SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8518 (MISSES' SKIRT)

2 more reviews
Viewed 645 times 
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ssssdebstar
UT United States
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/09 0:03 AM
Last Updated:12/5/09 6:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
thanks for all the pix. It is hard to get clarity on the darker fabrics--so the extra pix helped a lot. You've got a great figure and yes--I agree with you--that split above the waistline is particularly big. The Vogue line drawing doesn't seem to show it to be such a big split. Ugh...figuring these things out is what makes sharing pattern reviews so helpful. I've bought the pattern a while ago but never sewed it up. Your decorating/additional beading was very inventive. Nice job all around.
12/1/09 1:47 AM
BillieJean said...
Very pretty skirt. I've never noticed this pattern.
12/1/09 6:26 AM
Sharon M said...
Your skirt is beautiful. The lines of the skirt are nice and I like how you highlighted them with your piping and embroidery.
12/1/09 7:33 AM
ryansmumAria said...
wow fabulous. I would re do the back though.
12/1/09 7:40 AM
portercs said...
This is a very beautiful skirt!! And yes, I agree about the back split.
12/1/09 8:17 AM
Tiner W said...
That's a seriously beautiful skirt!
12/1/09 8:37 AM
nicegirl said...
That's fabulous! I bought all the supplies for needle felting several years ago but haven't actually gotten around to trying it. You are inspiring me!
12/1/09 8:40 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous skirt! Great embleshments!
12/1/09 10:45 AM
lamstu said...
Great skirt. The embellishment raises it to the next level!
12/1/09 10:46 AM
ssssdeb said...
I am going to rip out the back today and redo the zipper and try to close up more of the split. I'll post pictures when I get it done. Thanks for all the nice comments!
12/1/09 12:08 PM
marec said...
Oh wow, this is fabulous. The beadwork and felting are so cool.
12/1/09 4:12 PM
tess said...
Really lovely and classy skirt, beautifully made, great review thank you
12/2/09 4:50 AM
RLL said...
Wow, beautiful embellishing, really draws the eye.
12/2/09 10:54 AM
barbcl said...
Fancy and fabulous!
12/3/09 2:47 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is a work of art. Beautiful!!!
12/5/09 6:29 PM
Kayseri said...
This is terrific - this wouldn't look out of place in some designers show.
12/6/09 2:01 AM
kidmd said...
SO beautiful! The felting and beadwork really take it up a notch. Nice work!
12/6/09 7:33 AM
AnneM said...
Nice skirt, great details. You did a nice job revising that back-split, and your experience & review will forwarn others to watch for it.
12/8/09 8:35 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful fit with lovely embellishment.
12/9/09 6:55 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
What a fabulous skirt! I love your embellishment, just right. I'm glad you redid the back. On the earlier photos I thought the skirt didn't fit and you couldn't get the zipper all the way up. Once you redid it it looked like a design detail.
12/12/09 5:57 PM
MAD14kt said...
WOW! Lovely skirt and fit!
12/31/09 12:38 PM
LizBa said...
I love the way you embellished this skirt! What a great idea!
1/9/10 7:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now