. But that said I agree that it has TOO much going on. I think you are right that straightening out the sleeves is the way to go. I think a bell sleeve would be nice with no elastic.
10/22/09 9:49 AM
LollyVee said...
OOOH I had this one in my wishlist. Now you've got me running scared!
10/22/09 3:01 PM
cindyann said...
Ok, I just bought this today so I'm thankful for your review. I think your jacket looks very cute but I'm not sure I selected appropriate fabric for my coat. It's a little stiff so I might save it for another pattern. Thanks for the informative review.
10/22/09 3:10 PM
CCQ said...
I think it looks quite cute! I just bought the pattern and some green fabric to try it out.
10/24/09 8:46 PM
nglalala said...
I think the jacket is cute, too. The picture is gorgeous! I love the color of the leaves.
11/1/09 10:01 PM
sew obsessed said...
What a great save! I love it! You did a great job redesigning the jacket to suit you.
11/1/09 10:17 PM
MaryDB said...
Well good for you - it's turned into a really darling jacket. Nice work.
11/2/09 0:27 AM
Jali said...
This is definitely an eye-catcher in a good way. The colour is gorgeous and you wear it nicely with the turtle-neck. I can't imagine my sewing to be half as good as yours in fleece.
11/2/09 0:44 AM
marec said...
Oh, it turned out perfectly, with all the changes you made. Awesome jacket and great colors on you.
11/2/09 1:32 AM
Gold said...
Cute jacket! Somehow I miss this pattern. I will be adding it to my list. Very cute on you.
11/2/09 7:58 AM
cindyann said...
Your coat looks adorable. Thanks for the review. I have this one in the stash!
11/2/09 8:07 AM
Christas said...
Very cute jacket! Your sleeve alterations are perfect to make this a nice, stylish jacket.
11/2/09 8:24 AM
Barbara V said...
You look great in it and happy too, as you should be with such a cute jacket! Your changes and alterations made it a great success.
11/2/09 11:11 AM
Sandi S said...
looks cute! I made this pattern in a lightweight reversible printed quilted fabric and have worn in a bit already. It is definitely generous on the sizing, but the choice of fabric will certainly impact the amount of sophistication vs. circus-tification that it has. That being said - I like your fabric choice a lot!
11/2/09 6:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
This is really a gorgeous jacket!
11/2/09 8:45 PM
jnamcd said...
Saw this on your blog --really cute jacket!!
11/3/09 2:03 PM
Batik said...
Amazing color on you - would love to see a jacket or coat in a beautiful orange wool - the pattern is so-so but you make it look fantastic!
11/16/09 10:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
Cutting Line Designs 50112

photo
by: blue moone...

Review