Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 7229 (vintage girl's coat) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 737 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:colorkitten
photo
About colorkittenstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/19/08
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/09 12:58 PM
Last Updated:12/15/09 11:32 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CissieW said...
Love the coat. It is precious! Did you use snaps instead of buttons and buttonholes?
11/30/09 1:26 PM
marec said...
What girl (little or big) doesn't want a red coat? She is adorable and so is the coat. I'm so glad you finished-it looks great.
11/30/09 1:39 PM
Jolet said...
I love this coat. I like your story about how your daughter and how she thinks about the coat! I would have loved this coat it as a little girl. I wasn't very keen on clothes in general, but on coats I was.
11/30/09 3:30 PM
Heatherbelle said...
That is totally gorgeous - my daughter would love one just like it. It looks like every girl's dream of a ladylike coat from a picture book.
11/30/09 3:44 PM
21wale said...
This coat is wonderful! I like to test my sewing techniques on my kids' clothes, too, before I use them for my clothes.
11/30/09 5:12 PM
Karendee said...
This coat on your precious daughter is a work of art. I love the style and the color is gorgeous. I hope the coat's wearability is a huge success.
11/30/09 6:06 PM
Elemenopeo said...
wow- adorable
11/30/09 6:06 PM
Ceidhle said...
Oh that coat is so beautiful and it looks wonderful on your precious daughter. One can tell by the pictures that she is thrilled with her new coat. Aren't little girls a joy!
11/30/09 6:24 PM
colorkitten said...
Thanks everyone! Now we just have to wait for it to actually go below 50 degrees here! Cissie - I thought of doing snaps but decided to do real buttonholes & buttons, I don't think it'll be any more work getting it on and off. So I say now....I may be sorry!
11/30/09 6:45 PM
Catbird said...
Your little sweetheart in that coat is a joy to see. She will be the envy of all the other little girls and will stay warm and toasty all winter, too!
11/30/09 8:51 PM
Erin D said...
Wow, what a beautiful coat! The black buttons look great with the red color.
11/30/09 9:21 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh that is so beautiful. I would have loved a coat like that as a little girl. She is very lucky to have such a talented mum and I hope she continues to enjoy the coat all winter (and doesn't grow too fast after all that work you put into it).
12/1/09 3:51 AM
Peter in NYC said...
What a fantastic coat. Great review, too, and I love that you used that old Butterick pattern. You're daughter looks adorable, btw. Super work!
12/1/09 8:24 AM
Paris75008 said...
Oh my gosh, what an adorable coat. The fabric, color choices and sewing are just perfect and you lovely little girl looks like a little princess wearing it. If I had a coat like that, I would want to wear it every day too!
12/1/09 12:36 PM
yummymummy38 said...
gorgeous coat, lucky daughter. You should make yourself one to match!
12/1/09 8:34 PM
HLT said...
This is so me but int he wrong size. Love the color and the sway of the hem. Nicely done! Well worth the effort and what a lucky little girl!
12/1/09 8:57 PM
lynnewill said...
I could not agree more with everyones comments. Its simply precious, the color is luscious and your daughter is adorable. What a great combo. You did a lovely job on this coat and your patience and hard work really paid off. I know you will enjoy seeing her in it regularly. Hey I believe snow is on its way to you in fact as I type.
12/2/09 10:39 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous coat!!
12/3/09 11:56 AM
homejewel said...
I think you have created a family heirloom. What a treasure!
12/3/09 12:20 PM
superovita said...
bravo!! you are one smart mama! not only does she have a **wonderful, one-of-a-kind coat** she has all the memories of creating with you; how many little girls have that today? beautiful coat, terrific review, thank you for the smile :-)
12/3/09 12:49 PM
katlew03 said...
Beautiful coat. No wonder she loves it.
12/3/09 1:37 PM
Amanda S. said...
Fantastic coat! You are so smart to involve her in all the decisions for the project. Now, if I only had a girl...
12/3/09 3:09 PM
Catbird said...
It didn't seem possible that this could be even more charming, but that shot with the full-skirted dress is absolutely precious! I love all the care you put into this, and love her participation in the process. She has inherited your creative spirit, lucky girl.
12/3/09 4:42 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fan-ta-bulous! Luv the red! Luv to twirl! what more could a little girl ask for! You did a great job! Enjoy reading your review too.
12/3/09 10:31 PM
valerie sews said...
As many previous commenters have said - simply adorable. Love your daughter's fashion sense, love the way you came up with a solution, love the couture coat.
12/4/09 7:05 AM
Mimi O said...
<3 <3 <3 Love the Coat!!! When my daughter was this age it was hard to keep a coat on her as well and we live in the Adirondacks where the winter's can be very cold. You did a WONDERFUL job on it and you can tell by your photos that she loves the jacket. Nice job and I am sure she will want another one next year!
12/4/09 7:20 AM
lindaII said...
Best coat EVER.
12/4/09 10:43 AM
Tesla121 said...
What a gorgeous coat and a beautiful little girl!
12/4/09 8:47 PM
lucylal said...
By the sounds of it, it was a lot of hard work, but well worth the effort. It is gorgeous!!! My girls would love it!
12/6/09 6:50 AM
Kellie R. said...
Wow! Your daughter's coat is simply beautiful! Your hard work fitting with all of those gores really paid off because she must be the best dressed lady in red in all of NY. Everybody needs a red coat, even a little girl!
12/7/09 8:54 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
What a beautiful coat!
12/7/09 10:25 PM
colorkitten said...
thanks so much, everyone! I have to say, I am totally sold on the whole red coat thing after seeing this one in action. I'm going to need to find some more good red wool and stock up for the next few years' worth of coats. Not to mention - a red coat for me!
12/8/09 11:11 AM
lovenicky said...
Wow! So gorgeous! What a lucky little girl!
12/9/09 2:16 PM
kathleencramer said...
Wow- really a show stopper. Nice job. What a fabulous pattern.
12/15/09 5:28 PM
trintje said...
Emily and her new coat are so cute
12/16/09 5:55 AM
Annette1 said...
What a joy, seeing this beautiful red coat, so expertly tailored, on your beautiful little girl. I loved every single picture, and they brought back memories of the little red coat my mom made me, too, complete with a little fur trimmed hood. How I wish I had that coat now! I hope you save yours, so she'll have the keepsake when she gets older. We probably donated mine to somebody! :o)
12/16/09 1:28 PM
Katherine with a K said...
Fabulous coat! Curiously what type of buttonholes are used? I couldn't tell from the pictures. Thanks!
12/16/09 5:21 PM
bayartogtokh said...
i need pattern
12/17/09 3:03 AM
colorkitten said...
Thanks again, everyone! Annette, we will definitely be saving this one. Then again, if she demands a coat like this every year...I don't know if I want to save 12 of them! And Katherine, the buttonholes are machine, I was originally going to take the coat to a tailor but I was able to do them with no trouble on my machine to my surprise! I considered doing bound buttonholes but at that point was doing everything I could to reduce bulk and thought it would be a bad idea.
12/17/09 10:27 AM
Katherine with a K said...
Fabulous coat! Curiously what type of buttonholes are used? I couldn't tell from the pictures. Thanks!
12/17/09 10:52 AM
anncie1 said...
I missed out on the voting on this contest but just wanted to tell you that this coat is AWESOME! It's all that!
12/29/09 10:11 PM
3HoursPast said...
This is such an awesome coat. Reminds me of the one on this blog.. http://www.blogforbettersewing.com/2010/01/finished-coat.html Well done, what a lucky little girl to have such a clever mommy!
1/23/10 3:16 AM
fashionablysew said...
Clearly this a popular coat and for good reason. It is lovely. Nice job!
5/11/10 11:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Butterick 5608 misses top
photo
Review by Claverie on 8/18/11
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 000
photo
Review by Chris Stus... on 5/2/07
Read Review

McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us