Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2009-123 (carrot pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 413 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/09 5:50 PM
Last Updated:10/31/09 5:54 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
You look great in this style. I like them on slender people...on me, not so much :-)
10/31/09 6:22 PM
Annette1 said...
Kay, I LOVE these! These have always been one of my FAVORITE styles of pants. (Remind me of a zoot suit.) You WEAR them BEAUTIFULLY! I think the jacket you have on with them is PERFECT, and I ALSO like the flat shoes. I think they'd look really cute with a fitted sweater or shirt, or even a shirt tied at the waist. They're PERFECT! Wish I could wear this silhouette. :o) Did you see Project Runway last time? The winning pair of pants was similar in silhouette to these. I'm trying to remember. I think she had a fitted white shirt on with the black pants, which was either tucked in or waist-length. Then over that, she had a great big sweater cardigan.
10/31/09 7:19 PM
Sewliz said...
Cool pants! I think you need a satin bomber jacket and some spike heels. Seriously though they look pretty darn good on you.
10/31/09 8:05 PM
katharin said...
They look great on you. I'm tempted to make a pair of those too.
10/31/09 8:39 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Thanks for all the information and photos on how you made these. They turned out very nice. I have been tempted to make these myself to test out the Burda Tall size.
10/31/09 11:23 PM
digs57 said...
I SO NEED a pair of these! No, at least TWO pairs: one for work, one for winter sports (aka shovelling the white stuff that'll soon hit our drives). And another pair for cycling! And one in silk crepe for the theatre! SWOON! Oh to be so fashion forward!!!!
11/1/09 0:16 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
LOVE this style of pants...yes I too wore alot like these back in 80's.Ankle booties go great with these but also flats if you have long legs. If not try platform sandals-boots. Cropped jackets , short to not conflict with wide hip area. Wide belts. Yours turned out really well. The zipper going all the way to top of WB stumps me...must look at your interior picture again.
11/1/09 0:37 AM
Patzee said...
Kay, what a fabulous pair of pants! Your skills are amazing. Does Clair Shaffer's book show how to do an entire waistband? I'm still trying to figure out how to do a waistband. Thanks!
11/1/09 1:41 AM
SpinningJenny said...
These pants suit you Kay, and look good with the jacket in your photos. Hope you enjoy wearing your comfortable pants.
11/1/09 3:08 AM
Sigrid. said...
It certainly is a style that you can wear well. Beautiful pair of pants. Good of you to try whether it works for you, I only looked at the pattern and thought "not for me". Though I still might not make this one, you showed clearly it's worthwhile to try a style that you're not used to. And thank you for the clear pictures of the waistband construction. The inside is so beautiful too, not expecting otherwise from you though.
11/1/09 4:30 AM
Catbird said...
I LOVE these pants on you!! I'm so glad you were the intrepid pioneer and made these first. They caught my eye in the magazine and now I have some expert guidance and inspiration if I decide to try them too. As for what to wear with them, I agree with all the above suggestions, but have to say that the jacket you chose is ideal - slim fitting with black trim. Couldn't be more perfect. Fantastic!
11/1/09 8:01 AM
Peggy L said...
Kay - these look great on you and the construction is beautiful. Your thoughts remind me of mine when I made a pair of Marcy Tilton pants last spring - way out of my comfort zone!! But I ended up really liking them. Hope you end up with the same feeling with these. They look great!
11/1/09 8:39 AM
Nancy Anne said...
GREAT pants, Kay! You did a fabulous job on them, as always. But I had to chuckle to myself- I was going to suggest you wear heeled booties and a loose jacket with them, then I look at the Burda photo, and that's exactly what they put with it! Am I good, or what? :-)
11/1/09 9:24 AM
Mary Nanna said...
Good on you for trying something new (or re-trying something old in this case) - it's good to take risks with sewing and keep things fresh! I found myself nodding my head with 2 things you wrote, which from my experience is true of many Burda pants- the need to lengthen the crotch by 2cms - and the impossible front fly instructions!
11/1/09 7:36 PM
Mahler said...
Kay, as I said on Facebook ! Those pants look so good. I was sceptical when I first looked at them "under construction" . Now I am fully converted. Those are hot ! Nice look with your jacket. As usual, you have all my admiration. You are so skill full. Bravo chère amie !
11/1/09 8:14 PM
Terri A said...
Really cool on you!
11/2/09 1:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

HotPatterns 1029
photo
Review by cairncrew on 4/22/11
Read Review

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Sophie Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Sophie Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 0000
photo
Review by Gillian on 3/28/05
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us