Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2009-129 (Crossover knit dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 497 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/9/09 9:32 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Audrey B. said...
What a beautiful dress! It looks great on you. I really love the fabric. Too bad I'm in the U.S. and can't order from Totally Fabrics.
12/9/09 10:29 AM
hildes said...
Really really great dress, thanks for 'discovering' this pattern! I had glanced over it and thought the gathering would be too much around my midriff, but I definitely want to make it now.
12/9/09 10:36 AM
MissCelie said...
"Fabric Tetris" is great. LOL.
12/9/09 12:03 PM
nellc said...
Your dress looks really lovely, I will have to revisit this issue of BWOF!
12/9/09 1:29 PM
FreyaStark said...
A snazzy dress - and thanks for putting me on to Ditto Fabrics via your blog.
12/9/09 4:21 PM
dingyadi said...
That is a terrific dress- I'm definitely going to look at that pattern
12/9/09 7:23 PM
reethi said...
This looks great! Must revisit this pattern.
12/9/09 7:51 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
I'll have to pull this pattern out and give it a try. Great job!
12/9/09 9:17 PM
Mary Nanna said...
very cute indeed! like the others I'm beginning to think this might be a possibility too! The only thing I can think that instruction means is that they want you to sew a strip of fabric over the gathers to stablise them, before you sew it to the top.
12/9/09 11:46 PM
Auntchelle said...
Great dress! The great thing is that different fabric will give differnt looks. I've had this one flagged since I got my issue, but 'cos I need it in Plus size I've not made it. (Why can't Burda do one like this in + instead of the ongoing versions of princess lines?!) Your versions has me thinking that I could, maybe, have a go at upsizing it. Well done once again.
12/10/09 1:14 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for reviewing this and bringing it to my attention. It is very flattering on you and I love the fabric.
12/10/09 7:00 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Beautiful! I gotta make me one!
12/10/09 8:39 AM
barbcl said...
What a lovely dress. It looks so well on you, and the fabric, which is in all the colors I adore, is perfect.
12/10/09 12:15 PM
valerie sews said...
gorgeous! How did I miss this! I'm going to track down this issue!
12/11/09 1:13 AM
yummymummy38 said...
this pattern is a find! It caught my eye but your version has convinced me to have a go... thanks for the pic of the underbodice, can see how it goes together. I like the shorter sleeves on this dress on you.
12/15/09 6:16 AM
babbling brook said...
LOVE this pattern and your fabulous dress! Thanks for all the great construction hints. I was just wondering if the v-necked bodice extends up to the shoulder seams and if it's separate from the drape pieces there?
12/15/09 10:10 PM
crazygrad said...
OMG! I SO want to make this dress NOW!
1/25/10 10:35 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Nice review and so inspirational! I've recently been looking for a knit dress to make and came upon this review (how did I miss it until now). I think this will be the one for me - I love your dress. I can only hope mine will turn out as nice as your's.
4/30/10 2:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8379
photo
Review by Dei on 10/5/08
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8380 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Wendy VanC on 7/15/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us