SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1071 (Weekender Sunshine Tops)

35 more reviews
Viewed 1756 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 391 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/09 10:24 PM
Last Updated:10/21/09 10:49 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 54 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jilly cooper said...
Beautiful top, looks great and I agree - very flattering:)
10/21/09 10:32 PM
Twinset said...
Beautiful and flattering! Isn't it great that you have a top you're in love with? I too have always admired this pattern after having seen so many beautiful versions here on PR; maybe I should do like you and make it!
10/21/09 10:35 PM
Riesie said...
Just gorgeous. You have such a good eye for what looks great on you!
10/21/09 10:38 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Oh Debbie I love this. Great top. And you didn't do a muslin.
10/21/09 10:39 PM
sew obsessed said...
Debbie this top looks great on you! I was sitting on the fence with this pattern but now I have to have it! I love the Palmer/Pletsch interfacings too. Especially the light and the sheer for knits. Thanks for the review.
10/21/09 10:41 PM
Tailypo said...
I'm with littlejazzbird -- I think you have brought me to the tipping point when it comes to this pattern, I'm going to have to make it mine! Great looking top, I love it with the matching belt at "short tunic" length.
10/21/09 10:44 PM
sewing for fun said...
Great top Debbie! Love the print. I tried this pattern as size smaller than my measurements, made it even smaller in the neckline band, but still found it to be humongous on me... I love the pattern style, but not sure I can make it work for me without re-drafting the whole thing.
10/21/09 10:57 PM
AnitaJ said...
Very flattering top! It's an 80's look I'm happy to repeat too.
10/21/09 10:57 PM
michellep74 said...
I love this in a print! I'm wearing one of my versions of this same top right now. Isn't this a great pattern?
10/21/09 11:08 PM
Raye Ann said...
this looks terrific on you! i always love your choice of knits. does the interfaced knit still stretch the the Palmer/Pletsch Light? I tried a generic fusible for knit and could tell from a sample facing that it was going to separate and ripple under the knit facing with regular wear.
10/21/09 11:23 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Love it!!
10/21/09 11:34 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice and looks lovely on you.
10/21/09 11:50 PM
SueV said...
Isn't this a great top! I've made it at least 10 times, and will make it at least 10 more. the gather placement is so flattering
10/22/09 0:08 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I think it looks great too. The belt is a nice touch. Did you give it your signature shaped hemline?
10/22/09 1:21 AM
michalklimer said...
it is such a pretty top!
10/22/09 1:23 AM
o3b said...
Very pretty top! I like the belted look, too.
10/22/09 2:19 AM
Lori V said...
Your top looks fantastic on you.
10/22/09 3:21 AM
sewsue said...
I too have recently made up 2 versions of this pattern and I LOVE LOVE it too! I made mine straight out of the envelope and was very pleased wiht the fit for me, NO FBA needed! Yours looks like a great fit too.
10/22/09 3:44 AM
Rebecca D said...
Looks great on you. I love this pattern.
10/22/09 6:31 AM
eugenia123 said...
Great top, lovely shape and beautiful fabric.
10/22/09 7:08 AM
Lisette said...
Looks great on you!
10/22/09 7:21 AM
Woolygal said...
You're right - make it 100 times.
10/22/09 7:32 AM
Rustybobn said...
Love that! It looks great on you.
10/22/09 8:23 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Raye Ann, No, P/P Light is a woven interfacing and it curbs the stretch of a knit.
10/22/09 8:26 AM
Nancy K said...
You can see why this has been my favorite top and I struggle with my urge to make it yet again! Maybe I'll make it in the tunic version with a belt. It looks great on you and I love your construction changes. If I do succumb and make it again I'll incorporate your changes. I too add deeper hems, which I much prefer in knits. It is a very flattering top.
10/22/09 8:28 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I have sworn off buying patterns as I have not been sewing but this is so nice and your method of fitting sounds so good, I will have to buy this pattern. I buy anything you recommend so why stop now. Your top is just beautiful.
10/22/09 8:56 AM
Andreahg said...
Very cute!
10/22/09 9:08 AM
emelle said...
I love it too...on you and on me!
10/22/09 9:11 AM
idesign said...
As always, you give such helpful tips with your reviews. Thanks Deb!
10/22/09 9:38 AM
Sallygirl said...
That came out perfect, Debbie! I love the fabric choices you make. I have 4 Hot Patterns on order, but they seem to be taking their sweet time to get to m. :(
10/22/09 9:38 AM
Mufffet said...
What a nice top. Thanks for a totally complete review of this pattern. I didn't know they had such a size range in Hot Patterns. Thanks again.
10/22/09 9:57 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Isn't it nice to find a top that is quick, easy and cute all in one package! Great tee Debbie.
10/22/09 10:29 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
This is an awesome pattern, huh? I love yours! The white one I made is really starting to show wear (i.e. spaghetti sauce stains) so I've got to make another! LOL!
10/22/09 10:33 AM
sissycat said...
Awesome...fabric, fit & personal choice!!
10/22/09 11:09 AM
Red Curtain said...
Cutie! Looks great on you. Your review was helpful in how you described adjusting the pattern fit.
10/22/09 2:27 PM
LollyVee said...
WOW, now that's a perfect fitting top. Love the print. These "Hot Patterns" are just that HOT! I need to get my hands on one to try! Thanks for the great review!
10/22/09 3:11 PM
becca a said...
What a beautiful top. I like the belted look too. Thank you for the great review. I think I will have to get this pattern.
10/22/09 5:07 PM
Catbird said...
You've really found a winner here! I have this pattern but haven't yet conquered the fit issues that I had with it. You did a spectacular job and have created a very flattering top. It inspires me to have another go at mine. Thank you for the great review!
10/22/09 7:56 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks, Debbie. I'll join the chorus in praise of this Awesome review... and pattern. I really like this top on you -- And no FBA is a big plus. I might NEED this pattern.
10/22/09 11:04 PM
pammieh said...
Great top on you!! Very hip!
10/23/09 1:20 AM
Lisa p said...
Very nice Debbie, the print is so lovely on you . Thanks for the very indepth review .
10/23/09 2:29 PM
fourkid said...
Very, very nice - I have yet to sew a HP - you have sold me on this one.
10/23/09 11:21 PM
Annette1 said...
This top has the PERFECT amount of ease. It's oh-so-chic and looks SO NICE on you, both belted and unbelted!
10/24/09 4:24 AM
marciae said...
Like you I've been resisting as I've had problems with HP - but might rethink this pattern. Great review
10/25/09 2:22 PM
OP Gal said...
I just got around to reading this review. The no FBA part pushed me off the fence and I'm definitely buying this pattern. I've been thinking about ordering it for awhile. This is a very flattering top. I can see why you'll be making 200 of them. Thanks for all the details in the review.
11/2/09 6:32 PM
canei said...
nice
12/29/09 8:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Storm Mountain Designs 14

photo
by: Seamingly ...

Review
Kwik Sew 3896

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review

Pattern

A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now