SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5890 

29 more reviews
Viewed 925 times 
Reviewed by:Carol Mendoza
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Carol Mendozastar
Member since: 5/1/06
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/6/09 10:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
I was just about to make the jacket from this pattern, but after reading the reviews, didn't quite know how to finish the collar edging, so I'm glad to read your review. I really like what you did and also really like the dress. Do you think the edging gives it a more casual look?
12/6/09 10:19 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Homejewel, I'm don't know that it gives it a more casual look, but that is how I'm wearing it. I think if you choose the right type of thread the edge could be dressy. I auditioned different edge finishes before I settled on this one. I may try using the wholly nylon in both loopers next time so that the edge is covered more.
12/6/09 10:45 PM
tess said...
Really lovely outfit and great review! It looks really classy on you!
12/7/09 5:09 AM
BillieJean said...
Oh, I love this. And it does look so comfortable.
12/7/09 6:15 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a great outfit. Another pattern I would have passed by entirely, if someone hadn't reviewed it. I really like the dress and thanks for the tip about narrowing some of the seams for a less matronly look.
12/7/09 6:49 AM
LisaRM said...
You look smashing in this. Nice work.
12/7/09 8:40 AM
RLL said...
Your version is very nice. I have the pattern but havn't gotten to it yet. Glad to know about the edge finish of the collar.
12/7/09 9:18 AM
carolynw said...
Very sharp looking outfit - must get this pattern!!
12/7/09 10:09 AM
barbcl said...
Nice looking outfit in a great neutral!
12/7/09 12:01 PM
Jane S said...
What a chic and versatile outfit.
12/7/09 9:46 PM
pfaffkj said...
Stunning! Your 'rendition' looks soooo much better than the pattern drawings. Love it!
12/8/09 1:29 PM
Mazzygirl said...
I have made a few of these jackets in a mesh fabric & used a rolled hem on the overlocker to finish all hem edges.... they all look lovely too IMO!
4/28/10 11:44 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Mazzygirl...do you have photos of these? I would love to see the mesh version.
4/29/10 2:41 PM
shazam410 said...
Very nice. Lovely practical color and style. Classic. Great job!!
4/11/14 0:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
Farbenmix El Porto

photo
by: Ghainskom

Review