SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8004 (Coat)

Viewed 906 times 
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarmenGstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/10 10:44 AM
Last Updated:3/2/10 1:05 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Accessories    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Wow, this is cool. So you are going to demo your techniques as you sew a coat for your mom. I'll be watching for the next installment. (Love that sewing room--so roomy and organized!)
11/29/09 0:17 AM
marec said...
It's going to be so pretty! What a nice present.
11/29/09 0:37 AM
Vonnevo said...
A fabulous pattern and fabric/notions choice ! It's great seeing your WIP - I feel as though I am right there with you in your favourite room :)
11/29/09 5:08 AM
Nata said...
Lois, it has a fabulous potential. Can't wait to see it finished.
11/29/09 8:19 AM
Patti B said...
Lois, what fun to watch you sew through this project! Your Mom will love it -- of course. Great lining to go with that yummy wool.
11/30/09 10:43 AM
Marie_P. said...
Thank you for such a detailed and helpful review. The coat is beautiful and as a beginner, I learned quite a bit from your review. Your mom will get quite a bit of use out of the coat. Its about 18 degrees in the Boston area today!
1/31/10 11:04 AM
digs57 said...
Lovely - I'm a great fan of this shape. The buttons and lining are gorgeous too. Outstanding!
1/31/10 11:49 AM
Nata said...
Looks beautiful. The color is stunning and the work is perfect. Your mom is one lucky lady.
1/31/10 12:00 PM
Kay Y said...
Beautiful coat! Your Mom will be thrilled.
1/31/10 2:22 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a stunning coat! Fabulous!
1/31/10 6:14 PM
Michelle L said...
Great coat! I love the color, and the lining you chose is a perfect compliment.
1/31/10 8:34 PM
apple annie said...
WOW, it is absolutely gorgeous!! Your mom will be so thrilled to have this special coat with all the wonderful details you've incorporated. Great review, you are an inspiration!!
1/31/10 9:07 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous coat.
1/31/10 11:16 PM
becca a said...
Your lucky mom will be so happy with her new coat--it is lovely! Thank you for the very detailed and well illustrated review.
2/1/10 7:40 AM
marjenann said...
Stunning coat!! Absolute perfection.
2/1/10 7:59 AM
KathySews said...
I bet your mom loves this coat. Thanks for all the details. This demonstrates that patterns do not include sewing knowledge.
2/1/10 8:22 AM
JudyP said...
What a beautiful coat! The details are divine! I love everything about it! I would pay $300+ in RTW for this!
2/1/10 8:55 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful coat! Your mother will be thrilled
2/1/10 11:34 AM
nellc said...
Gorgeous coat!
2/1/10 5:45 PM
Jane S said...
I've always liked the lines of this pattern and now you've made a gorgeous coat from it. Wow, what a loving daughter you are. The lining is especially beautiful, too.
2/2/10 1:45 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful coat and as always impecable work. Your Mom is one lucky lady - bet she'll love wearing this
2/3/10 10:17 AM
senaSews said...
Beautiful coat and such a great color!
3/2/10 3:25 AM
Vonnevo said...
Lois, your Mom's very stylish coat suits her beautifully ! Fabulous work (once more) :)
3/2/10 4:13 AM
MegquiltsinVT said...
What a beauteous coat, and a fantastic color. A nice pick-me-up color for this time of year in the north east!! Well done.
3/2/10 5:42 AM
ElizabethDee said...
Everything here is wonderful -- the coat, the construction, the very helpful review, and, especially, the way the coat looks on your mother.
3/2/10 7:28 AM
Hilary said...
Wow, this turned out beautifully! Love the style, the color, the lining, buttons and the great flat satin piping/trim between the lining and the coat. Thanks for such a detailed review! Your mom obviously LOVES her coat, and it looks fantastic on her. I think I have this in my stash and am glad to finally see a review for it. Do you know of a book that describes how to line a coat that doesn't come with a lining pattern? I recently made a lined and underlined coat for my son (turned out well, despite the fact I was completely wingin' it!). It would have been nice to have a guide, lol!
3/2/10 9:59 AM
nineten said...
A really beautiful creation. Thank you for providing such a detailed review, and for sharing all of the photos, which are so helpful.
10/8/13 11:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Kwik Sew Raglan Sweatshirt

photo
by: Leu

Review
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now