SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2009-129 (Crossover knit dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 498 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/9/09 9:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Audrey B. said...
What a beautiful dress! It looks great on you. I really love the fabric. Too bad I'm in the U.S. and can't order from Totally Fabrics.
12/9/09 10:29 AM
hildes said...
Really really great dress, thanks for 'discovering' this pattern! I had glanced over it and thought the gathering would be too much around my midriff, but I definitely want to make it now.
12/9/09 10:36 AM
MissCelie said...
"Fabric Tetris" is great. LOL.
12/9/09 12:03 PM
nellc said...
Your dress looks really lovely, I will have to revisit this issue of BWOF!
12/9/09 1:29 PM
FreyaStark said...
A snazzy dress - and thanks for putting me on to Ditto Fabrics via your blog.
12/9/09 4:21 PM
dingyadi said...
That is a terrific dress- I'm definitely going to look at that pattern
12/9/09 7:23 PM
reethi said...
This looks great! Must revisit this pattern.
12/9/09 7:51 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
I'll have to pull this pattern out and give it a try. Great job!
12/9/09 9:17 PM
Mary Nanna said...
very cute indeed! like the others I'm beginning to think this might be a possibility too! The only thing I can think that instruction means is that they want you to sew a strip of fabric over the gathers to stablise them, before you sew it to the top.
12/9/09 11:46 PM
Auntchelle said...
Great dress! The great thing is that different fabric will give differnt looks. I've had this one flagged since I got my issue, but 'cos I need it in Plus size I've not made it. (Why can't Burda do one like this in + instead of the ongoing versions of princess lines?!) Your versions has me thinking that I could, maybe, have a go at upsizing it. Well done once again.
12/10/09 1:14 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for reviewing this and bringing it to my attention. It is very flattering on you and I love the fabric.
12/10/09 7:00 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Beautiful! I gotta make me one!
12/10/09 8:39 AM
barbcl said...
What a lovely dress. It looks so well on you, and the fabric, which is in all the colors I adore, is perfect.
12/10/09 12:15 PM
valerie sews said...
gorgeous! How did I miss this! I'm going to track down this issue!
12/11/09 1:13 AM
yummymummy38 said...
this pattern is a find! It caught my eye but your version has convinced me to have a go... thanks for the pic of the underbodice, can see how it goes together. I like the shorter sleeves on this dress on you.
12/15/09 6:16 AM
babbling brook said...
LOVE this pattern and your fabulous dress! Thanks for all the great construction hints. I was just wondering if the v-necked bodice extends up to the shoulder seams and if it's separate from the drape pieces there?
12/15/09 10:10 PM
crazygrad said...
OMG! I SO want to make this dress NOW!
1/25/10 10:35 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Nice review and so inspirational! I've recently been looking for a knit dress to make and came upon this review (how did I miss it until now). I think this will be the one for me - I love your dress. I can only hope mine will turn out as nice as your's.
4/30/10 2:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Kwik Sew 2555

photo
by: gsp1066

Review
Butterick 5423

photo
by: sarahark

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now