SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2009-132 (132 Men's Shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 486 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/17/09 9:35 PM
Last Updated:12/28/09 10:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Puddin Pop said...
Being a perfectionist has it's advantages, meaning the placket is genius. The dog is adorable in the picture and your son is very handsome.
1/1/10 9:07 PM
Christas said...
So glad you updated with a pic of your son wearing the shirt. It is easy to see he loves it. Two great creations: handsome son and very nice shirt! : )
12/28/09 11:38 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Clicked right on this. thanks for finding me a shirt to make for my husband!!
12/28/09 0:18 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Excellent shirt and review! I love your inspired front placket "save" -- brilliant solution (one I'll no doubt need one day, being a print-matching fanatic myself as well). :)
12/27/09 11:17 PM
Elke said...
Great looking shirt and details!
12/27/09 10:35 PM
frame said...
Great looking shirt! Your hints and tips are really helpful. Thanks.
12/27/09 10:31 PM
persevering said...
How wonderful - the shirt, the recipient and the dog! Happy to see your success!
12/27/09 8:54 PM
dbsewer said...
Very cute boy and dog pic. Love the plackets - cutting on the bias is a great look.
12/27/09 8:31 PM
becca a said...
I'm sure your son will love the shirt--it is fantastic. I love your save with the diagonal placket--it is even better than the original design. Thank you for the detailed lesson on matching plaids, how to solve a plaid matching issue, and on collar making. The bubble of extra fabric picture really clarified things for me. Great shirt, great review, great pictures!
12/20/09 11:06 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
Before I even read your review, I saw the bias placket and thought it was a cool touch. It is doubly so as a "save"!
12/20/09 3:26 PM
nancy2001 said...
What a beautifully made shirt. The bias placket is a terrific fix.
12/20/09 3:11 PM
Sigrid. said...
I even love the shirt better with the bias cut placket. It looks like it's meant that way. Wonderful shirt, great review.
12/20/09 4:20 AM
Jane S said...
You have made those book instructions finally clear to me. Thank you. This is one gorgeous shirt.
12/18/09 9:24 PM
Catbird said...
What a fun and helpful review this is, like a sewing class with a gifted teacher. The bias placket idea was a brilliant one! Isn't it funny how mistakes can sometimes turn into interesting design features. This shirt is high end. I'm envious of your wonderful fabric flea market. The pictures were great. I would have been at that silk/wool table with you and Anne-Marie!
12/18/09 9:17 PM
jkaori said...
The front placket is a great fix. It looks wonderful. The shirtmaking book you referenced is definitely a winner.
12/18/09 9:11 PM
Brine said...
Nice save on the placket! I once made a shirt for DH using a very fussy Hawaiian type pattern with little motifs, carefully matching the pattern on each pocket only to goof up the front. How did I manage to do that? I had matched the pattern edge to edge of the band instead of matching it at the center front.
12/18/09 12:34 PM
Ciclista said...
Beautiful work and a great review that I've marked as a favorite so I can review it again before attempting my next DH shirt. Maybe I'll finally make a collar with collar band I can be proud of. THANK YOU!
12/18/09 10:49 AM
Diane333 said...
Beautiful. I have done matching blunders too. Once I cut and beautifully matched a floral pattern dress only to realize after cutting that it was upside down.
12/18/09 10:06 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Fabulous shirt, Kay !
12/18/09 9:06 AM
Nancy K said...
This is a gorgeous shirt. f course I don't expect less from you! Some good tips here, if I ever get around to sewing for someone besides myself.
12/18/09 9:01 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Great save! I've made that same mistake more times than I would care to admit! the shirt looks fabulous...you'll have to share his reaction with us!
12/18/09 8:24 AM
katharin said...
Beautiful shirt and the placket on the bias makes it special.
12/18/09 8:08 AM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous shirt - well done. I felt a pang when I saw your picture because I made a men's shirt in a very similar plaid Viyella about 25 years ago, but I don't think it was as polished as yours.
12/18/09 7:19 AM
digs57 said...
Beautiful - the bias placket is inspired.
12/18/09 7:10 AM
Annette1 said...
What a great review, Kay, so informative and picture packed. :o) My FAVORITE features are the addition of the center bias placket AND the plackets on the sleeves. I always have trouble lining up plaids vertically. (I'm quite sure I haven't mastered it, in fact.) I know your son will love this shirt. And I loved all the flea market pictures, too, especially the one of Anne-Marie! :o)
12/17/09 11:57 PM
Elona said...
Beautiful as always, Kay, and what a great save with that placket!
12/17/09 11:19 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great review. About that plaid mismatch -- I've been there! You've created a beautiful shirt and I love the fabric. Hope it fits!
12/17/09 10:50 PM
Karen6790 said...
Great save on the plaid matching on the front - I like the bias band better than a matched plaid, anyway. And I completelyl ulnderstand OCD plaid-matching. Great shirt.
12/17/09 10:31 PM
Christas said...
Great review and very nice looking shirt! I am sure your son will love it!
12/17/09 10:20 PM
carolynw said...
What a great shirt for your DS and I have to say - that bias placket was a stroke of genius - will file that one in my problem solvers. Paid many $$$ for a plaid shirt for one of my DS Christmas present - should have made it myself and saved a bundle but lack of time. Great work Kay as always and Merry Christmas!!
12/17/09 10:11 PM
Re Becca said...
You explained that collar method better than the author! I am sure that your son will love this shirt.
12/17/09 10:03 PM
VtMartha said...
Beautiful shirt, great save and fantastic review!
12/17/09 9:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 4470

photo
by: lovenicky

Review
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now
Simplicity Vintage 7482 into Skant

photo
by: lbreton

Review