SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1099 (Plain & Simple Princess Shirt)

20 more reviews
Viewed 571 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 10:27 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Absolutely cheerful and cute. I like the collar and do not find it big. Sweet color.
11/15/09 10:50 AM
Re Becca said...
I like the collar. This looks fabulous on you! I wondered about their new instructions on this top, you should check out Pam's "off the cuff" tutorial.
11/15/09 11:19 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Great color - makes my mouth water. The collar would have a more traditional lapel appearance when sewn using Pam's tutorial. The upper and lower collars are connected, leaving only a small notch at the collar edge, and the result curves snugly around the neck.
11/15/09 11:23 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks ladies! I just added the links to Pam's tutotials. They are handy to have! I am still wondering if I have the "original" set of HP instructions. Hmmmm....
11/15/09 11:37 AM
davin said...
Thanks, I just ordered this pattern. I usually just tissue fit, but because of your cautionary message, I'll do a musln -- ok, ok! I do suspect this company of seductive, sometimes misleading fashion illustrations.
11/15/09 12:47 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Heatherrique... This HP style is my All-Time Favorite Shirt, even better than the ones I draft myself (and I'm a ShirtMaker by profession)! I've made it in all sorts of fabrics and just love how versatile it is :) I am glad you found my tutorials about constructing this classic collar/lapel helpful. There are other HotPatterns tutorials and more helpful sewing tips/techniques on my blog site too. Stop by any time at http://Off-The-Cuff-Style.blogspot.com
11/15/09 12:48 PM
carolynw said...
Very pretty - I like how this looks on you even if you aren't 100% - love that fabric too
11/15/09 4:03 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's a really cute blouse and looks good despite your reservations. If you made it again you'd find it easier.
11/15/09 4:12 PM
Barbara V said...
So cute. All of your adjustments made the proportions right for you and belting it makes a nice look. Great work!
11/15/09 4:13 PM
Renren said...
Oh, I DO like it and with your links you've made this a tutorial for the rest of us. Love that happy fabric!
11/15/09 6:12 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review AND I love the clip of Nat King Cole and Betty Hutton. As for this blouse, it's SO pretty in such a BEAUTIFUL color on you. Absolutely a PERFECT fit, too, AS USUAL. :o)
11/15/09 6:26 PM
Jali said...
Striking colour. It's lovely to see your colourfully inspired tops always. They are just fun. Love what you did with the sleeves here too.
11/16/09 10:00 AM
Christas said...
Orange is definitely YOUR color! This looks very pretty on you. Your adjustments turned this into a very nice top. Glad you didn't give up on it...... looks like a keeper for sure.
11/17/09 10:59 PM
eugenia123 said...
A wonderful shirt and that colour is so delicious! And what a great review, entertaining and informative - perfect!
11/18/09 5:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 37509-1005

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1004

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now