Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5104 (Venetian Vest) thumbsup - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 442 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:pterion
photo
Friend of PR
About pterionstarstar
Member since: 11/29/04
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/09 11:36 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lamstu said...
A very nice vest. Great fabric. I think you made a good choice to modify it to your final version.
10/27/09 4:09 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great looking piece. It's very versatile and lovely and I suspect you'll get a lot of use out it.
10/27/09 6:34 AM
Tiner W said...
I love your vest! The modifications you made definitely improve it! I'll bet that hand-picking on the black, slippery fabric was loads of fun!
10/27/09 7:19 AM
Renren said...
So beautiful. I like it both ways--before and after the band change and alteration. Okay, I'm confused though. If you had 6 inches of ease and then you trimmed a little less than an inch from each side, wouldn't that take you down to 4 inches, not 2 inches of ease? Or are there 4 side seams? And besides being a masochist, why would you hand pick velvet at the armholes? Is it because the machine stitch topstitching would somehow not be good on velvet? I'm just curious about these things. Your vest and your review are very well done. I love vests and this one has lots of style. Love the burnout velvet.
10/27/09 8:00 AM
Catbird said...
This is a beautiful vest! I find that Loes Hinse patterns can be a bit voluminous, but you did a good job resizing it so that it's in proportion. It's casual and elegant at the same time, which I love.
10/27/09 8:38 AM
moushka said...
I've never paid much attention to this vest but your version is lovely. Reminds of several pieces of burnout velvet I have lingering in my stash. You've given me a great idea on how to use them. Great review. Thank you
10/27/09 9:15 AM
marec said...
Wow, the burnout is a perfect choice for this style. I like the vest, especially with the change you made to the band. Great piece to your wardrobe plan.
10/27/09 9:24 AM
DorothyK said...
Very nice vest. It looks great on you. I love the fabric.
10/27/09 9:48 AM
pterion said...
Thanks for all the kind comments! Renren, I took about an inch from the front and from the back at both sides, so in other words two inches on either side for a total of 4". Hope that's clear. As far as why not topstitch - I didn't want the velvet to be mashed down where I topstitched. Plus I looked it up in Sandra Betzina's "Fabric Savvy" and she says never to topstitch velvet...and who am I to contradict Sandra Betzina? ;-)
10/27/09 10:39 AM
barbcl said...
Beautiful vest!
10/27/09 11:45 AM
Renren said...
Thank you so much for responding, Pterion. You are right--I would not want to be the one to contradict SB. And of course, the arithmetic on the side seams, I didn't allow for the front piece and the back piece (duh). But I did read your review carefully, so I guess that makes up for my lapses (?). Thanks again.
10/27/09 12:59 PM
j222b said...
I love LHinse. I have this pattern, but have not used it. Hope your review gets me going on this vest-it's so pretty on you.
10/27/09 2:48 PM
ITAdmin said...
It looks great, and perfect with the top.
10/27/09 4:20 PM
Nancy K said...
It's great on you. I think that it will be really versatile in your wardrobe. Great fabric.
10/27/09 8:59 PM
QuiltersFan said...
I just purchased this pattern. Wonderful to see your vest. Looks great. Thanks for the tips in the review.
10/27/09 9:42 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I am going to purchase this pattern based on your review, and help in sizing it down, now I get to use a burn out velvet I have in my stash The bad thing tho is how many can one make this to justify the cost of the pattern? I do wish the short vest were more fitted) but maybe that can be solved by adding long darts in the back??),,,,is worth a try! Yours is LOVELY and fits well,, and if you can believe it I have a green knit the exact same color as your knit,,Yes I do see a whole oufiit forming now, Thanks for reviewing and sharing, this made my day! A nice outfit to wear to dinner w/friends and be totally comfortable! Clothes that are clasy and comfortable are wonderful!
5/14/11 7:11 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I forgot to add that I am always on the lookout for vests for playing with my Celitc group( play violin) I need the arm non restricted for ease of playing, and of COURSE the green stood right out for me! I do believe I would get several uses out of this I cannot worry about constrictive clothing when playing in 9/8 time!
5/14/11 7:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Lazy Girl Designs 211 Wonder Wallet
photo
Review by Deepika on 3/8/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mini Wardrobe May 2009
photo
Review by kal1 on 5/31/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )
McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us