SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4675 (Socks)

3 more reviews
Viewed 253 times 
Reviewed by:jannw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jannwstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 9/3/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/09 7:48 PM
Last Updated:11/12/09 2:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JTink said...
Jannw, thanks for the heads up on the sizes. I also like the idea of loose elastic around the top. I found some of the non-skid at Joanns yesterday and plan to make these tomorrow. Thanks again.
11/14/09 2:50 PM
Kayseri said...
These look great. I love hte idea of using shelf grip for the sole - I'm going to steal that for my next pair of slippers.
11/13/09 4:35 AM
ClaireF in CA said...
OOOOO! I just love your slippers! They look so toasty warm and are so cute! I just got the "green pepper" fleece sock pattern - wish I had seen your review first! Another pattern for the wish list!
11/12/09 7:18 PM
jannw said...
thank you all for your kind comments...JTink-If the sole size is the same, it should work..can you see a overlap on the side of the bootie? That should give you an indication of width.Do any of his regular shoes have a removable inner sole? A woman's 9 is about a man's 5 if I am remembering correctly. It would be fairly easy to put a casing in at ankle level and run some elastic also, if you think they might flop a bit.
11/12/09 6:39 PM
Claire in Montreal said...
They're cute ! I wear a 9 too - can I borrow them ? LOL
11/12/09 5:14 PM
JTink said...
I'm so glad you made these. I bought this pattern with my husband's Christmas present in mind. I already cut out the top and pants. I was holding off on the slipper because I haven't found the non-skid yet. I was thinking of using white vinyl. But if all else fails, that shelf liner idea is a winner. You said you wear a 9 shoe and made an extra small slipper. My husband wears a 10. I was planning on using the XL for him. I compared it with a pair of bootie slippers he wore last year and they are the same sole size. Do you think it would be too large for him? Thanks so much for all the added tips.
11/12/09 3:26 PM
RLL said...
gripping shelf liner....brilliant!
11/12/09 2:50 PM
CynthiaSue said...
great christmas idea!! thanks!!!
11/12/09 1:38 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Really like these!
11/12/09 11:12 AM
MaryDB said...
What a great way to use up leftover fabric! So cute.
11/11/09 11:50 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Warm feet after an invigorating winter walk, eh!! ;)
11/11/09 11:19 PM
Renren said...
These really are a great idea and using the gripping shelf liner was an inspiration. Very cozy looking and my prediction for you: warm feet ahead!
11/11/09 10:25 PM
Sandi S said...
cute!
11/11/09 10:22 PM
Catbird said...
What a great idea! They're so practical and fun, too.
11/11/09 8:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

New Look 6852

photo
by: valgal

Review
Simplicity 3803 (circa 1965)

photo
by: sugarduck

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

More Info
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

More Info