SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-123 (carrot pants)

4 more reviews
Viewed 417 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/09 5:50 PM
Last Updated:10/31/09 5:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Really cool on you!
11/2/09 1:35 AM
Mahler said...
Kay, as I said on Facebook ! Those pants look so good. I was sceptical when I first looked at them "under construction" . Now I am fully converted. Those are hot ! Nice look with your jacket. As usual, you have all my admiration. You are so skill full. Bravo chère amie !
11/1/09 8:14 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Good on you for trying something new (or re-trying something old in this case) - it's good to take risks with sewing and keep things fresh! I found myself nodding my head with 2 things you wrote, which from my experience is true of many Burda pants- the need to lengthen the crotch by 2cms - and the impossible front fly instructions!
11/1/09 7:36 PM
Nancy Anne said...
GREAT pants, Kay! You did a fabulous job on them, as always. But I had to chuckle to myself- I was going to suggest you wear heeled booties and a loose jacket with them, then I look at the Burda photo, and that's exactly what they put with it! Am I good, or what? :-)
11/1/09 9:24 AM
Peggy L said...
Kay - these look great on you and the construction is beautiful. Your thoughts remind me of mine when I made a pair of Marcy Tilton pants last spring - way out of my comfort zone!! But I ended up really liking them. Hope you end up with the same feeling with these. They look great!
11/1/09 8:39 AM
Catbird said...
I LOVE these pants on you!! I'm so glad you were the intrepid pioneer and made these first. They caught my eye in the magazine and now I have some expert guidance and inspiration if I decide to try them too. As for what to wear with them, I agree with all the above suggestions, but have to say that the jacket you chose is ideal - slim fitting with black trim. Couldn't be more perfect. Fantastic!
11/1/09 8:01 AM
Sigrid. said...
It certainly is a style that you can wear well. Beautiful pair of pants. Good of you to try whether it works for you, I only looked at the pattern and thought "not for me". Though I still might not make this one, you showed clearly it's worthwhile to try a style that you're not used to. And thank you for the clear pictures of the waistband construction. The inside is so beautiful too, not expecting otherwise from you though.
11/1/09 4:30 AM
SpinningJenny said...
These pants suit you Kay, and look good with the jacket in your photos. Hope you enjoy wearing your comfortable pants.
11/1/09 3:08 AM
Patzee said...
Kay, what a fabulous pair of pants! Your skills are amazing. Does Clair Shaffer's book show how to do an entire waistband? I'm still trying to figure out how to do a waistband. Thanks!
11/1/09 1:41 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
LOVE this style of pants...yes I too wore alot like these back in 80's.Ankle booties go great with these but also flats if you have long legs. If not try platform sandals-boots. Cropped jackets , short to not conflict with wide hip area. Wide belts. Yours turned out really well. The zipper going all the way to top of WB stumps me...must look at your interior picture again.
11/1/09 0:37 AM
digs57 said...
I SO NEED a pair of these! No, at least TWO pairs: one for work, one for winter sports (aka shovelling the white stuff that'll soon hit our drives). And another pair for cycling! And one in silk crepe for the theatre! SWOON! Oh to be so fashion forward!!!!
11/1/09 0:16 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Thanks for all the information and photos on how you made these. They turned out very nice. I have been tempted to make these myself to test out the Burda Tall size.
10/31/09 11:23 PM
katharin said...
They look great on you. I'm tempted to make a pair of those too.
10/31/09 8:39 PM
Sewliz said...
Cool pants! I think you need a satin bomber jacket and some spike heels. Seriously though they look pretty darn good on you.
10/31/09 8:05 PM
Annette1 said...
Kay, I LOVE these! These have always been one of my FAVORITE styles of pants. (Remind me of a zoot suit.) You WEAR them BEAUTIFULLY! I think the jacket you have on with them is PERFECT, and I ALSO like the flat shoes. I think they'd look really cute with a fitted sweater or shirt, or even a shirt tied at the waist. They're PERFECT! Wish I could wear this silhouette. :o) Did you see Project Runway last time? The winning pair of pants was similar in silhouette to these. I'm trying to remember. I think she had a fitted white shirt on with the black pants, which was either tucked in or waist-length. Then over that, she had a great big sweater cardigan.
10/31/09 7:19 PM
marec said...
You look great in this style. I like them on slender people...on me, not so much :-)
10/31/09 6:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

StyleArc Robin Top

photo
by: Sigrid.

Review
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

More Info