SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5884 (Blouse)

14 more reviews
Viewed 553 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 275
Favored by: 122 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/09 10:24 PM
Last Updated:11/2/09 10:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Helen near Sydney said...
Gorgeous colour on you Nancy.
11/5/09 5:07 PM
CynthiaSue said...
aaww tie neck blouse is so your great, easy yet pretty style! add it as a staple for sure!!
11/3/09 2:04 PM
no7262 said...
The top looks great dispite your troubles! I looked at another review and saw that she did not cut the tie on the bias and still got a great look. I might have to give this a try. Nora :)
11/3/09 11:42 AM
Jane S said...
I do love the lines on the blouse, very flattering. great save on the neckline/tie joining. I hate when they don't consider the challenge a newbie sewer would have without a lot of experience in stabilizing and such.
11/3/09 10:19 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful blouse and it looks good on you. I agree with you on the challis, it's a dandy to work with! As always, a great review.
11/3/09 9:45 AM
racehorse said...
That is just lovely on you. Thanks for posting this review. I have this in my stash and I need to make it.
11/3/09 7:30 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, thanks for the tip on stabilizing the neckline.
11/3/09 6:38 AM
michalklimer said...
it is very pretty, in spite of all the trouble and time!
11/3/09 2:30 AM
jannw said...
So that's the problem with the neckline..I ended up with no gathers also...your version is very pretty..now I want to try again
11/3/09 2:08 AM
Annette1 said...
No wonder those little sleeves hold their shape so well, they're two pieces! This is a VERY flattering blouse on you, even though I can feel your pain with that layout. :o) NEXT time you make it, cut out two or three at once -- ha! It's worth it. It's THAT cute. :o)
11/3/09 0:59 AM
Barbara V said...
Very pretty blouse, Nancy. The fabric is lovely and even though the layout, cutting and handling the fabric seemed to be challenging, your end result is perfect! I really like the tie.
11/3/09 0:48 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautiful blouse, love the fabric and the bow!
11/3/09 0:28 AM
Elke said...
Definitely worth all the effort and time you put into this very pretty blouse!
11/2/09 11:36 PM
darse said...
Really lovely. Your version is much more elegant and stylish than the one on the envelope.
11/2/09 11:29 PM
EleanorSews said...
What a pretty blouse! Those sleeves are so feminine but not over the top. Really helpful review, thank you.
11/2/09 10:58 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Love the blouse.
11/2/09 10:43 PM
Athene said...
Its a very pretty blouse and the way the bias bow drapes is so nice. Thank you for the tips on how to stablize the bias bow to achieve the gathered effect.
11/2/09 10:40 PM
FreyaStark said...
The effort seems to have been worthwhile. It's pretty and distinctive blouse.
11/2/09 10:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vogue Patterns 8597

photo
by: Lucy in Vi...

Review
Other Merckwaerdigh BHS10

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now