SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2713 (Koos Couture)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1933 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/04 1:42 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vireya said...
I wish I read this before I tried making this dress. I just got to the stage where I can try it on, and I won't be finishing it. Mine is the ugliest! It droops out at the back waist, and my selection of fabrics wasn't as beautiful as I thought it would be.
12/10/05 3:50 AM
valerie sews said...
ann , I thought this dress wasn't so bad till I saw the back. Oh my. Thank you for posting one of your bloopers.
4/8/04 6:57 AM
Mary Collins said...
My 5 year old is sitting on my lap while I scroll through the reviews I have missed in the last week, and she has not commented on any of the pictures until we hit your dress. "Now that is a pretty dress!" she remarked without hesitation. So maybe it all depends on who you are! I do agree with whoever it was who said that this is the only thing that I have seen of yours that didn't make me wish that I a) had your wardrobe, or b) had a place to wear all the lovely things in your wardrobe. One wadder out of a hundred isn't so bad!
2/13/04 11:31 AM
Skymom said...
Now that I've looked at the schematic view, I can see that this dress really has great lines--I think Ann's right: low-contrast piecing (perhaps all one color with textural differences?) might work more successfully. Although in truth, Ann's original dress is pretty fun, you have to admit it. Kind of wild and wacky!
2/12/04 8:32 AM
http mom said...
Thanks Ann, I have this pattern and I thought it wouold be great fun. Now I have second thoughts becasue while I lost a lot of weight this year...I need nothing to make me look droopier than I alread am. I was thinking of making it without the zipper however. I was thinking of using all rayons or all Japanese fabrics.
2/10/04 2:10 AM
Ann Smith said...
cattgirl, the zipper is not really necessary if you don't mind wiggling the dress off over your head. If I were to do it again I would make the neck a little more scooped (which would probably look better) so that it was an easy on/off. I think also if the dress were done in low contrast piecing as in the other view shown it would work more easily. kathi s, the Won Ton sleeve is quite different in that it is cut in one, not seamed as this one is. Something about the vertical seam on this dress...I like the Won Ton. As to the zipper, make it as short as possible to avoid getting into the curved area of the seam.
2/9/04 5:00 PM
Cattgirl said...
Sorry the dress didn't work out, but I'm curious about the zipper (congratulations on getting the invisible in so well!). If it is loose and droopy and recommended for knits, is the zipper really necessary? I'm thinking it could work using a couple of solids or a solid and pattern if worked correctly and may not need to be zipped.
2/9/04 4:10 PM
marigold said...
Sorry, Ann, I do not agree that it is an ugly dress. Actually I think it is very unique and beautiful. (Of course, I can't see from the photo the droopiness due to the different knit fabrics, etc). What's the point of sewing things that look RTW when we can just go out and BUY RTW??? It would be great to see people sewing more non-RTW-looking clothes!
2/9/04 4:05 PM
Skymom said...
Ann, this isn't the ugliest dress in the world but, in all honesty, it is the only garment of your I've ever seen that I didn'treally, really want to steal from your closet! I think the style's probably tough on just about any figure, and I've found out recently from personal experience how hard it is to mix and piece fabrics successfully. I bet you could reuse the fabric in smaller amounts to make some cute tee-shirts with mix 'n' match sleeves and such. That would maintain the spirit of the look, at a more wearable proportion.
2/9/04 11:51 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: you probably don't want to hear this, but I must say it is a relief to see that even you have a "clinker" once in awhile. You have created so many beautiful clothes that you should feel no compuncture about putting this in the "round bin", as we say in the office. Thanks for the candid review.
2/9/04 11:43 AM
Teri said...
Ann, you always make such beautiful clothes. Thanks for reviewing the not so beautiful ones also!
2/9/04 9:25 AM
kathi s said...
Hi, I read your comments about the dropped armholes and have wondered the same thing about the Won Ton blouse you reviewed a while ago. It looked great on you and I am contemplating making it up in a beautiful Japanese print that I recently bought. Do you think the same concerns you had with this dress would come up with that pattern? Don't want to make a "wadder" out of this fabric! PS Wanted to contact you about the zipper in the Won Ton but don't seem to find a message forward for you. Thanks for the frank review, we all learn from each others experiance.
2/9/04 8:31 AM
LindaB said...
I applaud your muse for being so brave that she will take such wild risks ! Thanks for a great review.
2/9/04 8:00 AM
Linda E. said...
interesting take on this dress. I am sorry it didn't work for you. i do like your fabric can you recycle them or is it worth the trouble
2/9/04 7:25 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Interesting review Ann, I'm sorry it was a wadder. It reminds me a bit of the LaFred Helena dress. I think with stretch knits, you can even forego the (perfectly inserted!) zipper. It would be nice if you could take the back off and recycle it. I agree about the dropped armholes. I find they don't look flattering unless you are tall, thin, and have no bust. -Ann
2/9/04 7:06 AM
Elaine Penney said...
You've made many great wardrobe pieces - chuck it and give your muse a demerit. Think of it as practice made perfect on that zipper.
2/9/04 7:04 AM
MadMenFanlinda said...
Geez!! I really like it. It reminds me of the sixties.
2/9/04 6:32 AM
MaryBeth said...
Oops! Sorry you didn't end up with something you can wear. But that zipper is a thing of beauty!
2/9/04 6:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Butterick 3523 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now