SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5884 (Blouse)

14 more reviews
Viewed 552 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/09 10:24 PM
Last Updated:11/2/09 10:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
The effort seems to have been worthwhile. It's pretty and distinctive blouse.
11/2/09 10:37 PM
Athene said...
Its a very pretty blouse and the way the bias bow drapes is so nice. Thank you for the tips on how to stablize the bias bow to achieve the gathered effect.
11/2/09 10:40 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Love the blouse.
11/2/09 10:43 PM
EleanorSews said...
What a pretty blouse! Those sleeves are so feminine but not over the top. Really helpful review, thank you.
11/2/09 10:58 PM
darse said...
Really lovely. Your version is much more elegant and stylish than the one on the envelope.
11/2/09 11:29 PM
Elke said...
Definitely worth all the effort and time you put into this very pretty blouse!
11/2/09 11:36 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautiful blouse, love the fabric and the bow!
11/3/09 0:28 AM
Barbara V said...
Very pretty blouse, Nancy. The fabric is lovely and even though the layout, cutting and handling the fabric seemed to be challenging, your end result is perfect! I really like the tie.
11/3/09 0:48 AM
Annette1 said...
No wonder those little sleeves hold their shape so well, they're two pieces! This is a VERY flattering blouse on you, even though I can feel your pain with that layout. :o) NEXT time you make it, cut out two or three at once -- ha! It's worth it. It's THAT cute. :o)
11/3/09 0:59 AM
jannw said...
So that's the problem with the neckline..I ended up with no gathers also...your version is very pretty..now I want to try again
11/3/09 2:08 AM
michalklimer said...
it is very pretty, in spite of all the trouble and time!
11/3/09 2:30 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, thanks for the tip on stabilizing the neckline.
11/3/09 6:38 AM
racehorse said...
That is just lovely on you. Thanks for posting this review. I have this in my stash and I need to make it.
11/3/09 7:30 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful blouse and it looks good on you. I agree with you on the challis, it's a dandy to work with! As always, a great review.
11/3/09 9:45 AM
Jane S said...
I do love the lines on the blouse, very flattering. great save on the neckline/tie joining. I hate when they don't consider the challenge a newbie sewer would have without a lot of experience in stabilizing and such.
11/3/09 10:19 AM
no7262 said...
The top looks great dispite your troubles! I looked at another review and saw that she did not cut the tie on the bias and still got a great look. I might have to give this a try. Nora :)
11/3/09 11:42 AM
CynthiaSue said...
aaww tie neck blouse is so your great, easy yet pretty style! add it as a staple for sure!!
11/3/09 2:04 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Gorgeous colour on you Nancy.
11/5/09 5:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

New Look 6722

photo
by: cahmad

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-118

photo
by: Anne Cherr...

Review
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now