SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1087 (WSJ Kyoto Skirt)

6 more reviews
Viewed 516 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/22/09 6:21 PM
Last Updated:10/22/09 6:23 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew obsessed said...
Oh Debbie, this is so cute! I haven't made a skirt in years but I might have to do this one:-) Thanks for a very helpful and informative review.
10/22/09 6:31 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute skirt! I just bought this at the last HP sale after seeing another PR member's version--I love your version, too!
10/22/09 6:54 PM
MsOzark said...
love your review and love hot patterns...passed this one by though, cuz though it might be a bit too much for me....however after reading your review, I've changed my mind! Thanks for a great review!
10/22/09 8:47 PM
Speech girl said...
What a great skirt! Thanks for the review, and so timely too because I just cut out this pattern today.
10/22/09 9:43 PM
Twinset said...
I love your skirt, it is so well done (I like your topstitching). You inspire me to give a try to this pattern. Thanks for the great review.
10/22/09 11:50 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review, Debbie -- terrific skirt! I love your version of the trim, top stitching & cargo pockets. I don't think I'd have the courage to try it if it hadn't been for this review, but maybe my rather large "back porch" won't seem as gargantuan as I'm afraid it would. (Dream on, Pat! (8^D)
10/23/09 0:17 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
what a fun review, thank you! Everyone is going to want to know where you got that great skirt. . .
10/23/09 0:42 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love the skirt and top with the belt. Looks terrific. Thanks for all the info on the fabulous skirt.
10/23/09 1:42 AM
BillieJean said...
I'm sold. I have to have this pattern. Your skirt is beautiful and as always, your review is great. Loved the link to the video.
10/23/09 6:45 AM
LollyVee said...
WOW, I don't wear skirts, simply because dresses suit me better, but this one is gorgeous. Very unique. i love all the details..the shape and the topstitching. Very nice. Thanks for a brilliant review!
10/23/09 8:16 AM
twinkle72 said...
I have this pattern in my stash, but I keep holding back thinking that it looks like a lot of work! Yours is rather inspiring, though, and I feel gently nudged towards my machine. :)
10/23/09 9:12 AM
Mufffet said...
Cute skirt! A lot of work, and you did a terrific job. I do love the piping!
10/23/09 10:26 AM
Pam Padilla said...
Thanks for the details and pictures!
10/23/09 10:45 AM
barbcl said...
What an adorable skirt! Chic and beautifully made, so what's not to love! Great job.
10/23/09 11:40 AM
chelsy21 said...
Great skirt, wonderful review & I agree that if you use fabrics from your stash, then this garment is indeed free!
10/23/09 2:23 PM
Annette1 said...
Just a SUPER CUTE little skirt, Debbie. I was having trouble picturing it in "real life" until I saw yours. I love it! (Oh, and I have lots of FREE fabric, too.) :o)
10/24/09 4:20 AM
fryman said...
excellent review! The comparisson photos are VERY helpful!
10/24/09 10:18 AM
katie lynne said...
Wowee! Cool skirt. Love your skirt back godet revision. And your topstitching is absolutely marvelous. (Guess maybe I should take on something like this and maybe my topstitching skills would improve! :o) ) Now that I've seen it on a real person, I don't have to imagine what the fit is really like. Thank you for such a superb and thorough review. Your pics are such a big help. OH--since I haven't sewn a dang thing for AGES, guess all of my fabric is free too. Thanks for explaining that!
11/5/09 6:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1117

photo
by: jnageotte

Review