SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2111 (Men and Boys Dress Shirts)

7 more reviews
Viewed 491 times 
Reviewed by:fursey
photo

 
 
About fursey
NA IRELAND
Member since: 12/4/08
Reviews: 4 (patterns: 4)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/09 3:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fursey said... (12/7/09 7:28 AM) Reply
Thank you all for your helpful suggestions. I will definitely practise the buttonholes on scraps and make this shirt again. I will also look for that book.
Nancy Rhodes said... (12/6/09 11:14 AM) Reply
Nice shirt! well done in the face of adversity. You may enjoy reading and learning about mens shirts in David P Coffin's Shirtmaking book... it is an older book and many out there at an easy to handle price. The details and how to's are excellent and the illustrations very good in my opinion.... Now, on to the next shirt!
Margie T said... (12/6/09 6:56 AM) Reply
Nice shirt! Thanks for an enjoyable review and I'm glad there was a happy ending. You actually deserve a medal for handsewing all those buttonholes.
CynthiaSue said... (12/6/09 1:09 AM) Reply
very sweet story. very professional shirt. does not look homemade at all!!
Janie Viers said... (12/6/09 0:27 AM) Reply
Make sure that the sewing machine foot you use is the correct one. You need to use the buttonhole or embroidery foot. My girlfriend always hated her machine for buttonholing until she changed to the correct foot!
Passion4Sewing said... (12/5/09 8:03 PM) Reply
Great job! Your perseverance paid off with a great shirt! Don't let a button-holer intimidate you. Try making your buttonholes on a scrap folded over enough times to mimic the thickness of your placket. Once you get a nice buttonhole on the scrap, you can graduate to the actual shirt. I love how uniform machined buttonholes are.
lynnewill said... (12/5/09 7:10 PM) Reply
Nice shirt and I appreciate the back story. I also want to make my husband a shirt for our anniversary this year(Feb) and so your shirt was helpful inspiration.
moushka said... (12/5/09 3:49 PM) Reply
I would say that devotion is definitely hand sewing half a dozen shirt buttonholes! The shirt looks terrific, so glad it was a success. Thanks for the heads up about the collar instructions.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2012-117

photo
by: inkstain

Review
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Pattern Details