SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> PTN-018 (Star Trek Starfleet Officer)

7 more reviews
Viewed 595 times 
Reviewed by:BenaeQuee
photo

 
 
About BenaeQueestar
Member since: 3/9/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/22/09 10:53 AM
Last Updated:9/21/13 7:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
This looks like a review I saw a while back. Did you update this from an earlier review? It looks like it turned out well despite the size issues.
10/22/09 11:49 AM
Andreahg said...
Wow! I can't believe it called for 6yrds on such a small dress. Your end result looks amazing, clearly worth all the effort!
10/22/09 11:56 AM
BenaeQuee said...
@dbsewer - it wasn't my review, it was someone elses. They just happen to have the same problems I did... it's common place for this pattern.

@Andreahg - I know, 6yds of fabric for a tiny dress?! I got 1.5yds (60" wide) because the velour was expensive at $12/yd (high quality stuff). I made it work, but 2 or 2.5 would be ideal.
10/22/09 12:21 PM

pammieh said...
Fun!!! Great result.
10/22/09 12:37 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
10/22/09 12:37 PM
Leora said...
Love it! Too bad the pattern is so hard to work with. I never realized how short her dress was until now!!
10/22/09 12:56 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Great job! You got a wonderful result with this costume. It does sound like the pattern is not for amateurs. Where did you get a copy of this pattern? I'm a trekker at heart, so I might try to make this one day.
10/22/09 7:27 PM
Annika said...
Many years ago one of the Big 4 published a pattern for the original Star Trek uniforms - men's and women's - and I snatched it up - it's still in my pattern collection somewhere. Sounds like the pattern you had was a total nightmare but you did a fantastic job. Wow!
10/23/09 4:34 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous results! Love the velour. Very helpful review.
11/3/09 11:46 AM
heathercampbell29 said...
Awesome. I'm a trek fan and I love this so much. You look stunning in this uniform!
11/4/09 2:57 PM
droxy said...
i'd lov one of these, but after your review..not yet.
10/27/11 2:22 PM
David Faith said...
@ MasoumaRose http://www.costumecostumecostume.com/ Has them as does Roddenberry.com the intergalactictradingpost and Ebay are other places these could be found. @Annika The Simplicity pattern is not the same thing, The shirt comes close the dress is all wrong, The Next Generation one that was produced around the same time is closer to what was seen on the screen then the simplicity pattern.
3/24/14 4:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Burda 7494

photo
by: hayleemari...

Review

Pattern

Burda 9807

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now