Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2009-110 (Pleat-front skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 283 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/09 11:09 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Wonderful new skirt! As always, your work is so detailed. Really nice.
11/13/09 11:20 AM
tg33 said...
I think I've seen it mentioned before that the BWOF models are very long legged, and the patterns tend to look longer in real life, which would explain what you found?
11/13/09 11:28 AM
chicaem29 said...
Love your skirt! I'm glad to see your review - I had forgotten about this skirt and I think it would be perfect for a fabric I just bought. Plus it's really helpful in alerting me to fitting/instruction issues! I was debating between a pencil or A-line skirt and this seems like a good compromise of the two. Anyways, the plaid looks great and your welt pockets are lovely!
11/13/09 11:29 AM
squirrellypoo said...
tg33 - I suppose that might be the case, but I'm 5'8" so I'm not exactly petite and their skirt hems usually fall on me approximately where they say...
11/13/09 11:40 AM
eugenia123 said...
I love this skirt - it's looks so beautifully made and the fabric is perfect for it.
11/13/09 12:09 PM
kathigarn said...
This is one of the patterns I thought was cute in the magazine. I think it is even cuter now! Great job!
11/13/09 12:28 PM
Mary Nanna said...
I laughed when I read your review because I have struggled through "piping" and "abutting lines" on a dress I made with double welt pockets from BWOF. My personal favourite though, is there use of "slit" to mean the front fly opening. When they direct you to sew the back up to the front opening slit, it does give you pause for a little snigger.
11/13/09 12:56 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty skirt. Great job on pockets.
11/14/09 7:55 AM
Renren said...
This little skirt is just perfect--perfect welt pockets, perfect plaid matching, perfect zipper installation, perfect choice of fabric . . . perfect.
11/14/09 8:23 AM
OP Gal said...
Cute skirt. That's a beautiful plaid. Congratulations on the smokin' hot welt pockets. Those aren't easy to get perfect. Thank you for the detailed review.
11/15/09 8:44 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
A beautiful skirt, thank you for taking us through the steps and pitfalls of the pattern.
1/21/12 10:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by Sweetheart... on 2/22/11
Read Review

Burda 7148 Pattern
Burda 7148 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5456 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5456 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6515 Misses Tops
photo
Review by Nancywin on 3/23/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us