Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4712 (Men's Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 322 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/09 4:12 PM
Last Updated:11/12/09 4:24 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
That's a fine looking shirt in itself, Peter, and it looks great on you. I certainly agree that the lines of those older patterns were ever so much more becoming to men than virtually all current patterns are, though I notice that the newer Islander shirts claim they are more fitted.
11/12/09 5:10 PM
Christas said...
You did a very nice job on this. Thanks for the very well written, and informative review!
11/12/09 5:20 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Peter you obviously didn't read my comments about the white blouse McCalls 5522 that I made. I washed my hand so many times they stayed wrinkled for a week. We learn from our mistakes. Great shirt anyway.
11/12/09 5:47 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
VERY nice white shirt!! Quite handy for "those" required social rituals, eh... What, with your LBD, you're ready for anything!! ;)
11/12/09 6:32 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Great job.
11/12/09 6:37 PM
carolynw said...
Nicer shirt Peter - will take you to a lot of events but I miss that floral!!
11/12/09 6:47 PM
Meredith P said...
I enjoyed your review(s) very much (although I haven't gotten to the LBD yet--been out of touch). You've probably already checked out the wonderful book "Shirtmaking" by David Page Coffin, but if you haven't, and you want to try a different placket method than Islander, you might like his book. The book was a big turning point in my sewing, and not just shirts!
11/12/09 7:51 PM
Sewing Joe said...
Great looking shirt. Your pics are awesome!
11/12/09 8:14 PM
Renren said...
I enjoyed the drama as detailed in the white (shirt) album and I especially enjoyed reading about your mistakes--and this IS NOT schadenfreude. It comforts me to know in my personal struggles in sewing room hell that better sewists also make mistakes and it is OKAY because it is a learning process and in the end something is created. No matter, you have a great white shirt. One day, I, too . . . will try this!
11/12/09 8:19 PM
Nancy K said...
Great review. Sometimes familiarity breeds the 'I know how to do it' syndrome, which I am quite familiar with. You do something so many times that you get complacent and it come up to bite you or humble you as the case may be. Thanks for reminding me of the thorough cleaning my sewing room needs before I cut out my white shirt! It's a nice looking shirt. About the interfacing, I like to use more like 15 seconds for fusing.
11/12/09 8:25 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. Well done.
11/12/09 10:23 PM
JEF said...
Nice shirt! Thanks for the honesty about your goofs - they are EXACTLY the sorts of things I do. When will it end??
11/12/09 10:35 PM
fourkid said...
Great review - I love to read about your sewing adventures. Thanks for the tips on sewing white - I have one to do soon in white - and will take your cautions seriously.
11/13/09 9:01 AM
Nancy Anne said...
As always, your review is a great read! Beautiful button placket and shirt in general. You will be using this for years to come..... er.... as long as you keep anything that comes into contact clean, that is.
11/13/09 9:22 AM
eugenia123 said...
You can't beat a classic white shirt and this is a real beauty. Great job and very informative and funny review.
11/13/09 12:28 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks for the comments, everybody. I don't think the goofs ever end, sadly. I guess one tries to just diminish their frequency. In my Picasa album you'll see I actually got some of my shirtfront caught in a buttonhole (Eek!). That was quite a whopper and, thankfully, salvageable, but the only way I can think of avoiding something like that is to sew only when I feel fully alert, which for most of us may not be possible all the time. Didn't I hear somewhere that "there are no mistakes, just lessons to be learned?" That SOUNDS good but it generally doesn't feel that way as you're ripping pieces of shirtfront out of your buttonhole!
11/13/09 1:53 PM
Karendee said...
Excellent review including pictures. You did a great job on your white shirt.
11/13/09 5:30 PM
Meredith P said...
Well, who hasn't gotten a garment part caught in a buttonhole!? I know I have...more than once. Now that we can machine embroider at home...well, let's just say a design can be a GIANT buttonhole!
11/13/09 6:58 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your new shirt looks great.
11/14/09 6:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

HotPatterns 1057
photo
Review by emo on 10/30/07
Read Review

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5522 Misses shirts
photo
Review by Renee B on 9/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3609 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3609 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6781 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6781 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us