Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5804 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 586 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/09 5:43 AM
Last Updated:11/15/09 5:53 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry you had such a hard time with the pattern, but the result looks all right to me (likewise the blue dress you made last year). Maybe you'll get used to the dress, or find ways to improve the fit further. It would be a shame to waste that lovely fabric. Making fitted styles successfully can be difficult. When I began sewing many years ago, fashion was less fitted and it was much easier to make a satisfactory garment.
11/15/09 6:01 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks Freya. I really appreciate your supportive comments =). The blue dress fits OK but I just feel uncomfortable in the high contrast print - it's just not me. But I do intend to wear this one! The problem with loose fitting top/dress styles on me is that they make me look pregnant! Loose fitting pants/skirts I love.
11/15/09 5:02 PM
Nancy K said...
I like this version on you much better than the first. The fabric doesn't drape enough for the under bust gathers to be flattering. This one looks wonderful on you.
11/15/09 7:40 PM
Mary Nanna said...
You look great in the photos! That seems to be a good style for you even if you had a lot of trouble making it fit.
11/15/09 7:41 PM
Julia C said...
I think this looks very nice on you. I would wear that & I basically am only comfortable in solids.
11/15/09 8:01 PM
o3b said...
Your photo doesn't give away the discomfort you feel when wearing the dress. The second (crossover) version is more flattering on you, although I think you could get away with either one, too.
11/16/09 4:52 AM
Fluffy bunny said...
I think this dress looks really great on you! I have the pattern myself and have found your comments on the round-necked bodice very useful (it looks fine on you, but on my G cups I would have more than a passing resemblance to a buxom barmaid). However, the crossover neckline is even better on you and the fabric is fab!
7/14/10 2:11 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Fluffy bunny - good luck with your dress! After this review, I actually ended up ripping the zip out of this dress and taking a big wedge of fabric out of the upper back. This stopped the shoulders falling off and improved the fit no end.
7/15/10 7:05 PM
MNBarb said...
I came to your review via the thread. I've had the same issues with sleeves. I really like the sleeveless wrap version of this dress on you. It's either very flattering or you have a talented photographer. If it makes you feel any better about your fitting woes I'm about to throw a shirt pattern in the woodstove after working all day on an ill-fitting shirt.
11/13/10 11:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

New Look 6429
photo
Review by JuanitaVA on 7/3/11
Read Review

Burda 8501 Pattern
Burda 8501 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6284
photo
Review by Andreahg on 12/21/11
Read Review

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us