Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8518 (MISSES' SKIRT) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 645 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo
Friend of PR
About ssssdebstar
UT USA
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/09 0:03 AM
Last Updated:12/5/09 6:10 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
thanks for all the pix. It is hard to get clarity on the darker fabrics--so the extra pix helped a lot. You've got a great figure and yes--I agree with you--that split above the waistline is particularly big. The Vogue line drawing doesn't seem to show it to be such a big split. Ugh...figuring these things out is what makes sharing pattern reviews so helpful. I've bought the pattern a while ago but never sewed it up. Your decorating/additional beading was very inventive. Nice job all around.
12/1/09 1:47 AM
BillieJean said...
Very pretty skirt. I've never noticed this pattern.
12/1/09 6:26 AM
Sharon M said...
Your skirt is beautiful. The lines of the skirt are nice and I like how you highlighted them with your piping and embroidery.
12/1/09 7:33 AM
ryansmumAria said...
wow fabulous. I would re do the back though.
12/1/09 7:40 AM
portercs said...
This is a very beautiful skirt!! And yes, I agree about the back split.
12/1/09 8:17 AM
Tiner W said...
That's a seriously beautiful skirt!
12/1/09 8:37 AM
nicegirl said...
That's fabulous! I bought all the supplies for needle felting several years ago but haven't actually gotten around to trying it. You are inspiring me!
12/1/09 8:40 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous skirt! Great embleshments!
12/1/09 10:45 AM
lamstu said...
Great skirt. The embellishment raises it to the next level!
12/1/09 10:46 AM
ssssdeb said...
I am going to rip out the back today and redo the zipper and try to close up more of the split. I'll post pictures when I get it done. Thanks for all the nice comments!
12/1/09 12:08 PM
marec said...
Oh wow, this is fabulous. The beadwork and felting are so cool.
12/1/09 4:12 PM
tess said...
Really lovely and classy skirt, beautifully made, great review thank you
12/2/09 4:50 AM
RLL said...
Wow, beautiful embellishing, really draws the eye.
12/2/09 10:54 AM
barbcl said...
Fancy and fabulous!
12/3/09 2:47 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is a work of art. Beautiful!!!
12/5/09 6:29 PM
Kayseri said...
This is terrific - this wouldn't look out of place in some designers show.
12/6/09 2:01 AM
kidmd said...
SO beautiful! The felting and beadwork really take it up a notch. Nice work!
12/6/09 7:33 AM
AnneM said...
Nice skirt, great details. You did a nice job revising that back-split, and your experience & review will forwarn others to watch for it.
12/8/09 8:35 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful fit with lovely embellishment.
12/9/09 6:55 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
What a fabulous skirt! I love your embellishment, just right. I'm glad you redid the back. On the earlier photos I thought the skirt didn't fit and you couldn't get the zipper all the way up. Once you redid it it looked like a design detail.
12/12/09 5:57 PM
MAD14kt said...
WOW! Lovely skirt and fit!
12/31/09 12:38 PM
LizBa said...
I love the way you embellished this skirt! What a great idea!
1/9/10 7:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 6331
photo
Review by Bapower57 on 9/6/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Coin Purse
You Sew Girl Coin Purse

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2734
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 10/26/10
Read Review

Vogue 8955 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8955 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5446 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 5446 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us