Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1099 (Plain & Simple Princess Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 568 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 10:27 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Absolutely cheerful and cute. I like the collar and do not find it big. Sweet color.
11/15/09 10:50 AM
Re Becca said...
I like the collar. This looks fabulous on you! I wondered about their new instructions on this top, you should check out Pam's "off the cuff" tutorial.
11/15/09 11:19 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Great color - makes my mouth water. The collar would have a more traditional lapel appearance when sewn using Pam's tutorial. The upper and lower collars are connected, leaving only a small notch at the collar edge, and the result curves snugly around the neck.
11/15/09 11:23 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks ladies! I just added the links to Pam's tutotials. They are handy to have! I am still wondering if I have the "original" set of HP instructions. Hmmmm....
11/15/09 11:37 AM
davin said...
Thanks, I just ordered this pattern. I usually just tissue fit, but because of your cautionary message, I'll do a musln -- ok, ok! I do suspect this company of seductive, sometimes misleading fashion illustrations.
11/15/09 12:47 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Heatherrique... This HP style is my All-Time Favorite Shirt, even better than the ones I draft myself (and I'm a ShirtMaker by profession)! I've made it in all sorts of fabrics and just love how versatile it is :) I am glad you found my tutorials about constructing this classic collar/lapel helpful. There are other HotPatterns tutorials and more helpful sewing tips/techniques on my blog site too. Stop by any time at http://Off-The-Cuff-Style.blogspot.com
11/15/09 12:48 PM
carolynw said...
Very pretty - I like how this looks on you even if you aren't 100% - love that fabric too
11/15/09 4:03 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's a really cute blouse and looks good despite your reservations. If you made it again you'd find it easier.
11/15/09 4:12 PM
Barbara V said...
So cute. All of your adjustments made the proportions right for you and belting it makes a nice look. Great work!
11/15/09 4:13 PM
Renren said...
Oh, I DO like it and with your links you've made this a tutorial for the rest of us. Love that happy fabric!
11/15/09 6:12 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review AND I love the clip of Nat King Cole and Betty Hutton. As for this blouse, it's SO pretty in such a BEAUTIFUL color on you. Absolutely a PERFECT fit, too, AS USUAL. :o)
11/15/09 6:26 PM
Jali said...
Striking colour. It's lovely to see your colourfully inspired tops always. They are just fun. Love what you did with the sleeves here too.
11/16/09 10:00 AM
Christas said...
Orange is definitely YOUR color! This looks very pretty on you. Your adjustments turned this into a very nice top. Glad you didn't give up on it...... looks like a keeper for sure.
11/17/09 10:59 PM
eugenia123 said...
A wonderful shirt and that colour is so delicious! And what a great review, entertaining and informative - perfect!
11/18/09 5:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick B5211
photo
Review by andread on 6/1/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7654
photo
Review by TJSEWS on 7/30/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1807 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1807 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us