Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: 0000 thumbsup - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 290 times 142 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:vespabelle
photo
About vespabellestar
OR USA
Member since: 9/18/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:10/30/09 1:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sondra Leigh said...
That's a brilliant costume. Well done.
10/30/09 1:39 PM
Physics Girl said...
Your daughter's costume is fabulous!
10/30/09 1:55 PM
Vivienne said...
That is just so cute! Thanks for the background info too.
10/30/09 3:32 PM
Frosty772 said...
She looks great and very proud of her costume!! You did a wonderful job putting it together!!
10/30/09 5:38 PM
Raye Ann said...
I love the story and process, and the costume is more than fabulous! Very inspiring. Don't be surprised if this will go down in her memory of the best costume she ever had. It sounds like she was really invested in the research and design!
10/30/09 5:53 PM
FreyaStark said...
Well done! She looks just like the We Can Do It photo. Did you know Folkwear has a Rosie the Riveter pattern? (Of course the sizing might be too big for your daughter.)
10/30/09 6:13 PM
okie2thdoc said...
I could tell exactly what she was for Halloween. Fantastic costume- hope she has fun.
10/30/09 7:48 PM
Keyboard Carol said...
This is an adorable costume and your daughter's beautiful smile adds an extra special touch to the photos. I just wanted to comment that I have an elderly friend who is 91 years old and was one of these women riveting on planes in factories. I'll have to print a photo of this for her to see. She has three grown daughters and I'm sure she would be pleased to see this photo. You did a fantastic job on creating a very special costume of a very special time in America's history.
10/30/09 10:38 PM
Cheryl Macy said...
How cool that she chose Rosie the Riveter as her costume! She's learning about history and establishing strong female role models for herself. The costume is perfect, Mom.
10/30/09 10:39 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Marvelous! Love the use of so many vintage patterns -- brilliant. Your daughter looks adorable.
10/31/09 5:59 AM
AnneM said...
Excellent job. What a great costume idea. You really achieved the look.
10/31/09 10:09 AM
Heatherrique said...
How FUN and CUTE! It takes your ingenuity, skill, and talent to take several patterns and various accessories to create a darling costume. Your daughter is an adorable ray of sunshine.
10/31/09 12:18 PM
avancleve said...
This is the best idea for a costume ever! I love it!
10/31/09 12:48 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute costume! You did a great job! And how wonderful that your DD knows about Rosie the Riveter!
10/31/09 2:03 PM
sew2little said...
What a great costume--a liberated alternative to a princess! It may be a little young for your daughter, but the story CinderEdna is a liberated version of Cinderella that makes even grown up girls happy! It's worth looking for. Your local library should have it.
10/31/09 2:18 PM
ClaireEmily said...
That is such an amazing costume idea, and I love all the background history. It sounds like you have an amazing daughter too!
11/1/09 5:07 PM
arianamaniacs said...
That is just too adorable. Plus it was a learning experience for the both of you. She's so cute!
11/2/09 2:27 PM
colorkitten said...
I love this costume! I would be thrilled if my daughter wanted to be "rosie" when she's older. (At which time I will swipe shamelessly from your ideas!) Awesome job!
11/3/09 7:22 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks cute!
11/3/09 7:11 PM
Vintage Joan said...
I love this! I also love the thoughtful research that went into this costume, and the fact that your daughter has started on the path to a love of history. :) Kudos to both of you!
11/10/09 10:44 AM
Princess Aurora said...
A+++ I think she could do a report on what she learned and go dressed as Rosie! I am sure she would get an A+! Fantastic job!
11/13/09 5:50 PM
waltzqueen said...
A terrific costume and I really enjoyed all the history. Great work!
11/17/09 11:06 AM
DoggyGirl said...
This is so awesome - your daughter makes a great Rosie!
11/20/09 1:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick 5713
photo
Review by LoriB on 1/28/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Vanilla House: P150 My Bag
photo
Review by kkkkaty on 2/15/10
Read Review

McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us