SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1117 (Michael Kors Dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1254 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 417 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/09 12:16 PM
Last Updated:11/14/09 12:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kathi s said...
I will be attending my 50th Reunion in September and am going to try to make this dress for the party. Your review is really helpful and I plan to refer to it a lot. I will probably do a muslin first as my skills are not as accomplished as yours and I want to avoid disaster.
1/3/10 1:54 AM
guillorypr said...
Wow12/4/09 10:28 AM
mesewlot said...
Awesome!Awesome!Awesome! This i one of the patterns on my list. I'm glad you did this review. OMG, the addition of the sweater took this dress to another level. It's such a swank look! I will definitely be making this one.
11/22/09 6:00 PM
ramirezi said...
Very well done! The fit is amazing.
11/15/09 6:43 PM
elainemay said...
Gorgeous! I've been dying to make this dress, and your beautiful version is just another kick in the pants! You look fabulous in it.
11/15/09 6:26 PM
MichelleE said...
This style looks gorgeous on you. Well done!!
11/15/09 12:21 PM
Erica B. said...
Fran G., Thanks! For Spring I want a lovely floral print. I'd like for it to have some stretch. I've found that a little lycra is my friend. :) BetsyV, my fabric has stretch so no problem with sitting or walking. Plus I like pencil skirts and sheath dresses to be pegged.
11/15/09 11:31 AM
BetsyV said...
The dress looks great! I just am cutting out a mockup, having fit a muslin. I had to straighten out some of the skirt's pegging so I could sit down in it (athletic thighs). Is it comfortable on you to sit down in? You didn't mention that particular aspect in your review. Thanks and gorgeous!
11/15/09 11:11 AM
Ellenatlga said...
GORGEOUS!! The color, the fit, FAB!
11/15/09 9:17 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful dress..you are so pretty! The fit is just perfect...as always! Thanks for this review. What sort of fabric will you use for your summer version? This dress will be more useful to me in warmer times. I suspect something with stretch? Any thoughts?
11/15/09 7:53 AM
Annette1 said...
I can tell just by looking at that bodice that it should be in the "advanced" category. Beautifully sewn, too, just beautiful!
11/15/09 0:54 AM
Mebber said...
Stunning.
11/15/09 0:11 AM
CinLou said...
Beautiful dress. I like yours better than the designer dress.
11/14/09 9:13 PM
Linda S said...
Nice dress!
11/14/09 7:50 PM
Nancy K said...
It's pretty fabulous on you!
11/14/09 7:19 PM
lizpalmer said...
Skillfully done, as always. You look a million dollars. I love the detail in this dress. Great job.
11/14/09 7:10 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely dress!
11/14/09 7:04 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful as always - you do such great work
11/14/09 6:32 PM
janet said...
Your work on this dress is impeccable as always. You look like a MOVIE STAR!
11/14/09 5:46 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Average or Advanced this dress is great on you. Beautiful dress.
11/14/09 4:56 PM
RLL said...
Love the details of this dress. Nicely done.
11/14/09 4:29 PM
Wino said...
Beautiful dress ! The diagonal seaming in the front is gorgeous.
11/14/09 4:20 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful dress. You always look so glamorous in everything you make. Wish I'd had your sewing skill when I was your age :) Thanks for a great review.
11/14/09 4:19 PM
Erica B. said...
DreinPA, the fabric remnant is to be turned to the inside. It just seemed too fussy and more trouble than it was worth.
11/14/09 3:16 PM
Carolyn C said...
What a classic. Good job, and you wear it beautifully.
11/14/09 3:09 PM
DreinPA said...
Are there susequent directions to step 8 that have you remove the square of fabric? Sure sounds like a typo, except the depicted pieces are shaded to match the verbiage. Nonetheless, stunning as always.
11/14/09 2:53 PM
Beek said...
Very professional looking dress. And check out the price of the "starlet" dress - $1800!!! Nice work.
11/14/09 2:46 PM
Meredith P said...
Beautiful job as usual! I've had this one on my list since it came out. Thanks for the very helpful review.
11/14/09 2:40 PM
Bunsnpigs said...
I can only hope to aspire to this level of elegance. What a lovely dress. What a beautiful job you did on it.
11/14/09 2:31 PM
Athene said...
A beautifully fitted dress that as usual you look fabulous in. Thank you for the great pictures and great review.
11/14/09 1:50 PM
Athene said...
A beautifully fitted dress that as usual you look fabulous in. Thank you for the great pictures and great review.
11/14/09 1:50 PM
pammieh said...
I'd love to have a dress like this!!
11/14/09 1:42 PM
birdmcfarland said...
This is just gorgeous. You look like a movie star. Seriously.
11/14/09 1:42 PM
Deborah L said...
Very Nice. So couture looking. Very nicely done. I like yours better than Michael Kors.
11/14/09 1:33 PM
MaryDB said...
Good for your for tackling this pattern! the dress looks great and the fit is terrific, nice work.
11/14/09 12:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-125

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now