Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2713 (Koos Couture) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1923 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/04 1:42 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryBeth said...
Oops! Sorry you didn't end up with something you can wear. But that zipper is a thing of beauty!
2/9/04 6:29 AM
MadMenFanlinda said...
Geez!! I really like it. It reminds me of the sixties.
2/9/04 6:32 AM
Elaine Penney said...
You've made many great wardrobe pieces - chuck it and give your muse a demerit. Think of it as practice made perfect on that zipper.
2/9/04 7:04 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Interesting review Ann, I'm sorry it was a wadder. It reminds me a bit of the LaFred Helena dress. I think with stretch knits, you can even forego the (perfectly inserted!) zipper. It would be nice if you could take the back off and recycle it. I agree about the dropped armholes. I find they don't look flattering unless you are tall, thin, and have no bust. -Ann
2/9/04 7:06 AM
Linda E. said...
interesting take on this dress. I am sorry it didn't work for you. i do like your fabric can you recycle them or is it worth the trouble
2/9/04 7:25 AM
LindaB said...
I applaud your muse for being so brave that she will take such wild risks ! Thanks for a great review.
2/9/04 8:00 AM
kathi s said...
Hi, I read your comments about the dropped armholes and have wondered the same thing about the Won Ton blouse you reviewed a while ago. It looked great on you and I am contemplating making it up in a beautiful Japanese print that I recently bought. Do you think the same concerns you had with this dress would come up with that pattern? Don't want to make a "wadder" out of this fabric! PS Wanted to contact you about the zipper in the Won Ton but don't seem to find a message forward for you. Thanks for the frank review, we all learn from each others experiance.
2/9/04 8:31 AM
Teri said...
Ann, you always make such beautiful clothes. Thanks for reviewing the not so beautiful ones also!
2/9/04 9:25 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: you probably don't want to hear this, but I must say it is a relief to see that even you have a "clinker" once in awhile. You have created so many beautiful clothes that you should feel no compuncture about putting this in the "round bin", as we say in the office. Thanks for the candid review.
2/9/04 11:43 AM
Skymom said...
Ann, this isn't the ugliest dress in the world but, in all honesty, it is the only garment of your I've ever seen that I didn'treally, really want to steal from your closet! I think the style's probably tough on just about any figure, and I've found out recently from personal experience how hard it is to mix and piece fabrics successfully. I bet you could reuse the fabric in smaller amounts to make some cute tee-shirts with mix 'n' match sleeves and such. That would maintain the spirit of the look, at a more wearable proportion.
2/9/04 11:51 AM
marigold said...
Sorry, Ann, I do not agree that it is an ugly dress. Actually I think it is very unique and beautiful. (Of course, I can't see from the photo the droopiness due to the different knit fabrics, etc). What's the point of sewing things that look RTW when we can just go out and BUY RTW??? It would be great to see people sewing more non-RTW-looking clothes!
2/9/04 4:05 PM
Cattgirl said...
Sorry the dress didn't work out, but I'm curious about the zipper (congratulations on getting the invisible in so well!). If it is loose and droopy and recommended for knits, is the zipper really necessary? I'm thinking it could work using a couple of solids or a solid and pattern if worked correctly and may not need to be zipped.
2/9/04 4:10 PM
Ann Smith said...
cattgirl, the zipper is not really necessary if you don't mind wiggling the dress off over your head. If I were to do it again I would make the neck a little more scooped (which would probably look better) so that it was an easy on/off. I think also if the dress were done in low contrast piecing as in the other view shown it would work more easily. kathi s, the Won Ton sleeve is quite different in that it is cut in one, not seamed as this one is. Something about the vertical seam on this dress...I like the Won Ton. As to the zipper, make it as short as possible to avoid getting into the curved area of the seam.
2/9/04 5:00 PM
http mom said...
Thanks Ann, I have this pattern and I thought it wouold be great fun. Now I have second thoughts becasue while I lost a lot of weight this year...I need nothing to make me look droopier than I alread am. I was thinking of making it without the zipper however. I was thinking of using all rayons or all Japanese fabrics.
2/10/04 2:10 AM
Skymom said...
Now that I've looked at the schematic view, I can see that this dress really has great lines--I think Ann's right: low-contrast piecing (perhaps all one color with textural differences?) might work more successfully. Although in truth, Ann's original dress is pretty fun, you have to admit it. Kind of wild and wacky!
2/12/04 8:32 AM
Mary Collins said...
My 5 year old is sitting on my lap while I scroll through the reviews I have missed in the last week, and she has not commented on any of the pictures until we hit your dress. "Now that is a pretty dress!" she remarked without hesitation. So maybe it all depends on who you are! I do agree with whoever it was who said that this is the only thing that I have seen of yours that didn't make me wish that I a) had your wardrobe, or b) had a place to wear all the lovely things in your wardrobe. One wadder out of a hundred isn't so bad!
2/13/04 11:31 AM
valerie sews said...
ann , I thought this dress wasn't so bad till I saw the back. Oh my. Thank you for posting one of your bloopers.
4/8/04 6:57 AM
Vireya said...
I wish I read this before I tried making this dress. I just got to the stage where I can try it on, and I won't be finishing it. Mine is the ugliest! It droops out at the back waist, and my selection of fabrics wasn't as beautiful as I thought it would be.
12/10/05 3:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 7975
photo
Review by marjenann on 9/21/10
Read Review

New Look 6292 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6292 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7769 Pattern
Burda 7769 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3132
photo
Review by LynneH on 12/10/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us