SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2009-110 (Pleat-front skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 283 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/09 11:09 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Wonderful new skirt! As always, your work is so detailed. Really nice.
11/13/09 11:20 AM
tg33 said...
I think I've seen it mentioned before that the BWOF models are very long legged, and the patterns tend to look longer in real life, which would explain what you found?
11/13/09 11:28 AM
chicaem29 said...
Love your skirt! I'm glad to see your review - I had forgotten about this skirt and I think it would be perfect for a fabric I just bought. Plus it's really helpful in alerting me to fitting/instruction issues! I was debating between a pencil or A-line skirt and this seems like a good compromise of the two. Anyways, the plaid looks great and your welt pockets are lovely!
11/13/09 11:29 AM
squirrellypoo said...
tg33 - I suppose that might be the case, but I'm 5'8" so I'm not exactly petite and their skirt hems usually fall on me approximately where they say...
11/13/09 11:40 AM
eugenia123 said...
I love this skirt - it's looks so beautifully made and the fabric is perfect for it.
11/13/09 12:09 PM
kathigarn said...
This is one of the patterns I thought was cute in the magazine. I think it is even cuter now! Great job!
11/13/09 12:28 PM
Mary Nanna said...
I laughed when I read your review because I have struggled through "piping" and "abutting lines" on a dress I made with double welt pockets from BWOF. My personal favourite though, is there use of "slit" to mean the front fly opening. When they direct you to sew the back up to the front opening slit, it does give you pause for a little snigger.
11/13/09 12:56 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty skirt. Great job on pockets.
11/14/09 7:55 AM
Renren said...
This little skirt is just perfect--perfect welt pockets, perfect plaid matching, perfect zipper installation, perfect choice of fabric . . . perfect.
11/14/09 8:23 AM
OP Gal said...
Cute skirt. That's a beautiful plaid. Congratulations on the smokin' hot welt pockets. Those aren't easy to get perfect. Thank you for the detailed review.
11/15/09 8:44 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
A beautiful skirt, thank you for taking us through the steps and pitfalls of the pattern.
1/21/12 10:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: j Renee De...

Review
Simplicity 4273

photo
by: Sew Passio...

Review
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now