Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Macphee sewing workshop: 295 (Jean Jacket/Vest) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 296 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Elaine Dougan
photo
Friend of PR
About Elaine Douganstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/24/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/09 9:35 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryDB said...
Elaine, I feel your pain over this project. I admire your tenacity, however, and it really paid off. The jacket looks great! Wear it with pleasure.
10/28/09 10:00 PM
Aixoise said...
Had you not detailed the difficulties you had in constructing this jacket, I'd never have known from the photo. It looks very good on you and very nicely put together. But don't you get tired of extended "learning experiences"? I know I do. Kudos for sticking with it.
10/28/09 10:37 PM
sewtime said...
Elaine, You worked hard and you have a beautiful jacket to show for it! Good sewing!!
10/28/09 11:12 PM
katlew03 said...
Some projects just seem to go wrong every step of the way. However, I find that because I put so much work into them, they often turn out to be my favorites. Your jacket turned out very nice and I know you learned a lot from it. The finished product makes it worthwhile.
10/28/09 11:47 PM
Annette1 said...
:o))) I started laughing so hard as I was reading this LONG AND WINDING review. :o))) You would NEVER know -- NEVER -- from looking at this BEAUTIFUL, LUSH jacket that there were so many bumps along the road. It's BEAUTIFUL, and I KNOW you're going to get LOTS of compliments when you wear it. I LOVE the color. You sound like me: After a certain point, I say, I ain't quittin' now, come YOU-KNOW-WHAT or high water!
10/29/09 1:14 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, you have persistance and I think you have a lovely jacket to show for it. I, for one, would have given up at least half way and put it in my UFO closet. It's a great style, though, so now you've had your "sewing lessons" on this pattern and can make it in different fabrics much more quickly.
10/29/09 8:05 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
TORTURE! But what a fabulous result. Great look!
10/29/09 8:37 AM
Rhoda K said...
Wow - I never would have known the problems you encountered, but I admire you for sticking with it. It does look good on you and I hope you enjoy wearing it.
10/29/09 10:29 AM
marec said...
This is an example of why I love PR...honesty in the *process* of sewing. You have a very, very pretty jacket and I cannot see any evidence of your struggles. Thank you for the review, and if you hate this jacket...I'll give you my address :-)
10/29/09 8:22 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your jacket looks great. I doesn't begin to look as if you had any trouble making it. Very flattering.
10/30/09 12:19 PM
Sheila457 said...
Your determination and hard work paid off the jacket looks great. Thank you for the lovely compliment on my cardigan.
11/1/09 4:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

HotPatterns 1029
photo
Review by cairncrew on 4/22/11
Read Review

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Sophie Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Sophie Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 0000
photo
Review by Gillian on 3/28/05
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us