Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5890 thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 905 times 28 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Carol Mendoza
photo
Friend of PR
About Carol Mendozastar
LA USA
Member since: 5/1/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/6/09 10:08 PM


See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $13.56 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.56  List Price: $16.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
I was just about to make the jacket from this pattern, but after reading the reviews, didn't quite know how to finish the collar edging, so I'm glad to read your review. I really like what you did and also really like the dress. Do you think the edging gives it a more casual look?
12/6/09 10:19 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Homejewel, I'm don't know that it gives it a more casual look, but that is how I'm wearing it. I think if you choose the right type of thread the edge could be dressy. I auditioned different edge finishes before I settled on this one. I may try using the wholly nylon in both loopers next time so that the edge is covered more.
12/6/09 10:45 PM
tess said...
Really lovely outfit and great review! It looks really classy on you!
12/7/09 5:09 AM
BillieJean said...
Oh, I love this. And it does look so comfortable.
12/7/09 6:15 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a great outfit. Another pattern I would have passed by entirely, if someone hadn't reviewed it. I really like the dress and thanks for the tip about narrowing some of the seams for a less matronly look.
12/7/09 6:49 AM
LisaRM said...
You look smashing in this. Nice work.
12/7/09 8:40 AM
RLL said...
Your version is very nice. I have the pattern but havn't gotten to it yet. Glad to know about the edge finish of the collar.
12/7/09 9:18 AM
carolynw said...
Very sharp looking outfit - must get this pattern!!
12/7/09 10:09 AM
barbcl said...
Nice looking outfit in a great neutral!
12/7/09 12:01 PM
Jane S said...
What a chic and versatile outfit.
12/7/09 9:46 PM
pfaffkj said...
Stunning! Your 'rendition' looks soooo much better than the pattern drawings. Love it!
12/8/09 1:29 PM
Mazzygirl said...
I have made a few of these jackets in a mesh fabric & used a rolled hem on the overlocker to finish all hem edges.... they all look lovely too IMO!
4/28/10 11:44 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Mazzygirl...do you have photos of these? I would love to see the mesh version.
4/29/10 2:41 PM
shazam410 said...
Very nice. Lovely practical color and style. Classic. Great job!!
4/11/14 0:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 8488 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by FruGirl on 11/12/10
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2823
photo
Review by Lorri on 12/31/08
Read Review

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us