Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2009-119 (Sleeveless Dress with Pleats) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1038 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:michou68
photo
About michou68star
GERMANY
Member since: 8/15/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/09 12:15 PM
Last Updated:12/20/09 1:14 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
eugenia123 said...
This dress looks very pretty on you. Regarding the fit - I think it sounds like you should trace off a size 34 so that it will fit around the neck and the waist and then make a FBA (full bust adjustment) on the pattern tissue. I think then you will get a better fit. Fitting is a trial and error process and isn't always easy. Good luck!
10/30/09 1:05 PM
michou68 said...
Eugenia: Thanks. I might have to learn this FBA although I had a good laugh a few seconds ago. There is not much bust that could be described as full ;-) But well, if using a very small size this might be a solution - thank you very very much :-)
10/30/09 1:30 PM
michou68 said...
Oops, doubled my comment
10/30/09 1:38 PM
nicegirl said...
So sorry you're unhappy with the way it turned out! I think it is very elegant. The gray is a sophisticated color.
10/30/09 2:13 PM
elainemay said...
Beautiful! It looks wonderful on you. I made this dress too and I love the pattern.
10/30/09 2:13 PM
michou68 said...
nicegirl: love your blog and read it for ages :-) Elainemay: Well, yours was the reason why I decided to try it. And yours is truly lovely that is why I am so disappointed with mine ;-)
10/30/09 2:28 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful dress! I love the narrow belt. I sympathize with your fitting issues.
10/30/09 8:25 PM
Peter in NYC said...
I love the simplicity of this dress and it looks beautiful on you. Very elegant!
10/30/09 10:05 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty style and color. I think it looks nice on you. It seems like each new pattern creates a need to figure out the fit and once it's all learned then our shapes change. One can never get bored with it at any rate.
10/30/09 10:20 PM
MichelleE said...
The dress still looks very elegant on you!! I have found the Burda mag patterns make no allowance for>B bust. I am always adjusting patterns to adjust for the lack of bust room. Since this pattern has a dart, a fba would be fairly easy to do. Try it, you will not regret it!
10/31/09 3:18 PM
becca a said...
What a beautiful dress. You look very elegant.
10/31/09 8:08 PM
Heatherrique said...
Classic, timeless, and gorgeous on you!
11/1/09 9:44 AM
whirrclunk said...
The dress looks good! The front pleats and seams are so neatly made, and the overall lines so nice, that it seems a pity to worry too much about about perfect fitting. I'm fairly flat, and ended up needing to do a small FBA on one pattern (I measured the pattern and myself at least three times, being convinced that I must have done something wrong to need an FBA, as, frankly, there is very little there), and it was really worth it as the end fit was much better. And it boosted my ego :)
12/20/09 3:18 PM
Kay Y said...
I don't think you should give up on Burda! You do seem to have square shoulders and more bust than the pattern was designed for (the wrinkles pointing to your bust make that clear). This particular pattern, with its stitched down pleats, is pretty unforgiving of curves. You might have much better luck with other styles.
12/20/09 3:59 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Just buy Fit for Real People. You have "square" shoulders, maybe need a full bust alteration and yes, you are much smaller on top then bottom so you'll have 2 different size needs for bust and below waist. This is not unusual at all.
12/20/09 4:40 PM
dingyadi said...
The dress looks gorgeous on you - and I adore your shoes!
12/20/09 8:17 PM
Robynz said...
Just wanted to let you know that you are not alone!! Many of us do multiple types of alterations with every pattern. I have learned that I almost always: do a forward shoulder adjustment, trace a smaller size top than I would think - but still do an FBA, do a petite adjustment in the underarm area, shorten the length of the shoulder seam, do a full bicep adjustment and take in the waist!! and we are just talking about tops here... and - forgot to mention the 'swayback' adjustment - although in my case it isn't really a swayback as much as it is straight posture!!
12/20/09 10:09 PM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful dress Michou. I've just been looking at this pattern because I want to make it for my daughter. As mentioned by others your bust is 'large' in relation to your small upper torso/ribcage. A full bust adjustment would make it sit much better ( but it still looks great nonetheless)
12/21/09 5:57 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
What an interesting review. I am amazed that Burda actually sent you fitting tips. Wow. I think the dress looks quite nice.
12/21/09 12:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Self Drafted Pattern 226262-1006
photo
Review by MadeByMeg on 1/17/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6607
photo
Review by JGillentin... on 11/9/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us