SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V1145 

Viewed 767 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/09 3:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
This looks great despite your comments about it not being the right fabric. It really looks cozy and comfy and I was thinking about all those kids soccer games just before you mentioned it.
11/19/09 3:55 PM
Barbara V said...
Great coat. It does appear different from the pattern view, but oh so nice. It has a very warm and cozy look and nice fit too.
11/19/09 5:40 PM
DorothyK said...
Looks fantastic. Would it be nice in a woven wool?
11/19/09 6:06 PM
kkkkaty said...
thx for the generally positive review, I have this in my stash and like the look of the pattern
11/19/09 6:25 PM
moushka said...
Nice to see your version, Ann. Looks very cozy, perfect for Canadian winters although a little warm for California. It would be lovely in a lighter fabric.
11/19/09 6:44 PM
marec said...
I'm thrilled to see this pattern made up. It appeals to me but I cannot wear that style. Your new fleece soccer coat is beautiful and fits you well.
11/19/09 7:28 PM
Em's Summer said...
Very pretty!
11/19/09 7:29 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very timely -- I'm just back from buying fleece to make this.
11/19/09 7:37 PM
beth5646 said...
I love your coat. Thanks for the review
11/19/09 7:50 PM
loti said...
I bought this pattern in the last vogue sale. Thank you for reviewing it, I have an irish tweed that I might use for it. Yours looks wonderful, and I don't know what the back of the fleece looks like, but I like the contrast in the pics.
11/19/09 7:55 PM
Ann Smith said...
DorothyK, a woven would be no problem although you might want to change the edge treatment to something other than serged all around. Fit should be fine.
11/19/09 8:08 PM
lmg said...
I think it looks fabulous...warm and cozy. Just right for Canadian fall. And I like your version better than the envelope pic
11/20/09 0:15 AM
digs57 said...
It's beautiful, I'm very glad you showed it to us. I'm really seeing it in a boiled wool as well - as you said, with edge treatment.
11/20/09 6:52 AM
barbcl said...
A wow coat in a gorgeous fabric. Love it!
11/20/09 10:45 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for reviewing this. It might actually be a pattern I could make. Your sizing tips are helpful.
11/20/09 8:38 PM
ClaireOKC said...
I love the fabric you picked - it looks perfect. Actually I made mine up in a heavy-weight wool tweed, and thought it was a little light...I guess we all had a vision about what this coat was supposed to do, and each one was different. I ended up doing a little more finishing work on mine to be exactly what I wanted, adn that took about a week of tweaking it, wearing it, tweaking some more, wearing it again, and on, but I got it just the way I wanted it.
11/23/09 10:09 AM
ClaireOKC said...
I love the fabric you picked - it looks perfect. Actually I made mine up in a heavy-weight wool tweed, and thought it was a little light...I guess we all had a vision about what this coat was supposed to do, and each one was different. I ended up doing a little more finishing work on mine to be exactly11/23/09 10:10 AM
waltzqueen said...
I think the contrast under side looks great and breaks up the large expanse of the "right" side. Do you think trimming back the collar several inches would make the coat more manageable?
11/23/09 2:40 PM
Trudy J said...
Thanks! I was looking at the pattern on the Vogue site. It actually looks great on you, but it sounds like it might be a tad too much coat for my 5'.
12/10/09 7:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick B5751

photo
by: Louweezy23

Review
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
Other Autumn love

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review