SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> 113 (Athena Two)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1048 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/09 4:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pjhoff said...
Gorgeous! Nice color, good workmanship, tasteful details. Wow!
7/1/11 10:04 PM
Christas said...
Gorgeous!
11/4/09 6:22 PM
Barbara V said...
Too funny - laugh, laugh, laugh! I'm going to start looking for some slinkly type fabric for this phantom skirt and be watching for your version right here on PR.
11/4/09 11:45 AM
Annette1 said...
That was the thing, Barbara. You didn't see ANY gathers. It was ALL very sleek. If I was GUESSING, I would say there must have been some sort of an underskirt, with stretch, and it would have to be fairly sturdy to sustain the weight of the tiers, if they truly WERE slinky. I think they WERE, the way the fabric moved. The overall look was PRETTY close to a straight skirt, yet there was just a SLIGHT a-line shape. I would GUESS that skirt was measuring about 30 to 32 inches in length, because she had on boots, and it covered the tops of her boots completely, no skin peeking out between the skirt and top of boots. It wasn't long enough that it looks DOWDY, though (as spoken by Ms. Dowdy herself). It would SEEM that you could cut out the underskirt, sew one seam together, then before closing the other seam, sew all your tiers to the underskirt, THEN sew the remaining side seam. No, I take that back. I bet that skirt just had ONE seam in the back, because the tiers were floating freely all the way around from what I could see. (I should have chased her down the street so I could have seen the back, too.) The EXPOSED part of the tiers looked like it may have been, oh, 8-12 inches or so? :o( I'd say at least 8. They were overlapped, you know, each sewn just at the top of the tier with the bottom of the tiers hanging loose. The bottom of the tiers must have been serged, but VERY NICELY DONE. I didn't see any hems (just eyeballing it as I walked by). You don't have any lumps and bumps, but this skirt would have looked good on just about ANYBODY, I think. I should try making one myself. Duh! It's so much EASIER to live vicariously through YOUR skirt though. :o)) (Bet you're sorry I ever MENTIONED the dreaded skirt by now.)
11/4/09 11:26 AM
Barbara V said...
Annette, you are a dear! So nice to start the day reading and chuckling over your commical comments! Thank you for your quest to locate this skirt. I agree with you that Chico's and Coldwater Creek would be the likely places to find something like this but maybe she found it at some little boutique while on vacation in some exotic place! Therefore, I propose, if you would give me a little more detail about the tiers as to gathered or flounced and overall length, I will sew one of these up and call it the "Annette Skirt"! ;-)
11/4/09 10:24 AM
Annette1 said...
No! Actually, I just saw the lady walking out of the Hallmark store while I was walking in. :o) I DID go on a SEARCH-AND-DESTROY last night, and I couldn't FIND that skirt. My first thought was Chico's, but I didn't see it there. So I thought MAYBE Coldwater Creek, but no go there either. So then I Googled a couple of tries, NOTHING.>:o( There is a little boutique in Columbus where she MIGHT have gotten it. I may even give them a call -- ha! Now I WANT TO KNOW. Why didn't I STOP that lady, snot or no snot? :o) Who knows? She may have been looking at me thinking, well, isn't SHE the snooty one? DANG! I should have turned on the charm, which I CAN DO in a pinch, and she probably would have been writing down all the details for me!
11/4/09 2:22 AM
DorothyK said...
Another winner. This top looks smashing on you. I prefer it out rather than tucked in.
11/3/09 3:51 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments. Annette, may I assign you as my personal fashion shopper?!? Your delightfully detailed description of the tiered slinky skirt enabled me to visualize it fully. Sounds neat. I want it! You must have been staring at it for a very long time!
11/3/09 12:26 PM
Jane S said...
OMG, this looks wonderful on you and you've totally inspired me. I have made the Athena 1 and of, course own Athena 2. But I want a tie blouse and now you've shown me what to use. Hooray and many thanks!
11/3/09 10:07 AM
marthamyers said...
I am so enjoying your creations for your wardrobe. Great marrieage of pattern, fabric and you! Thanks for reviewing this pattern. Time for me to give it a try.
11/3/09 8:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely blouse. The fabric color is gorgeous and looks good on you!
11/3/09 6:43 AM
Annette1 said...
I'm telling you, you have got it GOIN' ON in this new WARDROBE you've built. You know EXACTLY what looks good on you in both style and color, and you have the PERFECT figure to show off, as well. It's starting to tick me off, OKAY? Be sure you wear a burp cloth when you're holding your new little grandbaby in this one -- ha! It's hard to beat silk dupioni. I WISH you had the skirt this lady had on that I saw the other day. It was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO cute, and it was JUST your colors, and she had a figure just like yours. She looked like kind of a SNOT though -- ha! -- or maybe just preoccupied, so I didn't have the nerve to bombard her about WHERE THE HECK SHE GOT IT. It was made out of slinky knit, and it LOOKED like it must have been a basic a-line shape serving as an underlayer, SLIGHT a-line. Then attached to the underlayer were tiers of the slinky, each tier graduating slightly in width from the top of the tier to the bottom of the tier, so the skirt had EXCELLENT movement when she walked, with a little bounce and a sway, just SUPER cute. It was the NEATEST skirt I've ever seen, and the slinky was in a print with orange being the dominant color. She had on a pair of boots and a jacket the same color as your blouse. There were maybe five tiers or so, not a whole bunch, you know, but more than just three, so that no particular tier seemed to cut across a certain part of the body and draw the eye. Well, a lot of good it does us, since you DON'T have the skirt. Maybe I'll go on a search and destroy and see if I can FIND it online and send you the link. Maybe I'll start witih Chico's. BLABBERMOUTH, SIGNING OFF (you'll be relieved to know)!
11/3/09 0:50 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow!! Another beautiful top! You have been on a roll lately!!! What a great color on you too.
11/2/09 11:37 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's fabulous, and you've given me an idea! It could be a good way to use some silk I've got.
11/2/09 10:46 PM
sew2little said...
I've been debating about this pattern--Athena I, Athena II, no Athena at all?? Yours provides a compelling argument for Athena II! Marci
11/2/09 10:44 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks great. I've had this pattern for quite some time and have not made it. Your review is very inspiring.
11/2/09 10:35 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful top.
11/2/09 10:25 PM
kathleencramer said...
What a fabulous blouse. It is really beautiful! Nice job. the color is great on you, the fabric looks so rich and lushious. Nice picks all around. Something to be proud of.
11/2/09 9:57 PM
Debbie Cook said...
How striking! The style and the color are spectacular on you.
11/2/09 9:32 PM
harmony758 said...
It's funny that La Fred describes her patterns as elegant, because that's exactly the word I was going to use to describe this top. Lovely!
11/2/09 8:57 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow that's pretty -- perfect color for autumn, too.
11/2/09 8:22 PM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizing top, Barbara! Lovely photo of you in this autumn ambiance!
11/2/09 8:09 PM
Elona said...
What a lovely blouse! I always think of this design as possibly girth-adding, but I suspect you are a small person, and it looks just great on you. May I add my appreciation for your color sense, both with what you wear and how you place yourself for photos in that gorgeous fall foliage?
11/2/09 7:06 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Simply stunning. The color, fabric, style - everything!
11/2/09 6:55 PM
racehorse said...
Another winner from you Barbara--that's absolutely divine!
11/2/09 5:23 PM
no7262 said...
You are always so stylish! It looks great! Nora :)
11/2/09 5:15 PM
Myspirit4 said...
Absolutely beautiful! The color is amazing on you!
11/2/09 5:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

More Info