SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5890 

30 more reviews
Viewed 944 times 
Reviewed by:Carol Mendoza
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Carol Mendozastar
Member since: 5/1/06
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/6/09 10:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shazam410 said... (4/11/14 0:18 AM) Reply
Very nice. Lovely practical color and style. Classic. Great job!!
Carol Mendoza said... (4/29/10 2:41 PM) Reply
Mazzygirl...do you have photos of these? I would love to see the mesh version.
Mazzygirl said... (4/28/10 11:44 PM) Reply
I have made a few of these jackets in a mesh fabric & used a rolled hem on the overlocker to finish all hem edges.... they all look lovely too IMO!
pfaffkj said... (12/8/09 1:29 PM) Reply
Stunning! Your 'rendition' looks soooo much better than the pattern drawings. Love it!
Jane S said... (12/7/09 9:46 PM) Reply
What a chic and versatile outfit.
barbcl said... (12/7/09 12:01 PM) Reply
Nice looking outfit in a great neutral!
carolynw said... (12/7/09 10:09 AM) Reply
Very sharp looking outfit - must get this pattern!!
RLL said... (12/7/09 9:18 AM) Reply
Your version is very nice. I have the pattern but havn't gotten to it yet. Glad to know about the edge finish of the collar.
LisaRM said... (12/7/09 8:40 AM) Reply
You look smashing in this. Nice work.
Rebecca D said... (12/7/09 6:49 AM) Reply
What a great outfit. Another pattern I would have passed by entirely, if someone hadn't reviewed it. I really like the dress and thanks for the tip about narrowing some of the seams for a less matronly look.
BillieJean said... (12/7/09 6:15 AM) Reply
Oh, I love this. And it does look so comfortable.
tess said... (12/7/09 5:09 AM) Reply
Really lovely outfit and great review! It looks really classy on you!
Carol Mendoza said... (12/6/09 10:45 PM) Reply
Homejewel, I'm don't know that it gives it a more casual look, but that is how I'm wearing it. I think if you choose the right type of thread the edge could be dressy. I auditioned different edge finishes before I settled on this one. I may try using the wholly nylon in both loopers next time so that the edge is covered more.
homejewel said... (12/6/09 10:19 PM) Reply
I was just about to make the jacket from this pattern, but after reading the reviews, didn't quite know how to finish the collar edging, so I'm glad to read your review. I really like what you did and also really like the dress. Do you think the edging gives it a more casual look?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Colette Patterns Truffle

photo
by: rosiewedne...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1242

photo
by: marusya gr...

Review
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Pattern Details
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Pattern Details