Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8594 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 959 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 103 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/09 1:40 PM
Last Updated:11/28/09 1:51 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Stunning! The fit is perfection and your plaid matching is absolutely amazing given all the seams in this dress. You do wear it well.
11/28/09 1:46 PM
Beek said...
Wonderful review! I am SO happy you reviewed this pattern since I have it in my stash. I am now excited about making it up!
11/28/09 2:07 PM
Janie Viers said...
WOW WOW WOW I can't saw WOW too many times! The more expensive that a garment is directly relates to the cut. In this case you made a million dollar dress with superb matching and tailoring (or just plain darn good cutting and pressing) I have seen garments in stores that cost OVER $300 who have ill matched plaids and stripes. THIS GARMENT IS A TOUR DE FORCE! (looks great on you too!) PS The shoes are the perfect touch!
11/28/09 2:08 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow! Gorgeous. Your OCD regarding matching the plaid certainly paid off as this dress looks very expensive and custom.
11/28/09 2:13 PM
Tailypo said...
Okay, I already knew you were in the category of Mad Genius when it comes to sewing, but now it is official. Your plaid matching is of course top notch, and the fit is splendid. But you are SCARY. Scary good! But scary. In a way I love! But also fear, because it is somehow inhuman, the awesomeness of this. I love you! Don't hurt me!!
11/28/09 2:50 PM
Dynamo said...
Beautiful work!
11/28/09 4:22 PM
Lisa p said...
WOW , I wish I were astalented as you . That dress is a work of art !
11/28/09 4:25 PM
Fictionfan said...
Beautiful! I thought this pattern was a definite pass until I saw your review. Lovely details! Very flattering!
11/28/09 6:52 PM
lamstu said...
Sometimes being OCD is an asset! An absolutely stunning dress is your happy result. I wish I had anywhere to wear something like this, although I wouldn't probably go for the plaid, even with my own OCD issues :)
11/28/09 7:07 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice and great job with the plaid.
11/28/09 7:40 PM
Barbara V said...
This dress has intrigued me with it's beautiful lines as made up in solid color. Now your plaid version is obsolutely incredible....like the "rubiks cube" of matching plaids...quite the puzzle. Fantastic work and it looks lovely on you!
11/28/09 7:52 PM
Erica B. said...
That dress looks incredible! And the plaid matching? Just fabulous!
11/28/09 9:54 PM
valerie sews said...
Love love the dress. Your matching of the plaid, especially in the back is impressive.
11/29/09 4:29 AM
Shellia said...
Beautiful matching of the plaids to create a stunning dress.
11/29/09 8:03 AM
Nata said...
Your waist looks two sizes smaller due to the direction of plaid at the waist (not that you need it to look smaller but nice anyway). Love it.
11/29/09 8:24 AM
becca a said...
Wow! Fabulous matching of your plaids. What a great dress. Thanks for sharing the process in a great review.
11/29/09 9:05 AM
MissCelie said...
I'm amazed by the plaid matching work. Gorgeous!
12/13/09 1:30 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Wow, thanks for posting here again, we learn so much from you! I'm adding this to all the tips I've gathered for my first attempt at sewing a plaid dress. Your dress looks top-notch!
12/13/09 2:06 PM
RoseOK said...
You did an awesome job matching up the plaid. The dress looks fabulous.
2/25/10 9:52 AM
dilucentelj said...
Amazing dress! I would have never considered this style in plaid, but you made it work beautifully! Excellent fit, too! Wow!
6/1/10 8:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 8392
photo
Review by Elle B on 4/16/10
Read Review

Simplicity 3669 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 3669 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6525
photo
Review by Trinity. on 1/13/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us