SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5104 (Venetian Vest)

5 more reviews
Viewed 454 times 
Reviewed by:pterion
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pterionstarstar
Member since: 11/29/04
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/09 11:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cultured Purl said...
I forgot to add that I am always on the lookout for vests for playing with my Celitc group( play violin) I need the arm non restricted for ease of playing, and of COURSE the green stood right out for me! I do believe I would get several uses out of this I cannot worry about constrictive clothing when playing in 9/8 time!
5/14/11 7:15 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I am going to purchase this pattern based on your review, and help in sizing it down, now I get to use a burn out velvet I have in my stash The bad thing tho is how many can one make this to justify the cost of the pattern? I do wish the short vest were more fitted) but maybe that can be solved by adding long darts in the back??),,,,is worth a try! Yours is LOVELY and fits well,, and if you can believe it I have a green knit the exact same color as your knit,,Yes I do see a whole oufiit forming now, Thanks for reviewing and sharing, this made my day! A nice outfit to wear to dinner w/friends and be totally comfortable! Clothes that are clasy and comfortable are wonderful!
5/14/11 7:11 PM
QuiltersFan said...
I just purchased this pattern. Wonderful to see your vest. Looks great. Thanks for the tips in the review.
10/27/09 9:42 PM
Nancy K said...
It's great on you. I think that it will be really versatile in your wardrobe. Great fabric.
10/27/09 8:59 PM
ITAdmin said...
It looks great, and perfect with the top.
10/27/09 4:20 PM
j222b said...
I love LHinse. I have this pattern, but have not used it. Hope your review gets me going on this vest-it's so pretty on you.
10/27/09 2:48 PM
Renren said...
Thank you so much for responding, Pterion. You are right--I would not want to be the one to contradict SB. And of course, the arithmetic on the side seams, I didn't allow for the front piece and the back piece (duh). But I did read your review carefully, so I guess that makes up for my lapses (?). Thanks again.
10/27/09 12:59 PM
barbcl said...
Beautiful vest!
10/27/09 11:45 AM
pterion said...
Thanks for all the kind comments! Renren, I took about an inch from the front and from the back at both sides, so in other words two inches on either side for a total of 4". Hope that's clear. As far as why not topstitch - I didn't want the velvet to be mashed down where I topstitched. Plus I looked it up in Sandra Betzina's "Fabric Savvy" and she says never to topstitch velvet...and who am I to contradict Sandra Betzina? ;-)
10/27/09 10:39 AM
DorothyK said...
Very nice vest. It looks great on you. I love the fabric.
10/27/09 9:48 AM
marec said...
Wow, the burnout is a perfect choice for this style. I like the vest, especially with the change you made to the band. Great piece to your wardrobe plan.
10/27/09 9:24 AM
moushka said...
I've never paid much attention to this vest but your version is lovely. Reminds of several pieces of burnout velvet I have lingering in my stash. You've given me a great idea on how to use them. Great review. Thank you
10/27/09 9:15 AM
Catbird said...
This is a beautiful vest! I find that Loes Hinse patterns can be a bit voluminous, but you did a good job resizing it so that it's in proportion. It's casual and elegant at the same time, which I love.
10/27/09 8:38 AM
Renren said...
So beautiful. I like it both ways--before and after the band change and alteration. Okay, I'm confused though. If you had 6 inches of ease and then you trimmed a little less than an inch from each side, wouldn't that take you down to 4 inches, not 2 inches of ease? Or are there 4 side seams? And besides being a masochist, why would you hand pick velvet at the armholes? Is it because the machine stitch topstitching would somehow not be good on velvet? I'm just curious about these things. Your vest and your review are very well done. I love vests and this one has lots of style. Love the burnout velvet.
10/27/09 8:00 AM
Tiner W said...
I love your vest! The modifications you made definitely improve it! I'll bet that hand-picking on the black, slippery fabric was loads of fun!
10/27/09 7:19 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great looking piece. It's very versatile and lovely and I suspect you'll get a lot of use out it.
10/27/09 6:34 AM
lamstu said...
A very nice vest. Great fabric. I think you made a good choice to modify it to your final version.
10/27/09 4:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 2948

photo
by: ChristmasH...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now